Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My work is cut out for me
Neatly organized into amber, blond, white, dark, and specialty; crossed referenced by country and brewery, this book offers 1001 (trusting their count, I got too thirsty checking) beers that represent excellence, innovation, and the history of beer. The introduction provides an excellent lesson on the types of beer and how they are brewed (I finally understand the real...
Published on July 3, 2010 by E. M. Van Court

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Beer Goggle World Tour
960 pages of thrist-provoking, full color, beautifully photographed beer porn. This is no consumer guide -- it's far too bulky and eccentrically arranged for that. (Beers are arranged by color -- amber, blond, white, dark, and, uh, "specialty.") Good luck pinpointing any particular beer you might want to read about. Better check the two indexes: one of beers by country of...
Published on April 12, 2010 by Roochak


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My work is cut out for me, July 3, 2010
By 
This review is from: 1001 Beers You Must Taste Before You Die (1001 (Universe)) (Hardcover)
Neatly organized into amber, blond, white, dark, and specialty; crossed referenced by country and brewery, this book offers 1001 (trusting their count, I got too thirsty checking) beers that represent excellence, innovation, and the history of beer. The introduction provides an excellent lesson on the types of beer and how they are brewed (I finally understand the real difference between ale and lager), and then goes right into my new 'to-do' list. Each beer has a page with a country of origin, the first year of production, alcohol content, a recommended serving temperature, the brewery, the URL, a bit of history or relevance of the particular beer, and a paragraph on the tasting experience of the beer.

The 'tasting notes' are well written, clear and using objective language, but raise questions. Who provided peer review? How reliable are the descriptions? Have they been independently confirmed? This is my self-appointed mission. 936 beers to go. In the current sample, I have to report that the tasting notes have stood up to careful scrutiny and extensive field testing, and I have found nothing to disagree with yet.

I enjoyed the book, and must now return to "Samuel Smith's Taddy Porter"; "A deep ruby beer with chocolate, caramel, and sweet tobacco in the aroma. The taste is tangy and gently bitter..."

Yup, that one checks good.

E.M. Van Court
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Dream Come True, February 16, 2011
This review is from: 1001 Beers You Must Taste Before You Die (1001 (Universe)) (Hardcover)
I got 1001 Beers as a Christmas gift as it was on my Amazon Wish List. I have several other beer tasting suggestion books and allthough they were nice they were somewhat cheaply made. I figured this was going to be another cheap book that would be 2 or 3 beers per page with one or two lines about each beer. This could not have been further from the truth. This book is like a bible to beer fans the tasting notes are in depth and informative. The beers are oragnized and easily understood, allthough I tend to use the index to see find the ratings for my favorite beers (Stone, Laginitas and Dogfish). The pictures are excellent and there is some history about the beers that made the book an interesting read.

This is hands down the best book on beer I have ever read and I have read alot. I love beer and my travels always include stops to local stores to find beers on my bucket list. I collect pint glasses and have over 250 in my collection. I have an entire fridge dedicated to craft beers. I subscribe to both Draft Magazine and All About Beer. The reason I am saying this is that I feel I am more than qualified to judge a book about beer. With that being said 1001 is the best thing i have ever read about the subject! It is a book that I keep my nightstand and glance thru daily when I dream about finding elusive beers.

My only complaint is that 1001 beers is just too many and in my opinion some real dogs are included in this otherwise remarkable listing of beers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excerpted from my April 2010 review in The National Barbecue News, July 27, 2010
By 
This review is from: 1001 Beers You Must Taste Before You Die (1001 (Universe)) (Hardcover)
Finally, here's one for the beer drinkers among us. Let me know if this is you: You long ago found yourself wanting something more from the standard American light lager that you'd been quaffing for years. You've dabbled in craft and micro brews that became all the rage back in the 90s and then you started to really reach out by getting online or buying these new beer lovers' magazines that regaled you with storied brews from around the globe. That led to tracking down these hard-to-find beers during business trips and personal travels. And next thing you know, you think of major cities in terms of your ability to locate these (i.e., New Orleans? Martin Wine Cellar has a great assortment of Belgian beers.).

Is that you? Yeah, it's me as well. OK, now that we've determined who are kindred spirits here, let me ask you this question: Do you have a "bucket list" of beers? You know what I mean, a list of beers that you're seeking out, checking off each one as you find them. Personally, I never had anything written down although I did sort of adopt that CAMRA book, "300 Beers to Try Before You Die", as my list. But now I've discovered that is just a starting place because there's a new book out, "1001 Beers You Must Taste Before You Die" edited by Adrian Tierney-Jones ($36.95, Universe, 960 pp.).

