Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Really Practical Guide, January 27, 2012
This review is from: 101 Social Media Tactics for Nonprofits: A Field Guide (Hardcover)
There is so much social media waffle out there. Many websites or books give you the background and the theory. They may give you the ammunition to convince yourself and others that a social media strategy is essential but they very often fall short on implementation.

101 Social Media Tactics for Nonprofits: A Field Guide is very different. The book is a series of practical tips for implementing your social media strategy. Each tip follows the same format. It starts with a small amount of background to the reason why the tactic is useful. It then proceeds to inform you what steps you need to take to implement the idea and finally it looks at examples of how non-profits have already implemented the tactic. The book does this for all 101 tactics offering an enormous amount of useful information.

My only concern is that like most books about social media, there is a risk that some of the tactics could become obsolete or that some of the social media resources could fall out of favour. The majority of the tactics refer to the bigger sites such as Facebook and Twitter. However as newer resouces increase in popularity they will not be covered by this book. That being said I understand some new tactics are going to be released for free which will certainly address this issue.

As a whole I found the book really useful. For somebody who is new to social media this is going to be a great guide. Even to somebody like myself who has some exposure to it, there was a lot to be learned and well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Pragmatic Guide to Online Social Communications, May 2, 2012
This review is from: 101 Social Media Tactics for Nonprofits: A Field Guide (Hardcover)
Once you figure out your story, how you will approach SEO, social media and content creation from a strategic standpoint, you still need to get the word out there. Which tactics best compliment your approach?

My friends Melanie and Chad at Blackbaud are incredibly bright and talented social media communicators. In their work, they promote the industry's largest software vendor, and help thousands of nonprofits engage on two-way conversations and fundraising online. They tackled an incredibly difficult task, providing an off-the-shelf guide to the best social media tactics for your nonprofit or fundraiser possible.

How did they do? To me, what's surprising about this book is how the vast majority of tactics are still usable a year after it was written. Social media moves quickly, and consider that in the time since the book was released we have seen the rise of Pinterest, the release of Timeline, and the acquisition of Instagram.

As I said in their praise quote, "101 Social Media Tactics for Nonprofits delivers the pragmatic how-to advice that nonprofits always seem to ask for at conferences. Melanie and Chad deserve praise for helping nonprofits navigate and find resource-limited solutions with really useful information."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific "nuts & bolts" book for application, May 29, 2012
By 
Pamela Grow (Haverford, PA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 101 Social Media Tactics for Nonprofits: A Field Guide (Hardcover)
I've read any number of social media theory books. Books that tell you about the potential for social media to be a harbinger of vast social change. Books that advise nonprofits to develop a sound social media strategy.

Forget all those other books. Cut to the chase with Melanie Mathos and Chad Norman as they show you exactly what to DO to get the results you're looking for. If you work for nonprofits and you're struggling with social media, this is the book to buy. And, if you're looking for more in-depth information, check out the interview I did with Melanie: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful guide, June 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 101 Social Media Tactics for Nonprofits: A Field Guide (Hardcover)
As a "technology challenged" person, I found this book to be a great help. Besides strategies and tactics for using social media, it contains direct "How to" guides for various postings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for Community Volunteers, June 8, 2012
This review is from: 101 Social Media Tactics for Nonprofits: A Field Guide (Hardcover)
I was working on a project for my Rotary Club, and this book was very helpful. We launched an awareness campaign on Foursquare to celebrate our centennial anniversary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars May be the "Only book we will ever need!!", February 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 101 Social Media Tactics for Nonprofits: A Field Guide (Hardcover)
OUTSTANDING !!! A "must have" book for anyone associated with nonprofits. The Social Media Tactics described in this "Field Guide" will forever change the approach to engage and communicate with all our constituents. We ordered hard copies for all employees to utilize in their daily communications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide!, January 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 101 Social Media Tactics for Nonprofits: A Field Guide (Hardcover)
Wonderful tips for effective NPO strategies on Social Media- what to spend time on- what not the spend time on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why didn't I think of that???, February 20, 2012
This review is from: 101 Social Media Tactics for Nonprofits: A Field Guide (Hardcover)
I strongly recommend this book if you are in any way involved with Social media. These 101 Tactics provide very specific insights providing excellent useable examples that can immediately be utilized. I have already implemented a few of these tactics and it is making me look really smart !! It makes me wonder " Why didn't I think of that ?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent book to start and finish a social media presence for a non-profit, August 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 101 Social Media Tactics for Nonprofits: A Field Guide (Hardcover)
A very detailed approach to setting up a social media presence for a non-profit organization
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, September 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 101 Social Media Tactics for Nonprofits: A Field Guide (Hardcover)
Very specific actions to try out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

101 Social Media Tactics for Nonprofits: A Field Guide
101 Social Media Tactics for Nonprofits: A Field Guide by Melanie Mathos (Hardcover - February 7, 2012)
$39.95 $29.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.