Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4-7 catagories for recruiting success
This book has useful information, though it does seem like someone experienced in recruiting would find it basic. I was a little disappointed that there aren't really 101 strategies as the title suggests. Right away, "strategy 1: what is a recruiter?" made me critical of the title.
Though the book makes good points, probably only about 30 of the strategies would be...
Published on December 10, 2007 by M. Rodriguez

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed
The information on this book is very basic. It may be useful to a college grad looking to get a start in recruiting or to entry level employees. Some of the information in this book is common sense. If you have been recruiting for a few years, this not the book for you.
Published on June 24, 2007 by C. Leyva


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, June 24, 2007
This review is from: 101 Strategies for Recruiting Success: Where, When, and How to Find the Right People Every Time (Paperback)
The information on this book is very basic. It may be useful to a college grad looking to get a start in recruiting or to entry level employees. Some of the information in this book is common sense. If you have been recruiting for a few years, this not the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A view from 50,000 feet, March 15, 2007
This review is from: 101 Strategies for Recruiting Success: Where, When, and How to Find the Right People Every Time (Paperback)
If you are looking for a how-to book with tricks and tips of the trade, this is not the book for you. ie., "Strategy 97- Plan Your Day" ... We all know we need to plan our day; however, if the book attempted to explain how to effectively plan a recruiter's day, there would be some benefit to that! Mostly general advice is provided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time and money, January 22, 2008
This review is from: 101 Strategies for Recruiting Success: Where, When, and How to Find the Right People Every Time (Paperback)
Completely disappointed. Don't waste your money. If Corporate HR Departments are reading this it would explain their approach to hiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some Useful Information, But Rather Basic, January 10, 2012
This review is from: 101 Strategies for Recruiting Success: Where, When, and How to Find the Right People Every Time (Paperback)
101 Strategies for Recruiting Success is probably best for new recruiters. Christopher Pritchard does present some good information, particularly the sections on operational audits and metrics. It's always worth reviewing what you are currently doing to look for areas for improvement. However, most of the topics are covered in one-two pages, which as other reviewers have noted, means that the material is covered at a very basic level.

For readers looking for more in-depth coverage and for more experienced recruiters looking for something to supercharge their personal development, I would recommend Lou Adler's Hire with Your Head, which covers much of the same material in much greater depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Basic, February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 101 Strategies for Recruiting Success: Where, When, and How to Find the Right People Every Time (Paperback)
Basic knowledge. Recommended to those liking for just a basic review. Not really very insightful strategies. Has some good info
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Overall Good Resource, September 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 101 Strategies for Recruiting Success: Where, When, and How to Find the Right People Every Time (Paperback)
This book gives great ideas on how to find new employees. I wish there was more information on techniques for passive employees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Where are the strategies?, May 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 101 Strategies for Recruiting Success: Where, When, and How to Find the Right People Every Time (Paperback)
This book may be more helpful to outside recruiting vendors in order to gain insight into the workings of a corporate recruiting department and their recruiters. However, to an experienced Corporate recruiter, this book is extremely basic. Get an org-chart? Request to attend the staff meetings or conference calls for the BUs you support? Pay attention to candidates' needs or "buying signals" to accept an offer? Basic, basic, basic! The author is not giving much (if any) new information or "strategies" for experienced corporate recruiters. I will say, however, that for a new corporate recruiter, this book could be useful in supporting the training that they are hopefully getting in their new positions. As for me, I feel like I wasted my money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4-7 catagories for recruiting success, December 10, 2007
By 
M. Rodriguez (IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 101 Strategies for Recruiting Success: Where, When, and How to Find the Right People Every Time (Paperback)
This book has useful information, though it does seem like someone experienced in recruiting would find it basic. I was a little disappointed that there aren't really 101 strategies as the title suggests. Right away, "strategy 1: what is a recruiter?" made me critical of the title.
Though the book makes good points, probably only about 30 of the strategies would be considered such. The rest are commentary and information. The author stresses being creative and "thinking out of the box" in numerous 'strategies.'

The book is a good source to learn the basics of recruiting, or to give someone ideas on how to improve their recruiting department, but I agree that the title is misleading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Invaluable Resource That Got Me Started In The Biz..., April 6, 2007
This review is from: 101 Strategies for Recruiting Success: Where, When, and How to Find the Right People Every Time (Paperback)
I could not disagree more with the short and pointless critique above. This book covers many facets of the business and is incredibly helpful both to rookie headhunters in the trenches (like myself) as well as to corporate HR departments. It's a double edged sword of course because the more corporate HR leaders read this and follow it's wisdom, the less they will need headhunters like myself but that's because it is excellent advice and you can't fault that. The individual who made the snarky remark above about planning your day and not liking the general advice that this book offers needs to understand that recruiters are their own bosses and the way to run your desk is to plan out each day to a T and to understand how to prioritize based on what your employers needs are as well as your own. It's not that complicated but is incredibly important!

In short, someone who takes the time to read the book and apply it's teachings will find themselves as I did in a position to find the right people everytime through creativity, perseverance and true honest to goodness work (rather than relying on the job boards and other "low-hanging fruit" that keeps corporate america forever looking for trained individuals like myself to find the people they need).

Good luck to all my peers out there and take the time to study this book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great seller, August 24, 2009
This review is from: 101 Strategies for Recruiting Success: Where, When, and How to Find the Right People Every Time (Paperback)
Recieved book quickly with no problems and in excellent shape. Would use seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

101 Strategies for Recruiting Success: Where, When, and How to Find the Right People Every Time
Used & New from: $4.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.