As you would suspect of a book touting a list of this length, this book is massive! It is a chunk to pick up. But that's OK because it is so well done and entertaining to read. The theme behind it comes from a series of books by the publisher. Other titles in the series are (shortened for brevity's sake) "...Foods You Must Taste...", "...Wines You Must Taste...". "...Albums You Must Hear...", "...Book You Must Read..." and "...Building You Must See...". I really liked how each beer is presented. Most are covered in a full page with a full-color of the beer bottle as well as the beer poured into a glass. The pictures are so well done that you'll practically be licking the pages for a taste. There's a ton of other useful content as well, but the real story here is the 1,001 beers. Please give me a shout when you've completed the list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great guide to enjoying life and of Course Beer., October 7, 2010
This review is from: 1001 Beers You Must Taste Before You Die (1001 (Universe)) (Hardcover)
It is often that when we think of beers we think of the best things we love about them and how they are so great(or sometimes not so great), it is also that we try to sometimes compare beers familiarily by either taste, style or region. "1001 Beers" does a spectacular job of leaving the tasting to us and instead giving us the history and story behind the beers we love so much.

This book which is organized by style has something every beer connosieur and even an everyday beer drinker would love, and does a significant amount of work to touch on the subleties past simple taste that make beer such a special thing so close to our hearts. The entry for the beers in this book are quick, concise and tell the story of the brewery in a straight-forward style which allows us to as readers the chance to read entry after entry without feeling like were beeing sold a product. Amongst the greats talked about in this book are entrys from the greats Sierra Nevada,Dogfish Head, Guineness, Fullers, Sheaperd's Neame, Lieffman's, Hoegaarden, Schneider, Paulaner, Weihenstephaner, and Chimay; But its not just these that make the book so good(they make it great none-the-less), its all of the other breweries, the small ones and their beers and stories that make the whole journey seem like a pilgrimage to the beer holy land.

Certainly there are some disapointments talked about in the book like Pabst Blue Ribbon and Budweisser, but the stories of these beers are yet integral to the whole beer culture and to its very existence as such an important commodity, culturally and economically. Although the layout of the book is lacking order, where some beers are seperated by brewery(such as Guiness is found under St. James Brewery, which is an easy example, still known to many people) on their single page and in the rear index, it dosn't do much to help those who might not know the actual brewery name for some of the odder beers,and that the beers are widely categorized without much effort to categorize and consider each beers merits to a particular style(rather than Blonde being such a large category try breaking them down more into Pale Ales, IPAs,Pilsners etc..); the country breakdown still offers a light of hope,if you happen to know where your particular beer of interest is brewed. I will also mention however that there is a particular issue with some beers being labeled as their sigle Beer name such as the fact that Aventinus isn't grouped with the Schnider beers(since its labeled poorly as Aventinus and not Schneider Aventinus), which does create another problem completly.

Overall the book makes a great refference for any lover of beer , whevether you be a crusader of Breweries or a simple loyalist to your favorite brew, this book is a great resource to discover something great. As a beer lover myself I can't say that I'm not pleased to look through this book just as I look through "Michael Jacksons's Great Beer Guide", and must say that this is just as relative a guide for todays brews of the world as the Beer Hunters guide was years ago. So sit down enjiy your brew and maybe learn something new, Cheers!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Beer Goggle World Tour, April 12, 2010
This review is from: 1001 Beers You Must Taste Before You Die (1001 (Universe)) (Hardcover)
960 pages of thrist-provoking, full color, beautifully photographed beer porn. This is no consumer guide -- it's far too bulky and eccentrically arranged for that. (Beers are arranged by color -- amber, blond, white, dark, and, uh, "specialty.") Good luck pinpointing any particular beer you might want to read about. Better check the two indexes: one of beers by country of origin, another by brewery.

Very brief tasting notes put each beer in its best light, which seems less like beer appreciation than salesmanship, but it's also a reminder that the entries are really about beer trivia and the history and local color of the various breweries. Assembled for the armchair traveler/beer aficionado, this is a drinker's world tour of interesting brews from 69 countries, with the unspoken caveat that "interesting" doesn't always mean "good." Still, each beer has a story. Pabst Blue Ribbon, for example, owes its revival by '80s hipsters to the praise of Dennis Hopper's manic villain in David Lynch's Blue Velvet (Special Edition). Flensburger Pilsener owes its cult status in Germany to a cartoon series "about a crooked underdog biker named Werner." And so on.

People more tasteful than myself won't point out that the lavishly illustrated books in Universe's "1001" series, with their brief, consistently upbeat entries, make superlative bathroom reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love Beer? Love this Book!, August 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1001 Beers You Must Taste Before You Die (1001 (Universe)) (Hardcover)
"Beer Porn" is how one reviewer on Amazon so aptly described this book. This 960 page tome is filled with luscious color photos of delectably seductively poured beer of all sizes, shapes, colors and tastes.

Organized by broad beer styles: Amber, Blond, White, Dark, and Specialty, entries are also indexed by country of origin and brewery name. It can be a bit difficult to locate your favorites...

There are some really obscure ones here and countries represented go well behind brewing hot-spots like the USA, Czech Republic, Germany, and England. There are entries for Antigua, Argentina, Egypt, Ethiopia, Laos, and Vietnam. The claim is that the book "represents the wisdom of over forty experts in their field." Why then, pray tell, is Budweiser in this book? Here are some samples from the book:

Budweiser: ..."there's not a lot of love among aficionados for what has been until recently the world's best-selling brand (along with Bud Light). It is derided in some quarters as unchallenging and unrewarding, the brewing version of sliced white bread....Budweiser is politely a delicate beer, it's slight body readily revealing any defects in the the brewing process." Blah, blah blah...Bud sucks, just say it!

