Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty is in the eye of the beholder
In a world where the public has taken the literal ,"It`s what`s inside that counts". Comic`s own Destoyer,Paul Pope, has taken us deep inside the bowels of the Catshack.A place where a skin show was just tapping the surface,the Gastro allows us to see what a girl is really made of.

A boxer,a vagabond,a hopeless romantic,are just a few of the characters that...
Published on April 13, 2005 by 5 color cowboy

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Know what you're in for
I didn't really like this comic book, primarily because I went into it with completely wrong expectations. I'm a newbie to the medium, fresh off of the "Watchmen"/"Maus"/"From Hell" train, and so I was expecting a story a little bit more grand than the one I got, which was a comic book about what it's like to have relationships in your late twenties in a futuristic...
Published 11 months ago by jrheard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, April 13, 2005
This review is from: 100% (Paperback)
In a world where the public has taken the literal ,"It`s what`s inside that counts". Comic`s own Destoyer,Paul Pope, has taken us deep inside the bowels of the Catshack.A place where a skin show was just tapping the surface,the Gastro allows us to see what a girl is really made of.

A boxer,a vagabond,a hopeless romantic,are just a few of the characters that inhabit a not so far off story of the human condition.Sinous brushlines paint a beautiful Bladerunneresque tale worthy of the title,100%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Pope!, July 16, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100% (Hardcover)
For all of us who can't scour the comic shops for the originals, this hardcover collection is a boon - but with a few downsides.

'100%' is classic Paul Pope (in his more narrative style) along the lines of The 'One-Trick Rip-Off' or 'The Ballad Of Doctor Richardson'. This book is also a great example of Pope's unique and understated sci-fi (see THB) - this time the plot is totally character-driven and rather romantic (!)

This book only loses 1 star for the rather thin magazine-type paper its printed on (mine arrived creased!) - and the beautiful but unwieldy jacket. The hardcover itself is also an issue; Pope comics are (typically) printed right up to the edge of the page and the spine, which is fine in a stapled comic that can be spread open, but with a hardcover the inside frames and text bubbles disappear into the binding. If you're really into Pope, you should consider tracking down the 100% comics.

Note: The thumbnail here is not the cover that I recieved from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100% A Must Read, July 20, 2009
This review is from: 100% (Hardcover)
Paul Pope's graphic novel "100%" takes place in a futuristic world where anything goes. Extremes have become the norm, and people are constantly pushing the envelope to get their next taste of satisfaction. But amidst all the superficiality comes longing. With so many different ways to find and give pleasure, Pope chronicles the lives of 3 couples as they struggle to find what's real, what's not real, and what's really worth fighting for.

While some of the artwork in "100%" can be considered graphic, Pope's illustrations are surprising clean--considering the subject matter. The drawing style itself is very dark, very gritty, setting the tone for the depravity of the world that Pope is trying to describe. What he cannot describe through the artwork he describes through the dialogue of his characters. While the dialogue can be a little unclear at times, Pope makes the most of his characters dialogue to narrate the world they're alternately trying to succeed in and escape from.

Even though "100%" covers only two weeks in the lives of its characters, the ending is fairly fulfilling. While it's bittersweet, the loose ends are minimal, and readers are left with a sense of hope. While it's not a graphic novel for everyone due to the subject matter and gritty art style, it is a book that most graphic novel fans will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "put this up there with Brian Woods' Local under incredible stories that make you wish you were living a more important life", November 15, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100% (Hardcover)
too few times there comes a story that stops you heart with dialogue that hits you and says PAY ATTENTION! There is a scene in this story regarding a character named Kettlehead that meets that description. The story is great, paul pope draws his characters with such care that you can tell that they were born within him before they were put on the page. I put this up there with Brian Wood's Local as far as incredible stories that make you wish you were living a more important life. Read it, its worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is an awesome comic book., January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100% (Paperback)
Hard to find! I really enjoy reading this book! Paul Pope has a wonderful and beautiful imagination. I love the idea of his future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great graphic novel!, June 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100% (Hardcover)
Paul Pope is one of graphic noveldom's grittiest and most dramatic artists, and the story and characters capture a very powerful tale here. Maybe not a classic, "three act" drama per se, but as a futuristic Blade Runneresque slice of life -- very good stuff! Amazing art, interesting words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Know what you're in for, August 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100% (Paperback)
I didn't really like this comic book, primarily because I went into it with completely wrong expectations. I'm a newbie to the medium, fresh off of the "Watchmen"/"Maus"/"From Hell" train, and so I was expecting a story a little bit more grand than the one I got, which was a comic book about what it's like to have relationships in your late twenties in a futuristic version of New York.

The author makes it very clear in his remarks at the end of the book that this is specifically what he wanted to write about - in particular, he says, "I wanted to write about SEX!". I'm more interested in seeing grand plots, battles, etc, rather than, again as the author puts it, a "boy meets girl" story; I worry that it's unfair of me to leave a three-star review for what is really a very well-executed piece of work, but I want to warn future Amazon shoppers to be sure they know what they're getting into. If the author's description of his work appeals to you, go for it! If you're looking for a grand, epic plot, look elsewhere.

Great art, though! Loved the cityscapes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best graphic novels i have read, September 25, 2005
This review is from: 100% (Paperback)
Paul Pope is one of the greatest.

The art is violent and subtle at the same time, the way he developes the characters is sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

100%
100% by Paul Pope (Hardcover - April 21, 2009)
$39.99 $31.98
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.