Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Valentine's Day Cards Knock snow out cold Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now Sale

Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$20.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 7, 2011
Some beautiful photos and interesting ideas, but again almost no written details. Will use for inspiration for design, but will have to refer to technical books for any real information on the how and why the passive/active techniques work.
0Comment35 of 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2011
150 Best Eco House Ideas by Marta Serrats is a beautifully crafted book with lots of photographs. As a green designer, I always read books in my field and am delighted to report that this one did not disappoint. I have found many people to be daunted at the prospect of building green....how to do so, the costs, etc. This book makes doing so no longer a daunting task.

Photographs feature homes built by internationally recognized architects and designers...there are some real beauties in this book.

The book covers the heating and cooling systems in a home, including geothermal, wind, solar and passive solar. It also covers green materials to use throughout your home, from glass, to building materials and eco-friendly insulation. How to select sustainable materials, what flooring, wall coverings and much more.

The book also explains how materials that aren't green affect the environment and make for poor indoor air quality.

150 Best Eco House ideas makes going green a no-brainer....healthy for you and the environment.

As a green designer, I also recommend HARMONIOUS ENVIRONMENT to help make green and stylish choices in furniture, accessories and cleaning products.

Highly recommend!
22 comments33 of 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2011
I've purchased other books in this series and have been happy with the variety of homes shown. However, this book was disappointing in that the same design details were shown more than enough. Homes with wooden slat walls or dividers were constantly repeated throughout the book. Not much was said for the write ups on green-friendly building materials. The last section included random furnishings that had nothing to really contribute to the theme of the book.
0Comment28 of 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2012
I'll start off with the good aspects of this book.
-cheap
-easy read
-interesting designs
now the negative
- might as well just do a Google image search because its just pretty much just pictures.
- Doesn't really help those who are looking to build.
Its not a bad book but there is no more useful information in it then any green living website.
0Comment18 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2013
This book has beautiful photography. I find the information about eco principles is very brief and the snippets don't relate clearly to the photographs. I was expecting to get photographs with explanatory notes on how the eco ideas were utilised in the designs. There are plans included but they are so small I have difficulty reading them. Recommended for the photography, but this is not an instructional book on eco principles.
0Comment12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2013
I'm really sorry, but I have to say that while I understand the concept behind this book, it falls well short of the mark from my point of view. The photography is of acceptable quality, but really for the amount of detail shown in them, they're really too small. This may be the fault of the publisher, not the author, because the physical size is really to small to display the photographs properly. There is a real lack of detailed text about each house, and the illustrations also suffer the same fate as the photographs- they're too small, and I would have appreciated much more detail in them. Personally I would have preferred a "50" or "75 Best Eco House Ideas" in a larger form factor with much more detail about each house, than what this is- an undersized, detail-lacking coffee table book.
0Comment14 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2013
This book has a few really good ideas in with other "look at me" presentations. Fortunately the really good ideas are worth the read, but it is not really for most people looking for inspiration for an inexpensive modern home.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2015
Nice images, small book, not much info on the homes. If there is a diagram or layout it's so small it's hardly legible.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2013
Nice book on architecture......some of the 1000 tips are pretty weak. Too many pictures on a page, I can't really see many of them very well becausethey are small. I do have bifocals but they don't help enough. 150 Best Eco book has big pictures I can see.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2013
Great for dreaming to as you flick through the pages but difficult to replicate many of the ideas without a big budget.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.