Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 26-37 of 37 posts in this discussion
In reply to an earlier post on Oct 3, 2010 12:32:28 PM PDT
Michael Kidd says:
Heres the deal, the facts of any printed doctrine aside, the situation will always dictate what happens in the field or in combat (and yes I am a combat vet and have put the principles to work in Iraq). The point of the smaller 5.56 round isnt to require the enemy you just shot to be carried of the battlefield by two of his buddies, thus taking 3 out of the fight. The point is to shoot to kill, but if you wound him then when his buddy comes out to help him I can shoot him too (and his buddy after him). They really do come out to help each other, just like we do, its human nature to want to help out your friend. That being said, the lack of stopping power is why the military was, and may still be, considering upgrading to the 6.8mm. It would bridge the gap between the 5.56 and 7.62 almost perfectly.

Posted on Oct 3, 2010 4:01:29 PM PDT
Nathan says:
Michael,

I think you summed it up well.

Posted on Dec 16, 2010 6:19:17 PM PST
[Deleted by the author on Dec 16, 2010 6:20:36 PM PST]

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 13, 2011 6:21:46 AM PST
[Deleted by the author on Feb 13, 2011 6:27:37 AM PST]

Posted on Feb 13, 2011 6:51:21 AM PST
Michael Kidd says:
Also, just about every police vehicle will have a rifle or shotgun in it. I would bank on them using .223 in the rifle and 12 guage in the shotguns. So, if the end of the world gets here while i'm still around, i'll be chilling with my model 700 SPS Tactical in .223, Mossberg 500 12 guage, and Glock 23 with a spare barrel that will step down the .40 to a 9mm. And some MRE's ofcourse, to last long enough to make it through the inital shock and aww. Then its into the hills of northern Virginia. But thats just me, good luck to us all in that event.

Posted on Mar 31, 2011 11:09:03 AM PDT
in the wind says: