Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This man knows how to make music
This was R Kelly's first CD without Public Announcement. And believe me he did extremely well. Remember Kelly does almost everything by himself. The production, songwriting, mixing'. And he's brilliant as a multi-instrumentalist.
Every fan of R&B and soul will love this smooth laidback music. I mean who can forget classics like "Your Body's Callin'"...
Published on May 1, 2000 by Francisco Pérez

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good solo debut
R. Kelly is a master of taking a completely juvenile, sexual song title like "I Like the Crotch on You" and flipping it with his smooth voice into some kind of bizarre love song. "12 Play," his first album without the assistance of Public Announcement, proves that he could hold his own rolling solo. And while it isn't as polished or as popular as his...
Published on January 17, 2001 by Patrick G. Varine


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This man knows how to make music, May 1, 2000
This review is from: 12-Play (Audio CD)
This was R Kelly's first CD without Public Announcement. And believe me he did extremely well. Remember Kelly does almost everything by himself. The production, songwriting, mixing'. And he's brilliant as a multi-instrumentalist.
Every fan of R&B and soul will love this smooth laidback music. I mean who can forget classics like "Your Body's Callin'" and "Bump N' Grind". Songs that just make your head bounce. Don't forget The Best R&B-Song of 1993 "Sex Me", for its seductive, made-for-lovers-in-bed sound. Other very good low-tempo songs are "It Seems Like You're Ready", "For You" "12 PLAY" and "Sadie". The other songs are just outdated hiphop songs. But that doesn't stop me for giving this album 5 stars. It's R&B that he stands for and it shows. It was with the album "12 PLAY" that he acknowledged his real music and showed the world his enormous talent. Everyone who doesn't have this music are making a big mistake. You've been warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody has to have R. Kelly's 12 Play!, April 28, 1998
By 
Joanna Zachery-Meade "Joanna" (Union City, Georgia United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 12-Play (Audio CD)
Who doesn't have this cd? This is like a required element of any r&b lover's collection. Of course R. Kelly is well known for his "bump-n-grind" kind of love songs... and this is the one that actually has it!! Anyone who wants to set the sexy scene with the right kind of music, here's what you must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Man..........this brings me back!, November 29, 2005
By 
This review is from: 12-Play (Audio CD)
I have got to say that this album has brought me back during my high school days. I grew up listening to him and other artist such as Keith Sweat. I remember attending to his concert in Radio City Music Hall performing with Salt-N-Pepper right after prom night.

Kelly does almost everything by himself. The production, songwriting, and mix's, etc.... and he's brilliant as a multi-instrumentalist.

Every fan of R&B and soul will love this smooth laid-back music. I mean who can forget classics like "Your Body's Callin'" and "Bump N' Grind". Songs that just make your head bounce. Don't forget The Best R&B-Song of 1993 "Sex Me", for its seductive, made-for-lovers-in-bed sound. Other very good low-tempo songs are "It Seems like You're Ready", "For You" "12 PLAY" and "Sadie". It was with the album "12 PLAY" that he acknowledged his real music and showed the world his enormous talent.

Overall "12 Play" is a very good album and although released in 1993, it can stand up to anything on the R&B market now. This is a very sexy album great for all kinds of lovers. I definitely recommend this to all Kelly fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 12 Play, September 3, 2005
By 
J. Jackson (Orlando, Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 12-Play (Audio CD)
12 Play is the debut album from R. Kelly. This album is great if you love R&B and sexual themes.

"Your Body's Callin", "Bump N' Grind", "Homie Lover Friend", "Summer Bunnies", "12 Play" and "Sadie" are my favorite songs. The rest of the album is good too.

R. Kelly has a very strong voice and he produces, writes and arranges all of his music which makes him a very versatile artist.

If your just getting into R. Kelly, I recommend these:

Chocolate Factory

TP-2.com

R.

The R In R&B Collection, Vol. 1

R. Kelly

Happy People/U Saved Me

and Robert's new album, TP-3 Reloaded is real good. Songs on that album that I recommend listening to are: "Playa's Only", all of the "Trapped In The Closet" chapters, "Remote Control", "Sex Weed" and "Sex In The Kitchen".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous debut album, January 5, 2011
By 
KDA26 (Toronto,CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 12 Play (MP3 Music)
If you are a fan of R&B music there is no way you can give this album less than 5 stars. It's a classic. The crazy thing is it's not even R. Kelly's best album. That honour belongs to his self titled 1995 release.

12 Play boasts the smash hits Your Body's Callin and Bump N Grind. But it also includes other quality tracks like Summer Bunnies, Sex Me and It Seems Like Your Ready. There is also a great tribute song called Sadie which is a nice change up from the sexually charged theme of the album.

