Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing
My students absolutely LOVED these fractured folk tales. Justin McCory Martin did a super job of choosing some commonly known tales, and some not so common ones. My students enjoyed not only "performing" their readers' theater, but hearing the original folk tale that each of the fractured ones were based on. Because of the nature of readers' theater, all students got...
Published on January 17, 2011 by Melissa

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay
So far, the plays have been okay, but not the quality of story line that I was lead to believe it contained. Cute, but not super funny for my 7 year old.
Published 16 months ago by Jacqueline Waterfall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing, January 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 12 Fabulously Funny Folktale Plays (Paperback)
My students absolutely LOVED these fractured folk tales. Justin McCory Martin did a super job of choosing some commonly known tales, and some not so common ones. My students enjoyed not only "performing" their readers' theater, but hearing the original folk tale that each of the fractured ones were based on. Because of the nature of readers' theater, all students got enough practice with their selections to be fluent and understanding readers and had lots of fun in the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book for kids plays, July 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 12 Fabulously Funny Folktale Plays (Paperback)
I am going to use this on short weeks at school we are going to preform for our buddy classroom. But note the grade level on this is 2-4th grade. It may be a little to easy for higher grades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun for Kids, July 7, 2011
By 
K. Cranick (on a beach in, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 12 Fabulously Funny Folktale Plays (Paperback)
Ordered these books for my third graders and they absolutely love them! We do theater week each six weeks and they love being able to create their own costumes and learn their lines, and these plays are funny and short enough for the kids to learn quickly in groups and perform. Great way to enhance their fluency and social skills!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Theater Arts teachers, March 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 12 Fabulously Funny Folktale Plays (Paperback)
Great activity for any age theatre student. Usage depends on assignment and ability. My middle grades and high schoolers loved this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun.....and a great tool for building fluency!, March 23, 2014
By 
J. Sweeney (manchester, mo) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 12 Fabulously Funny Folktale Plays (Paperback)
I work as an aide in an elementary school and have used this book to supplement a reader's theater program. If you want to help improve fluency, build team work, and allow a child's personality to come out in front of their peers, this is something you might want to add to your professional library. Every elementary teacher I talk to wishes they could find a way to add reader's theater to the literacy program, so it's nice to have a book like this.

I have also used the fractured folktales in this book to revisit the original tales. Read aloud practice AND a chance to look at some classic AND fractured folktales? Sign me up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, August 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 12 Fabulously Funny Folktale Plays (Paperback)
This book was a wonderful addition to my classroom. It provided my students with a host of plays to be performed in class. We were studying American folktales for social studies and branched out creating our own stories to tie into Florida History. The charming plays in this book helped students get a feel for reading and writing plays and also for performing. The students broke into cooperative learning groups and practiced and presented their plays to other students and to their parents. This was a big success!!!! It made teaching history and literature loads of fun for the students and was a hands on way of learning that they will remember forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kids loved them., July 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 12 Fabulously Funny Folktale Plays (Paperback)
Bought this and 2 others or summer school. Kids loved them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great short plays for children, November 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 12 Fabulously Funny Folktale Plays (Paperback)
I teach acting and this book is a perfect resource for my class. Love the stories and the kids love acting them. You don't need many props and they are great for kids who can read and up to age 12. Fun for the family too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Fun Silly Stories!, September 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 12 Fabulously Funny Folktale Plays (Paperback)
Really fun, silly stories. My 8 and 6 year old boys love all the fun twists of the classic tales. Great for bed time stories!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, June 13, 2013
By 
Renaissance Man (Woodsboro, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 12 Fabulously Funny Folktale Plays (Paperback)
These were great for my second grade class. Had a room parent use them to prepare the class for putting on plays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

12 Fabulously Funny Folktale Plays
12 Fabulously Funny Folktale Plays by Justin McCory Martin (Paperback - December 1, 2004)
$11.99 $8.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.