Customer Reviews


231 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great and HYSTERICAL !
I think Mike from Chicago had one too many baby back ribs. This movie is hysterical. Speilberg directed a comedy classic, and with Belushi, Aykroyd, and John Candy this comedy is of the 5-star variety.
One of the funniest movies ever made !
Hey Mike, get a sense of humor, and then watch this again. Maybe you'll laugh like the rest of us !
Published on May 10, 2000

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 1941...It's A Mad,Mad,Mad War!
This 1979 WWII comedy spectacle bombed when it first released but its not as bad as its reputation suggests. Steven Spielberg's direction in this movie can be compared to some of the type of direction of today's big budget films (i.e Armageddon). The movie is noteworthy for the fact that it boasts an all-star cast including Tishiro Mifune, Christopher Lee (as a German...
Published on January 29, 2002 by Yendor


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great and HYSTERICAL !, May 10, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: 1941 (Collector's Edition) (DVD)
I think Mike from Chicago had one too many baby back ribs. This movie is hysterical. Speilberg directed a comedy classic, and with Belushi, Aykroyd, and John Candy this comedy is of the 5-star variety.
One of the funniest movies ever made !
Hey Mike, get a sense of humor, and then watch this again. Maybe you'll laugh like the rest of us !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 1941...It's A Mad,Mad,Mad War!, January 29, 2002
By 
Yendor "sknayfan" (Gilroy, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1941 (Collector's Edition) (DVD)
This 1979 WWII comedy spectacle bombed when it first released but its not as bad as its reputation suggests. Steven Spielberg's direction in this movie can be compared to some of the type of direction of today's big budget films (i.e Armageddon). The movie is noteworthy for the fact that it boasts an all-star cast including Tishiro Mifune, Christopher Lee (as a German officer on board the Japanese sub as a guest), stars from SNL, Second City, and stars from tv sitcoms of the 1970's. Also, it's one of the few movies John Belushi did before his untimely death. There are a lot of people screaming, great special effects and stunts, and some outrageous characters. The plot is mainly about a Japanese submarine that is off course, arriving in the L.A. harbor, and causing hysteria among the L.A residences. With that, there are related subplots such as Belushi's Wild Bill Kelso flying an airplane to L.A. and Ned Beatty's Ward Douglas receiving an anti-aircraft gun from the army to be placed on his beachfront backyard. Some standout supporting performances from Bobby Di Cicco as Wally Stephens, an unlisted man whose only joy is to dance in his zoot suit, and Dianne Kay (from TV's EIGHT IS ENOUGH) as his girlfriend. These two (along with Robert Stack as General Stillwell) are the "calm in the hurricane" or the only sane people in this movie. The rest are all too cartoony and over the top. This is the type of movie to watch as background noise if you are doing other things like writing your bills, doing your homework, or surfing the net. You can look up occasionally to catch something for a chuckle or two.
Note: Back in 1979, Dan Ackroyed must have been embarassed by this movie. In movie ads and posters released after this film, his face is removed from the original movie poster and replaced with someone else's face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Animal House" meets "Tora, Tora, Tora!", July 26, 2004
This review is from: 1941 (Collector's Edition) (DVD)
The reverential tone Steven Spielberg has taken lately with World War II as evident in "Schindler's List" and "Saving Private Ryan" (in addition to the 1987 boys' adventure "Empire Of The Sun") is nowhere to be found in this largely panned yet outrageously entertaining screwball comedy that would have done Blake Edwards proud.

Based loosely on events that actually occurred stateside during World War II (specifically the sighting of a Japanese submarine off the coast of California and the infamous "zoot suit riots" among day-glo dressed street hoods and servicemen), this movie pays tribute to the paranoia that gripped the West Coast in the days following the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor in December 1941. Notoriously overbudget, this film was considered the "Waterworld" of its day, with the obvious difference being that it took itself not the least bit seriously. It was Spielberg's much-expected flop in the wake of "Jaws" and "Close Encounters Of The Third Kind"...but did it deserve to be?

An able cast of comedic talent headlined by the incomparable John Belushi and Dan Aykroyd with up-and-coming SCTV alumnus John Candy and recent "Animal House" veteran Tim Matheson supported ably by character actors Ned Beatty, Robert Stack, Treat Williams, and Lorraine Gary and all-time good ol' boy Slim Pickens on one side...and veteran Hammer Films horror star Christopher Lee slumming with Akira Kurosawa's number-one samurai Toshiro Mifune and the crew of a Japanese submarine with faulty navigational equipment on the other.