This album really launched the career of R. Kelly and put him on the map as one of the powerhouse r&b acts of the 1990's and early 2000's. High recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Baby Makin CD Of All Time, July 19, 2007
By 
K. Mcneal "K M" (Houston,Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 12-Play (Audio CD)
There's nothing bad I can say about this album.R Kelly is a musical genius.If you're looking for an album to make love off of ,this is the one.''12 Play'' is the best sex album of all time.I've nothing else to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good solo debut, January 17, 2001
This review is from: 12-Play (Audio CD)
R. Kelly is a master of taking a completely juvenile, sexual song title like "I Like the Crotch on You" and flipping it with his smooth voice into some kind of bizarre love song. "12 Play," his first album without the assistance of Public Announcement, proves that he could hold his own rolling solo. And while it isn't as polished or as popular as his later hit-making LPs, it's a solid release nonetheless.
The album kicks off with the smooth-groovin' "Your Body's Callin'." From there it's on the hit single "Bump-N-Grind," the hip-hop-inflected "Homie Lover Friend," and the first of many slow, sticky ballads, "It Seems Like You're Ready."
The back half of the album has most of the better songs. Tracks like the flossy "Summer Bunnies" and the uptempo "Back to the Hood of Things" are perfect for riding around on a hot summer's day, watchin' honeys. Also, "Sex Me, Pts. I & II" succeeds, despite the fact that it's one song followed IMMEDIATELY by a remix of the exact same song. That was kind of a bone-headed move on the part of the producer, but it works, nonetheless.
However, the pinnacle of the album comes in the form of a complete departure from the rest of the album. "Sadie," an ode to Kelly's mother, is a beautiful mid-tempo ballad that makes you forget that he spent the rest of the album trying to get in your woman's panties.
All in all, the sound of this album is a little dated. It's definitely early '90s R&B with some hip-hop thrown in for effect. But it was a step towards defining the R&B giant that would soon be R. "I Wish I Could Fly" Kelly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars R. Kelly invents himself on 2nd album., October 3, 2005
By 
Mikeisha Best (Mitchellville, Maryland United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 12-Play (Audio CD)
He's Kels, he's the R in R&B, he's R, R. Kelly, and Robert Kelly. And this, ladies and gentlemen, is the album that made him. It's called "12 Play". It was released in 1993, which was a very good year for Kelly. This is a must have album for any R&B fan, because R. Kelly did such a great job.

I enjoy listening to this album, the slower songs in particular. In fact, the faster songs sound very dated, and they are the key reason I could only give this album 3 stars. If this album was built on only his slower, sexier stars, it would easily be 5 stars. "Homie Lover Friend", and "Freak Dat Body" are examples of the dated material I am speaking of. Here, Kelly tries to rap, when, clearly, his forte is singing and producing. "Summer Bunnies" is the only up tempo song that is good. This is a very sexually driven piece of work, but that's alright, because R. Kelly is sexy and he knows how to croon. Well, he's a little more blatant than his colleagues like Jaheim, Donell Jones and Tevin Campbell. "Sex Me", "12 Play", "Your Body's Calling" and "Seems Like Your Ready" are so sensual, they would set the mood perfectly for a romantic evening.

Overall, this is a nice album and I recommend it to all!

Mikeisha's Top 5

1. Bump N Grind

2. Your Body's Calling

3. Sadie

4. Summer Bunnies

5. 12 Play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 12 Play Is the greatest, March 10, 2010
By 
Minnette Osborne (Lafayette, Indiana) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 12-Play (Audio CD)
I am a 45 year old mother of 4, I love music but I love R.Kelly his music well his early music just takes me back to Chicago the summer of 1992 so me getting 12 play at a low price was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When R Kelly was king part 1, February 11, 2009
This review is from: 12-Play (Audio CD)
Born Into The 90s by Public Announcement introduced R Kelly to the world. R Kelly later felt he needed to branch out and do his own solo thing. Smart move because he has been on the rise afterwards. Say what you will about R Kelly but he contributed immensely to R&B and we have to give credit where it is due. A lot of these groups now are inspired by him(as much as some of them wont admit it).

Your Body's Callin and Bump 'N Grind(yeah I said it, the hell with corny a** VH1 and Blender ragazine), Its Seems Like Your Ready, For You, Sex Me(parts 1&2) and the title track are what R Kelly excels at: the slow jams. He does fairly well on fast grooves like Summer Bunnies and Homie Lover Friend. Sadie is the best farewell song to a mother that I've ever heard(his mother had passed on). As much as I like this album I cant give it five stars. I Like The Crotch On You is laughably cheesy. Freak Dat Body has a slammin beat and nothing else and Back To The Hood Of Things should have never been attempted as R Kelly busts cornball verses like /"For real yo, you making me nervous/ and Im about to knock you in your teefes/(!!????!!!!).

Regardless of these missteps 12 Play is still a great album by a guy who didnt start making questionable releases until the 2000. R Kelly is one of the artists that defined 90s R&B so you would do well to have this album.

Standouts: YOUR BODY'S CALLIN, BUMP 'N GRIND, IT SEEMS LIKE YOU'RE READY, SUMMER BUNNIES, FOR YOU, SADIE, SEX ME(part 1&2) AND 12 PLAY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

12-Play
12-Play by R. Kelly (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.