Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good zombie flick
This movie reminds me of a cross between cabin fever, evil dead, and CSI or something. If you're into blood and guts then it's got you covered. If you like evil ghoulish creatures, you're in luck. And if you like CSI then it's not really that interesting, but you get the point. The plot is sort of lost a little but the practical effects make up for it. It's pretty gross...
Published 16 months ago by Zach

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars for a B movie.
As far as Zombie movies go 13's scenario has been played out again and again and again. Same sandwich just different bread. The only reason I gave this movie 3 stars was due to it's believable makeup and special effects. They were very well thought out and real looking. The one thing you rarely find in B movies usually due to lower budgets. Rent on a night when you...
Published 20 months ago by Route66Review


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars for a B movie., April 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 13 Eerie (Amazon Instant Video)
As far as Zombie movies go 13's scenario has been played out again and again and again. Same sandwich just different bread. The only reason I gave this movie 3 stars was due to it's believable makeup and special effects. They were very well thought out and real looking. The one thing you rarely find in B movies usually due to lower budgets. Rent on a night when you can't decide what you want to see and are getting sick of scrolling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A By-The-Numbers Horror Effort That Strands A Likable Cast With Relatively No Story, March 27, 2013
This review is from: 13 Eerie (DVD)
The Canadian horror movie "13 Eerie" is a bit of a throw back to old school horror films. It strands an attractive cast in a desolate location with a preposterous premise and then starts to pick them off one at a time. There are some good effects, some cheesy make-up, and plenty of escalating gore. In some ways, I want to reward the movie for being exactly what it wants to be. It doesn't have lofty goals or ambitions. It just wants to provide some scares and entertainment. On the other hand, there is no pretext of a story and barely any characterizations. A contrived set-up leads to a situation that you've seen a hundred times before, and oftentimes better. I wanted something to really make this stand out from the overcrowded pack! What "13 Eerie" has is a cast of fairly recognizable (and even likable) faces. This better than average cast includes Katherine Isabelle, Michael Shanks, Brendan Fehr, Brendan Fletcher, Jesse Moss and Nick Moran. All have scored in other film and TV projects, so I'm not sure why the screenplay spent so little time actually creating people you might want to know and/or care about. And in the end, the characters became relatively interchangeable and I wasn't invested in the body count or who might or might not survive.

The movie has a grisly (although incredibly silly) premise. Six undergrads in a forensics program are taking a field test to qualify for a position with the FBI. Their instructor, an appropriately brusque Shanks, sets up three test sites with actual carnage. Nice. Of course, due to health concerns, this disgusting exam has to be set up in an abandoned prison where rumors of horrible genetic experiments have set tongues wagging. Naturally. Let's just say that something is still around and it's hungry. Why would someone bring a buffet of young flesh if it wasn't meant to be eaten? The creatures are genetically altered, I suppose, but also react like typical zombies. It's not a particularly well thought out (or explained) mythology, you just kind of have to go with it. The movie takes a while to get going, but about half way through--things really start to escalate.

I guess that's my biggest complaint. Only the adults (represented by the instructor and the caretaker) feel distinct. If the movie was going to employ a slow build strategy, that's a good time to get the audience to invest in the characters. When the kids start fighting for their lives, I wanted to feel a part of the action. I honestly didn't care who lived or died. The movie does commit to a relentless wackiness that makes the second half much better. But still, nothing feels unique. This has a nostalgic quality and an old-fashioned presentation that are pleasing enough. If you had a chance to see this for free and you're into this genre, I'd say go for it. But it's a little harder to recommend this as a DVD purchase. I've watched it once, I probably won't revisit it anytime soon. About 2 1/2 stars. I'll round up due to the fact that I genuinely like the actors. KGHarris, 3/13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate but vague, May 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 13 Eerie (Amazon Instant Video)
I may have missed it, but the movie doesn't explain itself very well. It is based on the Zombie mythos and the effects it would have on a body farm. For those of you who don't know what a body farm is (and this is where the movie doesn't tell you much), it is a place where corpses are placed in different situations and monitored for decomposition rates in heat, cold, insects, and other situations. The data is used in forensic pathology when the CSI people discover a corpse and try to establish when the person was killed as well as various other information. These gruesome places actually exist and there is a book called the Body Farm, which was established in 1980 by Dr. William Bass, that you can read if you want to know more (its a well written and horrific book).
The idea of these poor victims reanimating and causing havoc is a good one and much could be made use of in a original zombie movie, especially if they could somehow retain memories of their murder. This movie, however, is not it. This movie hovers in the mediocre "watch for fun but don't count on anything new" category.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good zombie flick, August 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 13 Eerie (Amazon Instant Video)
This movie reminds me of a cross between cabin fever, evil dead, and CSI or something. If you're into blood and guts then it's got you covered. If you like evil ghoulish creatures, you're in luck. And if you like CSI then it's not really that interesting, but you get the point. The plot is sort of lost a little but the practical effects make up for it. It's pretty gross at times too so that's a plus. The gore is similar to the new remake of The Evil Dead so it's pretty good. I like how realistic the zombies/ghouls were, well except for one specific one that looked a little too much like he worked out all the time. Other than a dry plot and Arnold Swaurtzeghoulishzombie, I liked it. Definitely a rent at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, terrible title., August 1, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I only heard of this movie because several members of the cast are people that I like. Katharine Isabelle (Ginger Snaps), Michael Shanks (Stargate) Brendan Fehr (Roswell). Being a huge zombie fan didn't hurt either. Low budget zombie flick with really good creature effects. A group of people stranded in a very out of the way place and the dead get up and chase them around. It's actually better than that. Good fun on a budget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cheesey in a good way, June 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 13 Eerie (Amazon Instant Video)
If you are a big horror fan and can't help but love a little cheese in your life, you will enjoy this. I think its adorable and I absolutely love anything Kathrine Isabelle is in which mostly consist of cheesy gore. If you looking for a true horror, edge of your seat, pee a little movie, this one is not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, February 19, 2014
By 
K. Scarritt "Cenobitetx" (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 13 Eerie (DVD)
Not perfect, nor necessarily original, but makes excellent use of the creepy intensity of its location and the premise that is reminiscent of Shock Waves, as well as the cast making good work out of slim written characters. Katharine Isabelle, the two Brandons and Michael Shanks do well. The ghouls are more dangerous and complex than your average zombie. Enjoyable for what it is, a zombie tale of the old style school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars YUCK, July 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 13 Eerie (Amazon Instant Video)
No real plot weird acting zombies. Not at all scary. Definitely not a horror flick. I will not rent it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a thriller, but not a complete wash out movie., April 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 13 Eerie (Amazon Instant Video)
The acting on the most part is good. The movie itself, somewhat predictable - as 1 reviewer stated: Same sandwich just different bread. LOL, I like that as it says it all. It is entertaining just don't expect a lot of gore or surprise. It's worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wow..umm..., April 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 13 Eerie (Amazon Instant Video)
Garbage, there isn't much else to say. Just another film full of educated idiots ignoring logic and practically working to get themselves killed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

13 Eerie
13 Eerie by Lowell Dean
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.