Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Straight Strong Efforts - Let's Go For Four!
For the third cosecutive time, Tempest has released a very good album with no weak songs. Up until "Turn of the Wheel", Tempest had been releasing patchy, inconsistent works such as "Surfing to Mecca", "Sunken Treasures", and "Bootleg". On "Turn" they finally put it all together; they followed this up with "Gravel...
Published on August 17, 2000 by Jerry Biondi

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Covers of covers
How sad that this band would release a "new" album performing covers of songs they previously have recorded, that, for the most part, are covers of older traditional tunes. The well of ideas apparently had evaporated. I hate the post "Turn of the Wheel/Gravel Walk" line-up. Where did they find the new guys? Are they students? A true downgrade for...
Published on September 17, 2002 by James Culpepper


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Straight Strong Efforts - Let's Go For Four!, August 17, 2000
By 
This review is from: 10th Anniversary Compilation (Audio CD)
For the third cosecutive time, Tempest has released a very good album with no weak songs. Up until "Turn of the Wheel", Tempest had been releasing patchy, inconsistent works such as "Surfing to Mecca", "Sunken Treasures", and "Bootleg". On "Turn" they finally put it all together; they followed this up with "Gravel Walk", another strong effort, and finally, "10th Anniversary Compilation". I can't wait for their next album to come out! And if you get a chance, go see them live. I saw them last summer. They didn't use smoke bombs, psychedelic lights, or any other gimmiks. They just got up on stage and played their you-know-whats off for 2 1/2 hours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long live Celtic Rock, April 27, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: 10th Anniversary Compilation (Audio CD)
I mainly listen to the real loud hard rock like say GnR but let me tell you. After all the concerts I have been to seeing these guys at Oregon Country fair put all of the blazing light shows and loud guitars TO SHAME just by being themselves. It is absolutely tragic that these guys aren't globally known they have true talent (something that most bands these days lack). If you like Rock and you have the spirit of celtic music within you these guys are just what you need for your soul. What more da ya want me ta say?? Rock on lads!! Oh and I gotta add that the bassist is a real nice guy. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tempest Addition, February 21, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: 10th Anniversary Compilation (Audio CD)
After hearing Tempest's two previous Magna Carta releases, along with the Caliban release(from the same label) I had to get this CD. I sure wasn't discouraged. The songs and instrumentals are fantastic, and really get you going. Of particular Tempest sound is Montara Bay, Hal-an-Tow, and Captain Morgan. The best Tempest release yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These guys rock, January 1, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: 10th Anniversary Compilation (Audio CD)
It's a rarity when a band is able to fuse two distinct styles into a package that does justice to both. Tempest accomplishes this and then some with its blend of traditional Celtic tunes with tail-kickin' rock. This is probably the best CD to buy as an introduction to the band. Standout cuts include Hal-An-Tow and Heather on the Moor, my two personal favorites. Lead singer Leif Sorbye's string work is top-notch, as is fiddler Michael Mullen's playing. As good as this album is, it isn't as good as a Tempest concert. This is a MUST experience for fans of Celtic and progressive rock. A new album is due out this spring, and it promises to build on this band's impressive credentials. As for those reviewers who fail to appreciate Tempest, don't listen to 'em. They simply don't know what they're talkin' about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A biased opinion., July 28, 2000
By 
"vulpine" (Fort Worth, Texas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 10th Anniversary Compilation (Audio CD)
I've been reading the reviews of Tempest here. If your looking for traditional celtic music, and have an abject hatred of genre mixing, Tempest isn't for you. Now if your a touch open minded, have a fondness for both rock and celtic, and enjoy high energy music, Tempest is for you. As for this album in particular, I'm actually glad to see them release an album with some of the older songs. It's nice to see how the new lineup treats the 'classic' material. I recomend it to anyone new to Tempest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fusion of hard rock and Celtic foot stomping music, August 1, 1999
This review is from: 10th Anniversary Compilation (Audio CD)
I first heard Tempest at a local pub. The dancing multitude not only kept time for the music but threatened to shake the roof down. Tempest is the band to introduce young people to Irish Music with. I have played this album, as well as The Gravel Walk, to my high school students who fell in love with the sound and the primal energy of the music. Many of these head banging youths have gone on to discover others fabulous bands (Solas, The Young Dubliners, The Cheiftains) and have expanded their music libraries. Take a listen to "You Jacobites by Name" and see if your toes don't start a tappin'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Compilation' is a Keeper!, August 15, 2000
By 
"tomrag" (Boise, Idaho) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 10th Anniversary Compilation (Audio CD)
This CD is not as hard-hitting as its 2 predecessors. Both the production and the performance are not quite as crisp. Nonetheless, it contains a wide variety of memorable songs, the best being "Montara Bay", "Hal-An-Tow", "You Jacobites By Name", and "A Kiss in the Morning Early". Several of the songs are newly re-recorded versions of songs from very early now-out-of-print Tempest albums, and the new versions are vastly superior to the raw, formative earlier versions. Definitely a keeper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow what a great CD!, April 12, 2008
By 
Nicola Selph (Modesto , CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 10th Anniversary Compilation (Audio CD)
I heard Tempest live at the Celtic festival in Sonora, and so I bought this CD. This has many really wonderful tracks on it. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Compilation!!!, April 26, 2001
By 
"mrruppe" (South Jersey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 10th Anniversary Compilation (Audio CD)
From a new fan's point of view, this is a great CD! I've been listening to Tempest for about a year now and can't get enough of them! Make sure you also check out their website and purchase their live CD. Everytime they come to town, I'm on vacation - rats! The live CD makes me feel like I've heard and seen them for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Covers of covers, September 17, 2002
This review is from: 10th Anniversary Compilation (Audio CD)
How sad that this band would release a "new" album performing covers of songs they previously have recorded, that, for the most part, are covers of older traditional tunes. The well of ideas apparently had evaporated. I hate the post "Turn of the Wheel/Gravel Walk" line-up. Where did they find the new guys? Are they students? A true downgrade for this band and a truly disappointing album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

10th Anniversary Compilation
10th Anniversary Compilation by Tempest (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.