Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 MPH is great fun and heart-warming
10 MPH is great fun and heart-warming. If you're a city dweller, you deserve a taste of what the rest of the US is like. The only thing better than actually seeing this film is that you can't help being happy for the filmmakers that they got to put their vision, talents, and sense of adventure to such good use. They embody this line from Howard Thurman, "Don't ask what...
Published on May 23, 2007 by connector

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 10mph is how this slow uninspiring movie feels like
I like documentaries, but this one is a waste of time. The creators try very hard to make this a triumphant soul searching film but in the end Im not sure of the lessons anyone learns. Sure they meet interesting people along the way but definitely not enough to keep the movie going. They have money problems in the middle of their trip and are unsure they can go on, but I...
Published on December 16, 2008 by N. Naik


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 MPH is great fun and heart-warming, May 23, 2007
This review is from: 10 mph - Seattle to Boston (DVD)
10 MPH is great fun and heart-warming. If you're a city dweller, you deserve a taste of what the rest of the US is like. The only thing better than actually seeing this film is that you can't help being happy for the filmmakers that they got to put their vision, talents, and sense of adventure to such good use. They embody this line from Howard Thurman, "Don't ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive."

One thing that really made me want to see 10 MPH was this comment by Sam Chaffos, Documentaries Programing Director for the 2006 Vail Film Festival: " . . . the moving experience shown in your film transcends the screen and infects the audience in a way that I don't know can be properly expressed through words. Maybe it's just where I happen to be in my own life at the moment, but I doubt it. The deft editing and subtle power of the courage, friendship, humour, and adventure conveyed in 10 mph is unlike almost any documentary I've seen, and I thank you personally for exposing so much. It amounts to an unbelievably powerful piece of art."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courageous achievement, May 22, 2007
This review is from: 10 mph - Seattle to Boston (DVD)
These guys have achieved something I think many of us dream about but rarely act upon. They gave up their run of the mill corporate jobs, risked serious debt, but with courage took a massive risk and it's paid off. I really admire their bravery. Their take on life whilst travelling across the USA is refreshingly eye opening. The people they meet along the way give a view of life that is rarely heard of - or at least over here in the UK! Very inspiring film that makes the viewer take a look at their own lives too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Entertaining Ride!, November 9, 2007
By 
This review is from: 10 MPH (Amazon Instant Video)
This is a documentary about doing something different and fun and adventurous and documenting the journey along the way which enables us all to go for the ride. The Segway is just the particular vehicle for this journey, and I enjoyed the ride! The dweeb that made the previous comment is obviously only fixated on the Segway for whatever reason instead of relaxing and enjoying the fact that it's not a Segway commercial but an entertaining film! Geez...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anxious for the film release, May 24, 2007
This review is from: 10 mph - Seattle to Boston (DVD)
I got to view this film at the Vail Film festival to a standing room only crowd. If you are looking for something to make you feel good about America and at the same time examine your own desires for exploring something that you have always dreamed of doing this is the film for you. The music keeps rapping in my head, ( its worth the watch just for the music), and the visual images captured on screen make this one flick you must add to you list of MUST sees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10mph's Thing..., May 30, 2007
This review is from: 10 mph - Seattle to Boston (DVD)
An amazing and honest capture of the road from coast to coast. As someone who has traversed the United States several times, I can tell you Josh and Hunter have nailed it. The cinematography is breathtaking, and the story flows from city to city. The interviews and quotes from the people, are interesting, and give you a real feel for America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars easy and enjoyable, August 20, 2009
By 
Book Buyer (Northeast, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 10 MPH (Amazon Instant Video)
This was the first movie that my wife and I watched using amazon unbox. We really enjoyed it. I also dont know why that previous person decided to review a segway rather than the movie. However, this movie was just what you would expect in a quality documentary-interesting and unique. There was some cursing which we didnt appreciate, and the film could have done without it (a bunch of SH** and F***) while still showing the emotions of those moments. Oddly enough though, the movie played very quietly even with the volume at max setting, so at least they werent loud.
This was a 100-day fiasco, so the movie was definately an abridged experience. It would have been nice to see more of the people they met or the details of how the person behind the scenes was finding and pitching to sponsors. Also I would have liked to know how things went for the guys involved afterwards. Did they make any other films?
Overall, this was a neat and unpretentious film. And the message in the end was great-"do what you're meant to do". We dont watch a whole lot of mainstream movies around here because they're so formulaic and filled with garbage. This flic was true and fun but also inspirational. The backdrop of our great America and the people in it was stirring. Thanks guys for an ambitious, albeit quirky idea, and good entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and different! This is what guerilla filmmaking is about!, August 14, 2009
By 
J. Capurro (Las Vegas, NV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 10 MPH (Amazon Instant Video)
I've always been a fan of underdog filmmakers. They pick up a camera & go do something with it that is inspirational and entertaining on a budget that wouldn't even pay for the catering on a real movie set. This film is a prime example. Interesting premise, and quality editing/music design make this movie not only watchable but fun! Makes you want to get up off your butt and do the same! Good show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 10mph is how this slow uninspiring movie feels like, December 16, 2008
By 
N. Naik (Houston, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 10 mph - Seattle to Boston (DVD)
I like documentaries, but this one is a waste of time. The creators try very hard to make this a triumphant soul searching film but in the end Im not sure of the lessons anyone learns. Sure they meet interesting people along the way but definitely not enough to keep the movie going. They have money problems in the middle of their trip and are unsure they can go on, but I didnt feel sorry for them. I mean they weren't riding across America to raise money for cancer or to raise awareness about a social problem. They were riding for their own benefit; whether that be spiritual or making $$$ from the movie. In the end the movie is a road trip across America, with stops at McDonalds, uninspiring jabber between friends, and meeting local people in small towns. Sure, fun when you do it, but boring to watch a movie about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Great Story, October 30, 2007
By 
MJC "Appealsman" (Royal Oak, Michigan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 10 MPH (Amazon Instant Video)
I just watched this great movie about two young men who travel (and experience to the hilt) across America on a Segway, the 12 mph Human Transporter. Not only is the scenery great but the happiness and frustration are intertwined to deliver a warm and innocent movie. I thought the music was great too. All of this makes you want to go out and do what they do, make the trip of a lifetime and at a pace you can "smell the roses" at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Anti-Borat Movie, May 23, 2007
This review is from: 10 mph - Seattle to Boston (DVD)
Fresh... inspiring... hopeful... funny. This is a great documentary... the antithesis of Borat in that is shows you what MOST of America is REALLY all about - pursuing your dream, making connections, being happy. I highly recommend this!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

10 MPH
10 MPH by Hunter Weeks
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.