Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NECESSARY GUIDE FOR PRE-TEEN BOYS
Bill Zimmerman, the author, was twice nominated for a Pulitzer Prize for his writings for young people about current events and issues they face. He is former editor of Newsday, the nation's largest newspaper, and author of over a dozen books. 100 Things Guys Need To Know is an EXCELLENT cartoon styled book for pre-adolescent and adolescent boys to help them cope with...
Published on October 2, 2005 by Bonnie Neely

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For a "YOUNG" pre-teen
I purchased this book for my 13 year old son. He breezed through it and said he was too old for the information. He thought it might be a good book for a 10 or 11 year old boy.
Published on February 18, 2009 by DBignell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NECESSARY GUIDE FOR PRE-TEEN BOYS, October 2, 2005
This review is from: 100 Things Guys Need to Know (Paperback)
Bill Zimmerman, the author, was twice nominated for a Pulitzer Prize for his writings for young people about current events and issues they face. He is former editor of Newsday, the nation's largest newspaper, and author of over a dozen books. 100 Things Guys Need To Know is an EXCELLENT cartoon styled book for pre-adolescent and adolescent boys to help them cope with the changes in their bodies, emotions, and relationships in a positive way. Nothing is more important than helping a youth know that making wise choices amidst peer pressure and internal quandaries is a good thing. This book is the perfect tool to help any boy (ages 9 - 13) thrive in his teen years and understand what is happening to himself internally and physically as well as socially. The book teaches good skills and positive choices and healthy habits in six categories: Self, Body and Mind, Family, School, Relationships, Future. I cannot recommend this book highly enough! It is written to the youngster himself and is easy enough to understand, and the cartoons help the boy identify with situations common to every teen. The book is also an excellent one to read with your children to open conversation about issues you may not know he is dealing with at school or other areas of his life. A WONDERFUL book to give any boy you know, love, and want to make wise choices in order to navigate the turbulent teen years successfully and create a happy, future for himself. Click here to purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 100 things guys need to know, July 18, 2005
By 
This review is from: 100 Things Guys Need to Know (Paperback)
It can be tough being a guy--but this book will definitely help. It's fun and easy to read, and has lots of great tips and resources for guys. If every guy read this book, the world would be a better place, no question!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Early Teen Reference Book, February 21, 2010
By 
Heraclitus (Livonia, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Things Guys Need to Know (Paperback)
Good book for early teen years, perhaps 11-12. My teens scoffed at the book when I got it for them, but over the next year or so I noticed that they were reading it from time to time. It's a good book, some obvious things, but having them written down and not coming from Dad makes it so much more valid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100 Things Guys need to Know, May 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Things Guys Need to Know (Paperback)
It is a great book for teenagers (high functioning/Aspergers) within the autism spectrum who are struggling with social interaction with peers!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For a "YOUNG" pre-teen, February 18, 2009
By 
DBignell (Arcadia, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Things Guys Need to Know (Paperback)
I purchased this book for my 13 year old son. He breezed through it and said he was too old for the information. He thought it might be a good book for a 10 or 11 year old boy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 100 Things Guys Need to Know, January 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My son is learning a lot. It is a good conversation starter, and it makes it a llittle easier for him to communicate openly with me. Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Shipping, January 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Things Guys Need to Know (Paperback)
Required reading for teen boys. Especially the obnoxious ones. Gives very usefull tips on interacting with other in groups or 1 on 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Middle school, February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Things Guys Need to Know (Paperback)
I thought it was going to be good for a middle school but it didn't work out that way! Maybe it will be useful in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific book, January 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Things Guys Need to Know (Paperback)
Love this book. Too bad there is no longer a real book edition in print. Any chance of it coming back?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read this before you put it on your classroom shelf or lend it to someone, March 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Things Guys Need to Know (Paperback)
The perspective on sexuality presented in my book doesn't line up with my views. Make sure you read that small section before you put it in the hands of impressionable youngsters. It could be very misleading and confusing & if you're going to let them read it, preface with a good discussion. The rest of the book is fairly non-controversial and I think it would be helpful for young teens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

100 Things Guys Need to Know
100 Things Guys Need to Know by William Zimmerman (Paperback - April 14, 2005)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.