Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!
This is an excellent book, and provides an easy to read format with questions listed in bold throughout the book. There is no "quick reference" sheet of questions, though there is an appendix which lists questions in the back of the book (on p. 169).

The author seems to be from a sales background, and lists many questions more suitable for sales. In...
Published on March 9, 2005 by David G. Douthitt

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good info but...
The author takes a somewhat casual approach. At first, it was a bit off-setting as I was expecting a more "professional" presentation of the material. Still, I got used to it and was able to get some good information from the book. There are A LOT of questions presented and many of them are very similar to others. Perhaps it should have been more like 50 questions...
Published 15 months ago by S. Conroy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!, March 9, 2005
By 
This is an excellent book, and provides an easy to read format with questions listed in bold throughout the book. There is no "quick reference" sheet of questions, though there is an appendix which lists questions in the back of the book (on p. 169).

The author seems to be from a sales background, and lists many questions more suitable for sales. In particular, some of the questions seem to be quite bold and forward; you may want to skip some of these. To his credit, these questions are clearly marked.

The book breaks questions down into three general areas: questions to ask yourself (before the interview), questions to ask a prescreener (an HR person), and questions to ask the hiring manager. Most of the book is spent on the latter two.

This book also describes how to do research on a company - so you know what questions to ask. Resources are described in detail, and how to get them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended!, May 19, 2004
Career development expert Ron Fry focuses on how to prepare for a job interview and how to conduct yourself during the interview. While he covers some of the same ground he's covered in some of his other books and as well as the territory in other career books, such as What Color Is Your Parachute, Fry focuses helpfully on a critical job-finding skill - asking the right questions during your job interview. He tells you how to respond when the interviewer asks you, "Do you have any questions?", because your response indicates your level of interest in the job. Besides listing questions to ask or to modify to meet your own circumstances, Fry provides helpful preparatory questions you should ask yourself to clarify what kind of job you really want. We recommend this book to job seekers at the middle or lower management level. By the time you get to the executive suite, you'll know what else to ask.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Valuable quick guide for job search, December 18, 2006
Quick read, easy book, good advice. The best part the the book are the list of words that can help you describe yourself. I also liked the "Get the best deal" chapter that lists all the fringe benefits one can and should ask for when relocating or making sure that proper severance package is in place...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not your answers, but your questions, March 26, 2004
This book does a great job of helping you ask the questions that will get you a job. As a training manager, who trains managers and executives on how to interview, I feel I am qualified to say this book works.
I know we look for people who can ask the right question. This book is a wonderful resource once you get the interview. This leaves us with the question, "How do you get an interview?" Simple, know the type of job you want and pursue it, if you do not know what type of job you want you may want to read the classic, "How to find your dream job and make it a reality." By Jason McClure.
Read this book, and learn how to ask questions for your job interview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Are You Ready For Your Interview?, April 18, 2012
This review is from: 101 Smart Questions to Ask on Your Interview (Paperback)
When the interviewer asks "Do you have any questions," the worse answer you could possibly give is "no - no questions." Not asking questions shows that you are uninterested in either the job or company. If you've done what you should - which is research the company; you should always have questions to ask. If you're not sure what to ask, 101 Smart Questions to ask on Your interview will get you started in the right direction.
As the book says "a little knowledge is powerful" and this book will help you to get there. The book provides an excellent list of job search sites to assist even a "novice" job seeker (including sites for recent college grads).

During the interview is not the only time you should be asking questions, however, the book also provides a list of questions to ask yourself after the interview and your new boss once you're hired.

The end of the book provides an Appendix which includes possible responses to the 20 most difficult interview questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It definitely helps prepare for an interview, September 30, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 101 Smart Questions to Ask on Your Interview (Paperback)
I purchased this book on the recommendation of a colleague when I was preparing to interview for a new position. Being the kind of person who needs to feel prepared for these types of activities, I really found this book valuable for giving me ideas of what types of questions I could expect and smart, intelligent ways to respond to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good info but..., June 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The author takes a somewhat casual approach. At first, it was a bit off-setting as I was expecting a more "professional" presentation of the material. Still, I got used to it and was able to get some good information from the book. There are A LOT of questions presented and many of them are very similar to others. Perhaps it should have been more like 50 questions to ask. He does sum it up at the end with the best 20 questions. After reading through the whole book, I think just those last 20 at the end of the book would have been sufficient. One other "complaint:" I am in the medical field and felt the book was aimed more at business jobs particularly sales jobs. A lot of the questions do not apply for medical position interviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No duh..., April 18, 2014
By 
Oxi (Pasadena, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 101 Smart Questions to Ask on Your Interview (Paperback)
It has a looooot of "no duh" information. If you don't realize it's not appropriate to smoke during an interview (just 1 example), then sure, buy the book. If you have common sense, you really don't need it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "Must Read!" for Job Seekers, July 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 101 Smart Questions to Ask on Your Interview (Paperback)
I thought I was ready to begin interviewing, then I picked up this book and its companion "101 Great Answers to the Toughest Interview Questions". I realized that I still had a lot of work to do before crossing a prospective employer's threshold. This book not only tells you what you need to do before the interview, it gives you the tools and worksheets with which to properly prepare. I was once a manager who conducted interviews for positions within my department. I was not a trained interviewer. I saw my interviewing style described in this book, and it was not flattering. At the time I thought I was a good interviewer. My employees were good employees and often advanced within the company, so I must have done something right. In reading this book I realized I was the "gut feeling plus skills" employer. If you are a job seeker you owe it to yourself to read these books long before leaving the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a very good book to review prior to the interview., June 13, 2010
This review is from: 101 Smart Questions to Ask on Your Interview (Paperback)
In my book I reference "preparing for the interview" this book is an excellent reference to prepare for your interview. Great questions to ask at the interview. I've also referenced in book for others who I consult.

Kelly Wibbenmeyer, author of Any Tom, Dick, or Harry Can Get a Job: A Sure Fire Way to Land a Job
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

101 Smart Questions to Ask on Your Interview
101 Smart Questions to Ask on Your Interview by Ronald W. Fry (Paperback - February 5, 2009)
$12.99 $9.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.