Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Eric Clapton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Get Ready for Summer and Save 15% The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 31, 2011
I don't write reviews but I figured I would write on this because of the mixed reviews.

I have a Canon T2i (550D) and bought this lens adapter just for fun. The box contains one fisheye/wide lens with case and caps, 2 adapter rings, and instructions. This product is supposed to be screwed onto the front of your existing lens, not to replace it. I used the 58 mm adapter ring to fit the fisheye lens to the front of my 18-55 kit lens. yay have fun with fisheye/wide angle! awesome for video.

Here is where to find the macro lens. So the fisheye lens is attached to your lens but the fisheye lens itself unscrews into 2 parts. The main part of the fisheye lens actually unscrews from the ring that is screwed into the adapter ring. That is the Macro lens. use manual focus and get close.

The second adapter ring lets me put this fisheye lens on my 50mm 1.8 or any lens with the same diameter. It looked like crap to me so i keep it on my sigma 28-70 2.8 and make up for my 1.7 crop sensor.

To me this is TOTALLY worth it because i can be creative and have fun without having to buy an expensive lens. I hope this helps someone
44 comments|200 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2007
The lens really is a pair of two lenses. Assembled both, become a semi-fisheye/wide lens what, has that circular border (as in a common door fisheye) that gives the photo some interesting effect. Also, you can have wide angle photos just changing the focal length.

The second part is a real cheap macro lens that can be detached. It has some interesting features and you can get decent pictures with almost no distance at all (though, you need some light). There's a small distortion, but it can be handled easy.

It comes with a couple of adapter rings (52mm and 58mm) for different cameras. I used it with a Canon Digital Rebel XT and it really gives you the idea of a wide angle lens. It may not be as some professional lenses, but the desired effect is enough.

Above all that, it's insanely cheap for a wide/macro lens. And that's a good combo for less than 40 bucks.
77 comments|153 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2006
I have a canon GL2 and wanted a wide angle or fisheye. I have no real complaints about the quality of this lens, but do have a big warning. If you buy this for a 58mm camera, it comes with step up rings for you to get up to the 58mm but this creates a black barrell on the outside when you want the big wide angle shot. Though this can be a cool effect, it is probably not want you want. So be warned before buying, and get a different lens that is a true 58mm if you want to get an uncluttered fisheye effect. For the macro however since you are usually filming something way close, it isn't a problem.
66 comments|154 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2007
This lens does what it is supposed to do - but just that. It feels flimsy, and in all honesty, I felt somewhat like I was putting a walmart sticker on a Tiffany bag when using this lens on my 30D. I decided to go with a dedicated canon fisheye lens instead. You will NOT be disappointed by the shots that you get with the lens - the fisheye effect is strong and the shots clear. You might be disappointed by the quality of the lens itself.
0Comment|71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2008
I purchased this lens about 1 month ago and I'm generally pleased with it. I have a Canon Rebel XTi with a kit IS 18mm-55mm standard lens. In a nutshell, here's what I think.

The pros:
- low price
- lightweight
- sharp image
- includes lens bag
- creates interesting effects
- creates great macro shots

The cons:
- Compatibility with Canon 18mm-55mm IS lens. Requires 2 "step down" rings to mate the lenses together. As a result, this produces a porthole effect (which might be what you're looking for)
- step down or up rings are NOT included with this lens
- lens caps do not fit snug and always fall off. They're pretty useless.
- edge detail falls off considerably (blurry) with blue edges forming on high contrasting objects.

The verdict:
To achieve the desired effect (fisheye warped / wide angle shots with sharp detail on the extreme edges), this lens does not do that so I'll be looking around for a true Canon / other band fisheye lens.
review image review image review image
22 comments|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2006
Although a fixed-focus add-on wide-angle lens will never provide the flexibility and optical quality of a camera manufacturer's own product, this is a very inexpensive, instant, useful way to extend your camera's capability. I've found this lens very useful for large group portraits and wide angle nature and garden shots.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2011
I was leery about buying this after I read some negative reviews, but I'm a professional photographer and have been wanting a fisheye lens for a while, but was worried that I wouldn't actually like the "fisheye" effect and I didn't want to spend several hundred dollars on a Canon Fisheye Lens before I knew for sure.
For this price, I figured even if it didn't work it'd be worth a shot. I just recieved my lens today and I'm incredibly impressed. Both the construction of the lens (it's heavy and has metal components) and quality of the images the lens captures are very impressive. Before you buy this, you need to realize that it is not a lens that will fit directly on your camera--it attaches to lenses you already have. I put it on my 50mm 1.2 and my 18-55mm. The fisheye effect is most prominent when zoomed out a bit, but the quality of this lens is GREAT and I'd say if you're wanting to try a fisheye, before you drop several hundred dollars, you might want to try this lens--you will not be disappointed!
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2010
This may be a good lens, however I wouldnt know since it does not fit a canon kit lens or 50mm lens as stated IN THE TITLE!! It is very misleading that it specifically says it will fits canons. Buyers BEWARE. Amazon would not let me return this gift since it was purchased from a seller. Very unhappy. It wasnt even the one pictured, as the lens I recieved was a brassy color, not black like the pic. I cant belive that a seller would mislead customers like that.
1111 comments|51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2011
So first of all i have a Canon Rebel XS with the Stock 18-55mm lens. I wanted a fish eye and they are all crazy exspencive. My buddy also said i will use it like 6 times and never use it again. So i'm like alright, i ordered this on Tuesday, used the $5 shipping and it is here today (friday).

I have no idea how people cant get this to work. It screws onto the front of your lens..... you don't even need an adapter if your using what i have. When i took it out of the box it was set up for 58mm which is the size of a stock lens.

Lets hit on the quality issue... Its solid as crap! its got some weight to it yes, but nothing like what was said on the 1 star reviews. The only thing i can think of would be the ring on the front of the fish eye, it wobbles, and its there so you can screw a hood or a uv filter on the front of it.

What surprised me was its made by polariod. It doesn't say that in the description but it sure is.

Over all would i recommend this, yep! your crazy to spend $500 on a lens you may or may not use a lot. I take pictures of slammed cars, this will be fun. Oh and if you read all the reviews like i do, this DID NOT ruin my Christmas! :-D
44 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2009
This totally DOES NOT fit a Canon Rebel T1i. I should have read ALL of the reviews before adding this to my wish list. Now I have to figure out how to return it....
33 comments|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 59 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.