Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book.
Lots of useful secrets. Not worth the original $40 for the paperback though.
Published on August 18, 2006 by E J-C

versus
410 of 427 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting cures, but a few too many problems
First the good. This book provides some very interesting cures for pest problems that I haven't found elsewhere and that may very well work as indicated.

Now the bad. This book provides some cures that are just plain wrong and may even be dangerous. For example, on page 23 Dr. Bader refers to Sevin as an organic insecticide containing pyrethrums and...
Published on May 10, 2006 by Bill S.


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

410 of 427 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting cures, but a few too many problems, May 10, 2006
This review is from: 1001 All-natural Secrets to a Pest-free Property (Hardcover)
First the good. This book provides some very interesting cures for pest problems that I haven't found elsewhere and that may very well work as indicated.

Now the bad. This book provides some cures that are just plain wrong and may even be dangerous. For example, on page 23 Dr. Bader refers to Sevin as an organic insecticide containing pyrethrums and diatomaceous earth -- It's not, actually it's a synthetic insecticide containing carbaryl. On page 22 Dr. Bader refers to diatomaceous earth as safe. It's actually quite dangerous if it's inhaled -- which is easy to do since it's a dust. Dr. Bader also refers to Rotenone as a low toxicity insecticide to humans on page 339 -- wrong again -- it's one of the highest toxicity organic insecticides. The list goes on and on. I also wonder why, as a doctor of preventive care, he refers to tobacco and tobacco smoke so much.

To sum up -- there are some great ideas in this book, but it's not one that I'd recommend because of the faulty and even dangerous statements that it makes about certain cures. Better choices might be Jerry Baker's books, especially his old ones like Plants are Like People or The Impatient Gardener. Sharon Lovejoys book Trowel and Error, or Jeff Gillman's book The Truth about Garden Remedies. All of these books offer a bit more explanation about possible cures and the research in these books is significantly better (especially Gillman's book which includes many references and where the author talks about trials that he has conducted himself).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


165 of 172 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, July 17, 2006
This review is from: 1001 All-natural Secrets to a Pest-free Property (Hardcover)
I bought this book hoping to find some cures to insect and disease problems on my plants. What I found instead was poor editing, information that seems to come from the top of the authors head, and drawings that are amaturish at best.

Information in this book usually comes in poorly organized one sentence long blurbs that don't supply data on where the information originally came from or how likely the cure is to work, which is important since there seem to be about thirty "cures" for each problem. I guess the author just expects us to keep trying the wacky cures (some of which do include poisons)until one works - if any of them really do.

I did try a few of the cures including a wierd baking soda mixture, and a citrus spray. Neither of them worked. If the author had actually tried these cures I would think that he would have provided more information on them - In other words I doubt that the author tried these cures himself.

As a doctor I like the idea of safer cures. This book misidentifies certain practices as cures, misspells simple words, and gets the facts wrong about the safety of many cures and chemicals (what he thinks is in Sevin would be particularly amusing - if it weren't so potentially dangerous). I strongly recommend avoiding this book.

Dr. R
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


128 of 136 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, July 22, 2006
By 
Hmmm (California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1001 All-natural Secrets to a Pest-free Property (Hardcover)
TV hype is misleading-its not worth the money for following reasons:

1. If you have to go to multiple stores to buy a half dozen ingredients for 1 spray, it will occur to you to just buy 1 spray. Isn't it like buying 5 batteries to recharge one?

2 He spends a lot of pages telling you why he loves various pests rather than how you rid yourself of them. I got it for frogs. Nothing on that but a lot about why toads are good.

3.Rid yourself of ants by leaving tainted cat food in the bushes. Hmm. Isn't the reason you would have cat food that you have a cat?

