Buy New
$9.99
Qty:1
  • List Price: $12.99
  • Save: $3.00 (23%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
150 Shades of Play: A Beg... has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

150 Shades of Play: A Beginner's Guide to Kink Paperback – December 6, 2012


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback, December 6, 2012
"Please retry"
$9.99
$7.41 $7.93



Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Em & Lo, the Emily Posts of the modern bedroom, have penned six books on the topics of sex & love, including "Sex: How to Do Everything," which the Guardian named one of the best 10 sex guides of all time, alongside The Kama Sutra. They’ve written features for Glamour, Details, and Marie Claire, among others; and have penned columns for New York, the Guardian, and Men’s Journal. The duo dish about love and lovin’ on their daily advice blog, EMandLO.com.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 228 pages
  • Publisher: Better Half Books; 1 edition (December 6, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 061573510X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0615735108
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 0.6 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 12.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (32 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #40,922 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful By L. Gallinaro on August 30, 2013
Verified Purchase
So the first thing you need to know is that this is a dictionary. A bedroom reference guide for kinky stuff. The first 6 or 7 pages are what you would expect; A narrative on the value of kinky play. The rest of book is an alphabetical reference guide to various terms. Everything you can imagine is defined here. The reason I think this is important is that it's not really the kind of book that lends itself to being read from cover to cover. It's just a series of terms and definitions.
The reason I still gave it 4 stars is that the definitions aren't boring. They are well written, in some cases humorous, and they don't pull any punches. They tell you exactly what it is and what to do. It's not really a "guide", it's more of a reference book. You want to know what a ballgag is and how to use one? It's in there. Restraints? Yup. Genital Torture? Yup. It's in there too.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful By jennla on December 18, 2012
Em & Lo are irreverent, smart and funny feminists out to demystify the world of kink. Best of all, I caught up on all the juicy info and how-tos without enduring the pain of reading a single page of the Fifty Shades trilogy! Smartly written in an A-Z dictionary style with the book's other terms usefully bolded throughout. Also loved the sometime hilarious illustrations.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful By jamie kibelatrix on December 17, 2012
This is a great, funny, compendium to the 50 Shades of Grey books. A perfect introduction to the world of kink.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By ZCougar on November 27, 2013
Verified Purchase
Yes, I've only just begun reading this book and it has already clarified the protection and safety issues with kink. I already have a pretty good handle on BD/SM and think this book will offer me some expansion of ideas. Like I said I've just started it. SO far I like how the author conveys the information. The levity used is a great avenue to enjoy while learning!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Greg J on September 11, 2013
Verified Purchase
This is an alphabetical list of kinky terms with a definition or explanation of each. Lots of info here for people new to this.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By CJSmash on December 23, 2012
I confess that I didn't actually finish 50 Shades of Grey, but I did finish this fun and sexy book. It is funny, informed, and entertaining. I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in exploring the world of kink.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Elaine DiRico on December 28, 2012
I was blessed to receive a recording of the tv series that these two did for BBC, and as much as I love their writing, they are even better on video. But this book is their Opus-Empowering, non-judgemental, informative, and funny. Everything I want in a pillow book!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful By SylviaCarmella on December 22, 2012
This book is entertaining and a lot of fun. Perfect for fans of Fifty Shades...only way more empowering. I like that Em and Lo focus on safety and comfort. Even if you don't think kink is for you try reading this book anyway...there really is something for everyone.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Frequently Bought Together

150 Shades of Play: A Beginner's Guide to Kink + 131 Dirty Talk Examples: Learn How To Talk Dirty with These Simple Phrases That Drive Your Lover Wild & Beg You For Sex Tonight + Make Her Orgasm Again and Again: 48 Simple Tips & Tricks to Give Her Mind-Blowing, Explosive, Full-Body Orgasm After Orgasm, Night After Night
Price for all three: $26.25

Buy the selected items together