Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS SLR Lens * above f/5.6? I recently bought the Rebel XSi that came with this 18-55mm lense. Since i'm still learning about what the camera can do, can someone help me out on fully understanding the limits of various lenses? If I'm taking a pic, and use the Aperture AV mode set to f8 or higher, how does that work when the lense says f/3.5-5-6? Is it a setting that will not be a true f8+ since the lense is limited to f5.6? As i've experimented with the camera, it's been very hard getting tack sharp images, even on a tripod. I finally disabled the automatic sharpening options, but have not tested the results to see if shots are any sharper. Also, a reviewer of this lense here, said to turn off the IS if the camera is on a tripod. But they didn't say why to turn it off, so i'm left assuming it's for sharper images. Thanks for any info!
asked by Mama Red on March 26, 2009
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-3 of 3 answers
A
That is the maximum (lowest number) aperature the lens can offer, not the minimum (highest number). The reason it is a range is because the maximum aperature will vary depending whether you are at 18mm or 55mm or somewhere inbetween. You will be able to set it to f/8 (or f/11 or whatever) at any focal length.
John Adams answered on April 20, 2009
Comment | 4 of 4 found this helpful. Do you?  Yes No | Report abuse

A
how can automatic sharpening not produce tack sharp images? I mean with a tripod and IS on why doesn't tack sharp images come about? I am thinking of buying this lens for a rebel xti that I just got. any help appreciate
Eric Flescher answered on June 30, 2009
Comment (1) | Do you find this helpful?  Yes No | Report abuse

A