Andechser Doppeldock Dunkel: Surprisingly no photo of this gem! "...This dark beauty, with its fiery hue, voluptuous aroma, and velvety flavor, has delighted many monks and pilgrims..."

Bell's Two Hearted Ale:Tasting Notes state: "Perfumed hoppy nose with plenty of grapefruit, plus apricot and honey notes, and a whiff of alcohol. Taste is sweetly malty for a heartbeat, then you have a mess of hops in your face. Malts hangs in, barely, as the beer winds down to a dry, hoppy finish."

Aecht Schlenkerla Rauchbier: "`Tastes like Ham!' The first sip...often induces such a statement. Some people are immediately turned off. Others are curious enough to have another sip, and another, and cannot stop savoring this vigorous dark beauty.

Schneider Weisse: Tasting notes include "Schneider Weisse has an aroma of cloves, bananas, and a hint of vanilla; on the palate, there are more bananas, cloves, a custard-like sweetness, and a hint of bubble gum, before its decent onto a tingling fruity finish." Huh? I never got any of that and I've had a good share of Schneider...

So, the text can get a bit pretentious, to say the least. But, the visuals of the book are beautiful. I even rediscovered some brews I have long forgotten and put a few new one on my list of "must-try." Still can't help wishing they had included Kuchlbauer, Dachsbräu, Mahr's U, and Heeren Pils from Bamberg's Kessman....ah, undiscovered country remains.

Lock yourself in the bathroom with your own copy today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a beer lover's delight, January 17, 2011
By 
Raven (Pennsylvania USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1001 Beers You Must Taste Before You Die (1001 (Universe)) (Hardcover)
My husband and I love to sample microbrews; each month, we attend a beer tasting night at a local restaurant where a microbrewery is featured. I thought this would be a great gift for my husband and I wasn't mistaken. He's spent hours perusing the pages ... and he's not an easy guy to please!

The book is rich with terrific pictures of the beers. Each has its own page which offers a history of the brewery and the particular beer, including tasting notes. Weighing in at more than 950 pages, you know that you're going to get a thorough review of the world's greatest beers. While some are available locally, the rest can be enjoyed through the book ... sort of like coffee table book of the most beautiful places on earth that you can visit in your armchair. (This book isn't large like a coffee table book; instead it's of a smaller side and quite squat!

Slainte!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally, life has some purpose! :), April 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1001 Beers You Must Taste Before You Die (1001 (Universe)) (Hardcover)
I picked up this volume a few months ago and have been salivating over it ever since. It's chock full from cover to cover with sexy, glossy pics of some of the most beautiful brews you will ever lay eyes (and taste buds) on. Most are full page spreads showing the bottle with a properly poured glass, and several descriptive and/or background paragraphs, plus helpful tasting notes. Other beers are featured two to a page with only a look at the label (no other photo) and a shorter description, but still very adequate. Reviews also contain "vitals" on the beer, such as brewery name, location, year first brewed, ABV, etc. The book is divided into five major sections based loosely on the type of beer: amber, blond, white, dark and "specialty". Lastly, there's a handy index in the back organized by brewery for easy reference.

My only beef with this otherwise inspired volume is with some of the beers that were selected or omitted. For example, workaday schlock like Budweiser or Pabst are included for their "iconic" value, but infinitely better brews like Bell's Expedition Stout or some of the Founders product line, for instance, are left out. One wonders about the editor's sense of proportion in some of those selections. Still, this is an awesome book from cover to cover for anyone who enjoys fine beer. If you're groping for a sense of purpose in life, this book will help you find it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beer Review Literature, April 12, 2010
By 
This review is from: 1001 Beers You Must Taste Before You Die (1001 (Universe)) (Hardcover)
In the same professional vein with which we describe academic publications as being "peer review," this hefty handbook is the beer review literature equivalent for this time-honored industry. Long time friend and professional associate Bryan Harrell, an expat expert on Japanese brewers, is among the many impressively credentialed contributors to this beautifully finished guide to the world's most notable beers. During a recent junket to Tokyo, I passed a number of evenings as Harrell's guest, taste-testing a wide range of beers for his next assignment in beer criticism, and while sipping beer after beer, I enjoyed leafing through the pages of 1001 Beers. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is serious about the beer they drink, and who wants to discover more in the world of brewing than ever imagined possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Adventure, January 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1001 Beers You Must Taste Before You Die (1001 (Universe)) (Hardcover)
My husband and I bought this book for my brother for Christmas. He is a Bio-Chem major and loves breaking down the different tastes and flavors in beers he tries. He loves trying all sorts of different beers and going out of his way to do this. He absolutely loves this book! Every time we've gone to the store, he's trying to find a beer out of this book and he's learning about the beers he has already tried and loves. Great present for beer drinkers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

1001 Beers You Must Taste Before You Die (1001 (Universe))
1001 Beers You Must Taste Before You Die (1001 (Universe)) by Jay R. Brooks (Hardcover - March 23, 2010)
$36.95 $23.37
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.