It is an all-star cast performing well up to its own high standard in what would be the most unusual twist on war since "Hogan's Heroes"...mainly the notion that this tragedy which brought so much pain and sorrow to the entire world could in fact be something that, in the right hands, could be uproariously funny. Spielberg's fingerprints are of course ubiquitous; the use of children, the collaboration with John Williams, breakaway stuntwork, special effects and well-designed set pieces...but it is the actors that make this movie work, particularly John Belushi who, like Brad Pitt in movies like "Thelma & Louise", "True Romance", and "Snatch" manages to steal completely a movie in which he actually has very little face time. All the actors are encouraged to play to their strengths, and the ability to "pay no attention to that man behind the curtain" (i.e., remember than none of this ever happened and that this is a comedy, not a documentary...Michael Moore, are you listening?) will enable the viewer some deep bellylaughs and some time well-spent viewing the bonus features which attempt to explain just WHY this is one of Spielberg's least understood or appreciated films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An underrated classic, April 15, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: 1941 (Collector's Edition) (DVD)
Since 1941 is one of my all-time favorite movies,it was with great anticipation that I purchased the DVD. The supplemental material is exhaustive and fascinating, well worth the price of the DVD alone, but I was extremely disappointed in the sound and picture quality. Having seen 1941 in it's previous incarnations on VHS and laserdisc, I was eagerly looking forward to seeing how it looked on DVD. While the picture quality is somewhat improved over the laserdisc (slightly sharper picture and brighter colors) the overall look of the film is still hazy and washed-out (although, having viewed the 'making of' documentary, I discovered that Spielberg and his cinematographer may have intentionally been going for that look, since they used a lot of smoke throughout filming, to give it a feeling of having stepped back in time to another era.) As for the sound quality, this is where I was most disappointed. The laserdisc was THX certified, and the sound effects and music score had a nice, expansive quality to them to which the DVD cannot hold a candle. As for the movie itself, what can I say that hasn't already been beaten into the ground over the past 21 years? I agree that the movie really isn't that funny. What I enjoy so much about this movie, and I think most people who like this movie will agree with me, is how brilliantly crafted the movie is. Everything---the sets, the costumes, the special effects, the editing, the score---is first-rate. The film is consistently dazzling to look at. And to see most of Los Angeles get demolished in such a spectacular way---well, call me crazy, but I get a vicarious thrill out of it it all. Best scenes: the dogfight over Hollywood Blvd.; the jitterbug contest that turns into a riot; Lorraine Gary staring in helpless disbelief as husband Ned Beatty destroys their home with an anti-aircraft gun; Treat Williams and Wendi Jo Sperber in a runaway motorcycle side-car; the list goes on and on. The disc rates five stars for content, but I'm knocking it down to four stars due to the poor sound/picture quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Director's cut makes ALL the difference!, September 7, 2000
This review is from: 1941 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
"1941" is not a simple farce, but a hilarious, carefully constructed, and well-targeted screwball comedy. The Seventies were short on these -- "What's Up, Doc?" comes to mind, but almost nothing else. Steven Spielberg really did bake a comic souffle, with almost every "SNL" and "SCTV" veteran and character actor he could find to keep it lively.
You couldn't tell that any of this was coherently told, though, until now. The widescreen VHS (and DVD) versions add 26 minutes of footage, and it all is worth watching. It turns what others have called a mere "scream-fest" into its own demented, alternate world-for-a-day, hemmed in by comic paranoia.
Other reviews have noted that this story took from historical events, such as an actual appearance of a Japanese sub, and the "zoot suit" riots of the following year. But what hasn't been noted are the comic rhythms that Spielberg was trying to use. They simply weren't visible until now.
Not only does the restored version put back over 20 minutes of one of John Williams's wittiest scores, but several items that were repeated throughout the film get those repetitions back. This makes all the difference for comic effect. The earlier video version was funny, but left you tired. This one, though, leaves you wrung out from being swept up in it ... and that's a much more satisfying feeling.
Here are some of the items that gain comic brilliance through many more witty and well-placed repetitions, only now restored in this director's cut:
"If there's one thing I can't stand, it's Americans fighting Americans." ~ "I hate eggs." ~ The RKO Pictures talent scout. ~ "Just a case of war nerves." ~ The two USO girls' manhunting. ~ "This will NEVER work." ~ White vs. black on the tank crew (not that pleasant to see, but historically accurate, and damn funny). ~ "Dumbo," adjective and film. ~ "Deep in the Heart of Texas," sung (!) by John Belushi at hilarious moments (and kept out of the video until now due to copyright problems).
Some scenes and characters only make sense with the added footage:
Wally, the zoot-suiter, hiding in the rafters of the garage, a perfectly built "topper" gag. ~ Why the zoot-suiters are around that night, for that matter. ~ Wally being "other side of the tracks" and proving himself in battle on Hollywood Boulevard. ~ Cpl. Sitarsky's easily triggered rage. ~ The tank crew, again. ~ Beginning-and-ending gags about "tearing out some walls." ~ How and why the two Civil Defense guys on the ferris wheel drive each other crazy. ~ Tim Matheson's airborne seduction.
It isn't the same film that had appeared before on video, that's all there is to it. The night-and-day difference in repeated comic elements, alone, is worth five stars. I only deduct one for the same thing that drove me crazy in the theater 20 years ago: Too many explosions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Not-So-Guilty Pleasure, May 21, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: 1941 (Collector's Edition) (DVD)
I didn't see 1941 when it came out in theaters, because I believed the generally negative reviews it received at the time. I've been kicking myself ever since for never having had the experience of seeing it on the big screen, because that's where all this beautifully-crafted insanity would really shine.
1941's brilliant ensemble cast, daring director, and hard-working crew, including special-effects wizard Greg Jein, combined their talents to take viewers back to the opening days of World War II, to a comedic fantasy California in a '41 that never quite was. It has been criticized for being fragmented (it was cut to shreds against director Spielberg's wishes), and lambasted for not being funny. Personally, I laugh my arse off every time I watch it. I'd call it a guilty pleasure, but I'm not at all guilty about loving it. This film has so many brilliant qualities in its writing, design, photography, sound, music, direction, and acting, that I think anyone who appreciates screen comedy should own a copy. Now that the special edition DVD has restored Mr. Spielberg's original intention to this film, I hope it finds a new and appreciative audience in addition to those of us who have loved it for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn to Laugh, November 14, 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1941 (Collector's Edition) (DVD)
OK, OK, I admit this movie is a bit sophmoric, but if that worked in 'Animal House', why can't it work here? I loved this movie, and those who are overly critical of it need to realize that simple humor does work. Notice I said 'simple' and not 'stupid', which in light of recent box office releases such as 'Jackass' seem to be somewhat popular.
What makes this movie more poignant is September 11th. Now, I know it isn't good form to make fun of the recent terrorist attacks, but the reaction by the US mirrors the events following the attack on Pearl Harbor, which this film makes fun of. Trust me, I am in the US military, and people we racking their brains in trying to guess what, where and how the next attack would occur. I read reports of people in small towns in west central Texas thinking they would be the next target. It was the same paranoia that occurred after December 7th.
I don't advocate taking terrorism any less serious, nor do I want to downplay the heroic actions of those in NYC, the Pentagon, or on the plane that crashed in Pennsylvania; but we spun ourselves through the roof (and still do) with a "ready, fire, aim" mentality. Panic does not help, and the best thing to do is cool down and think clearly. I think this films shows us how ridiculous "war nerves" can make us all! Well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Ahhhhhh, Dumbo", November 8, 1999
This review is from: 1941 (Collector's Edition) (DVD)
I am sorry to hear that so many people did not like this film. It would have to be one of my all time favorites. Yah, there's a lot of screaming. Yah, there's a lot of running around. Yah, there's a lot of overacting, but this is what makes it so great. No thinking needed. A wonderful sit down-eat a snack-drink a beverage of your choice movie. Don't expect a high quality movie, but do expect a comedy that can leave you laughing. Some great names in there as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spastically Funny!, September 16, 2000
By 
Darren (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1941 (Collector's Edition) (DVD)
This is undisputably the most hilarious movie I've ever seen! It starts off with sporatical spurts of poignant humor, the intervals further apart at first, then growing ever more intense and close together as the movie progresses.
It's a fantastical story of Hollywood, California in the first days following the bombing of Pearl Harbor in 1941. The paranoia of the military, the citizens, and various zealots combine gradually throughout course of the film, and climax to an explosive burst of pure comedy!
Watch this movie - you'll laugh til you have tears in your eyes - you'll bust a gut!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spielberg's biggest Flop,and my favorite film from him, June 6, 2000
By 
Bob Waskiewicz (Wintersville, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1941 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I just love this movie,I don't know what it is,but I can watch it anytime,and still see something new.There's just so much going on,your never bored.John Belushi really steals every scene he's in. The physical comedy of John's is missed alot. Dan Aykroyd is always fantastic.With his fast talking,and all of a sudden some word comes out that blows you away. I also enjoy Treat Williams and his hatred of Eggs. I also can't stand the taste,touch,or smell of an Eggs. I die laughing when the fairest wheel comes off,and rolls off the pier with the dummy screaming. This movie will live on forever,even though it was Spielbergs biggest flop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9d22f318)

This product

1941 (Collector's Edition)
1941 (Collector's Edition) by Steven Spielberg (DVD - 1999)
$14.98 $7.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.