Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book about a great team!
This book has it all: 101 reasons to love our fabulous Red Sox AND 10 reasons to hate the Yankees! The fact that his brother wrote a book about loving the Yankees makes it even more interesting. My favorite reason? #101. A Reason to Believe.
Published on March 11, 2005 by Cravatteverte

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been much much much better
i've been a Red Sox fan since they signed Dice-K, and i saw 101 Reasons to Love the Red Sox at our bookstore for about $7.00 and bought it up.

the book overall is alright, but it could have been better and doesn't mention some of the good stuff that makes Red Sox Nation one of a kind.

For example, there is no mention of Dice-K at all, no mention of...
Published on January 10, 2010 by O. Rios


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book about a great team!, March 11, 2005
This book has it all: 101 reasons to love our fabulous Red Sox AND 10 reasons to hate the Yankees! The fact that his brother wrote a book about loving the Yankees makes it even more interesting. My favorite reason? #101. A Reason to Believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much Love For The Red Sox!, December 16, 2008
This review is from: 101 Reasons to Love the Red Sox (Revised) (Hardcover)
I am a huge Red Sox fan and jumped at the chance to buy this for fellow Red Sox fan as a Christmas present. When I got it I flipped through it a bit out of curiosity. It's really cool! It goes through all the reasons why the Red Sox are the best team to root for. There are some of the more obvious reasons(Curt Schilling and that ankle of his in 2004, winning the WSC in 2004 and again in 2007) and some other ones that maybe you didn't think about. What may be an even more fun treat than 101 reasons to love our beloved Red Sox, is at the end of the book the author provides us with 10 fantastic reasons why we should hate those blasted, evil Yankees. Having not actually gotten to read the book all the way through(it was a present after all) the 10 reasons to hate the Yankees may have been my favorite part.

Other important things you may want to note, the book is hardback, and the cover is very nice, as are each of the high quality pages. So, at the low price it is, what are you waiting for?!?! If you're a Red Sox fan, buy this book! If you know a Red Sox fan, buy this book for him/her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been much much much better, January 10, 2010
This review is from: 101 Reasons to Love the Red Sox (Revised) (Hardcover)
i've been a Red Sox fan since they signed Dice-K, and i saw 101 Reasons to Love the Red Sox at our bookstore for about $7.00 and bought it up.

the book overall is alright, but it could have been better and doesn't mention some of the good stuff that makes Red Sox Nation one of a kind.

For example, there is no mention of Dice-K at all, no mention of John Lester's No-Hitter, or Neil Diamond's "Sweet Caroline", which was broadcast to the world during the National Hockey League's 2010 Winter Classic between Boston and Philly. And the book is a 2008 edition, so it does mention Clay Buchholtz's No-No but nothing on Dice-K? Ellsbury and Pedrioa are mentioned as a duo but The Yuker gets his own number?

Also, Ted Williams is ranked #37? but Jimmie Fox #35? Curse of the Babe #24? For real? it seems to me the author had a good idea and this was the end result. In my opinion, here are MY top 8 reasons to Love the Red Sox, none of which are either mentioned or mentioned way later in the book.

1- Red Sox Nation, none like it
2- Curse of the Babe, this was the biggest reason Boston was known for
3- Breaking the Curse, Down 3-0 to the Yankees to win the Pennant
4- First World Series in 86 years, everyone was rooting for Boston
5- Ted Williams, he is Mr. Red Sox
6- The Green Monster, the single most iconic image of Fenway
7- Fenway Park, one of the last remaining gems of baseball
8- The Citgo sign, probably the 2nd most iconic image about Fenway

The book does bring to light several parts of the rich history of the Boston Red Sox, like the Citgo Sign, the Green Monster, the scoreboard and Peskey's Pole, just not enough.

overall, i thought the book was good in the history, but to a fan of the Red Sox like myself, i thought it could have been much better.

Fever Pitch is ranked #77, yet the film showed more Red Sox history than Field of Dreams and will always be remembered as the film made while the Red Sox were making their way to the 2004 World Series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Coffee Table Book, July 13, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's a nice, glossy book, and it's so darn funny. It also contains some great tidbits about the history of the Red Sox. And the "10 reasons to hate the Yankees" section is phenomenal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Sox!!!!, April 12, 2008
By 
Thomas A. Desautel "Tommy D" (Bloomington, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great book, a must have for Red Sox fans. Who needs 10 reasons to hate the Yankees, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GO BOSTON, GO BOSTON, GO BOSTON, YAH, BOSTON!, August 30, 2009
By 
I love the Boston Red Sox and I love this book. After two STELLAR Series Sweeps (2004 - Cardinals and 2007 the Rockies), the Red Sox continue to make me proud. This book proves what I've been saying all along - the Red Sox are the team to root for! Go, Boston!

Curt Schilling and his wife are major leaguers in my eyes. They have stepped up to the plate for people with ALS (Lou Gehrig's disease) and their efforts will hopefully lead to effective treatments and cures for this devastating condition. Even if you aren't a Red Sox fan, cheer extra hard for Schilling and his efforts.

There are some very funny parts in this book. I love the part about the 10 obvious reasons to dislike the Yankees. I hope the Boston Red Sox eat those Yankees up with some Boston Cream Pie and knock them CLEAR out of the ball park! That section on why the Yankees are NOT the team to root for always brings a smile to my face. Go, Boston!

This is a classic book with delightful information that will hit a home run into the hearts of its readers. Go, Boston!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 101 Reasons to Love the Red Sox (Revised) (Hardcover)
My Nephew was super excited to receive this book for Christmas. He's still talking about it! His favorite gift this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, January 1, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 101 Reasons to Love the Red Sox (Revised) (Hardcover)
This was a gift for a friend who is a big Red Sox fan, she loves it! Go Red Sox!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great gift, July 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was a gift for my husband, who is a Red Sox fanatic. He loved it! The perfect coffee table book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars red stock, December 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 101 Reasons to Love the Red Sox (Revised) (Hardcover)
gave it son in law as he's a great red sox fan
he reads all bookss on red sox that he can
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

101 Reasons to Love the Red Sox (Revised)
101 Reasons to Love the Red Sox (Revised) by Dave Green (Hardcover - August 1, 2008)
$15.95 $11.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.