4. Some suggestions were downright hilarious- I live in Hawaii and have bamboo around every side of the premises. I guarantee that it does nothing to discourage mosquitoes howevermany dragonflies may like the bamboo. And the notion crows may be deterred by socks that look like humans? In fairness, I did not climb trees to hang them because I would hear crows laughing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 90 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money, October 12, 2007
By 
This review is from: 1001 All-natural Secrets to a Pest-free Property (Hardcover)
I should have just listened to my Aunt Thelma and used the Blue Cheer soap and water combo to keep bugs away. She always said to spray your garden, fruit trees, and around the base of your house and it would keep the insects and spiders away. I feel like I paid $25 for the same advice that I got free from her. My biggest complaint is that the same solutions are repeated over and over and over again. This book would only be 1/3 the size if the author had only put each "tip" in once -- and 1/3 again smaller if he had used a font size that was smaller and left out the dumb drawings. Also whoever proofed this book did a lousy job. Ex.: "If you spray areas where they frequent with a soapy solution you can get ride of them that way as well." Just silly errors that should have been caught and are very distracting. At the price you pay for this book you shouldn't have to worry about typos. Sometimes the same tip is even listed twice under the same category. Obviously I was very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 74 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Questionable information and full of errors, July 16, 2006
This review is from: 1001 All-natural Secrets to a Pest-free Property (Hardcover)
Although there are a ton of great ideas in this book, it's a difficult book to read due to the lack of an editorial staff.

It is not "all-natural" as the title implies.

Simple spelling errors, grammatical errors, and a lack of organization all give this book 2 stars.

I think it "bugs" me (pun intended) also that he calls spiders insects. "Spiders are beneficial insects and are welcome in most homes." p.46 I know I'm being picky, but it irks me that someone that has studied zoology would make an error like that.

Keith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 50 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly written and full of errors, January 25, 2013
This review is from: 1001 All-natural Secrets to a Pest-free Property (Hardcover)
This book has multiple errors, some DANGEROUS misinformation and 95% of the "Cures" don't work at all. Seven is NOT safe nor is it organic. It is a white crystal powder insecticide chemically produced. It is toxic and a known carcinogen - very healthy right? Most of the information in this book is repeated multiple times for other pests too making over 1/2 the book fluff. Now errors in information covered we look at his writing skills. This can't be overlooked, there are hundreds of mistakes that are spotted by my 8 year old son. To be clear - the "cures" don't work worth a damn, the book is a piss poor source of useful information and following some of the advice is actually HARMFUL to your health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Lot of Information - poorly organized!, May 27, 2008
Published in 2005 I thought there would be some color photos. Nope! And no index either which makes it real difficult to find anything. disappointing and frustrating to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 72 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Run Screaming..., August 21, 2006
This review is from: 1001 All-natural Secrets to a Pest-free Property (Hardcover)
...from this book.

Point #1: It is full of errors (see Bill S.'s review above)

Point #2: This is a book way too intent on killing everything with more than four legs. If we kill all insects, what will the birds eat? And what will the good insects, like ladybugs, eat?

Point #3: I am a big fan and user of organics, but people need to realize that natural products can be toxic as well. Tobacco, for instance, should never be used in any form.

Point #4: There are several good recipes in this book (use of citrus oils, for example) but these certainly are not "secret". Bader has just ripped off a number of methods tested by other people, thrown in some misleading information (Sevin IS NOT ORGANIC) and cranked out this lousy excuse for a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Miles Bader Pest Books, July 10, 2013
This review is from: 1001 All-natural Secrets to a Pest-free Property (Hardcover)
These books must have been written by a third grader. Very irritating. But I could take poor grammar and no editing if the solutions worked, which they don't. There is more information ("Interesting Facts") on the pests than on how to get rid of them. What a waste of money. I'm returning them, but will be out postage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MILES BADER BIGGER PEST BOOK, June 2, 2013
This review is from: 1001 All-natural Secrets to a Pest-free Property (Hardcover)
I ORDERED THE NATURAL SOLUTIONS BOOK WHICH WAS SUPPOSE TO BE FOLLOWED WITH THE MILES BADER BIGGER PEST BOOK.

I HAVE BEEN WAITING SINCE APRIL TO RECEIVE THE BIGGER PEST BOOK WITH NO LUCK.

I CALLED CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY COULD NOT SAY WHEN BOOK WOULD SHIP, ONLY IT WOULD COME WHEN AVAILABLE.

HOW CAN THEY CONTINUE TO ADVERTISE THE BOOK ON TV WHEN THEY CANNOT DELIVER IT?

UNHAPPY CUSTOMER!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

1001 All-natural Secrets to a Pest-free Property
1001 All-natural Secrets to a Pest-free Property by Myles H. Bader (Hardcover - April 1, 2006)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.