Digital List Price: $9.99
Kindle Price: $7.99

Save $2.00 (20%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

1948 Kindle Edition

9 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$7.99

Length: 154 pages Word Wise: Enabled

The One I Was
The One I Was by Eliza Graham
A beautiful and haunting tale of friendship, redemption and forgiveness across generations. Learn more

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Wondrous, trenchant, disturbing. An excellent book. The unimpeded movement within the span of memory is daring and direct, subverts convention and shifts between dramatic power and lyrical refinement.” — The Sapir Prize Committee

1948 is a very fine book, outspoken and honest, without any personal or literary pretense. The years which have passed since 1948, between the bitter time when Kaniuk fought in the War of Independence and when his memories became a book, remind me of heavy rains which fall to earth, that gather, permeate, and filter through great layers of time and earth, waiting in darkness until they spurt into the light.” — Meir Shalev, Yedioth Ahronoth

1948 is the best book I’ve read in the past year. Kaniuk has used his writer’s pen to create one of the most important stories about Israel’s War of Independence… His voice is blunt, clear, loving and anguished.” — Motti Golani, Haaretz

"An experimentalist fond of the southerly wind of the long and longing sentence, he has rightly been compared with Borges and Marquez as much as with James Joyce." — Joshua Cohen, The Jewish Daily Foreward

"One of the masters of contemporary fiction [because of] his inordinate technical skill, fecundity of incident and character, and overall intensity." — Chicago Tribune

"If the prophets of the Old Testament had read Joyce, Kafka, Márquez, Conrad and Gershom Scholem, listened to American jazz, seen Broadway musicals and heard Lenny Bruce, they might have sounded something like Kaniuk." — Nicole Krauss, Time

"Of the novelists I have discovered in translation...the three for whom I have the greatest admiration are Gabriel García Márquez, Peter Handke, and Yoram Kaniuk." — Susan Sontag

"A writer of remarkable gifts...highly original and richly complicated." — The New York Review of Books

Product Details

  • File Size: 1587 KB
  • Print Length: 154 pages
  • Publisher: NYRB LIT (November 27, 2012)
  • Publication Date: November 27, 2012
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0082Z8228
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #743,465 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Claude on July 5, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
In a terse style that keeps the story moving forward, in a way that makes it difficult to put the book aside, Yoram Kaniuk, a man who marches to the beat of his own drummer, recalls his fighting as an 18 year old during the Israeli War of Independence. Although a committed Zionist, he retained his sense of humanity under conditions that made it quite difficult at times. Evoked Remarque's "All's Quiet On The Western Front" to me. I loved this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Betsy Budne on June 26, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
Images that will long remain with me. A deeply moving, intelligent vision. New understanding. Thank you Yoram Kaniuk. May peace be your applause.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Max Neiman on May 10, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is a highly personal account of a man's experience in Israel's war with the majority of its Arab inhabitants and neighboring countries, opposed to the imminent and subsequent creation of the state of Israel. It really doesn't have an ideological agenda. Its emphasis is almost entirely on the unique mix of men and women who were sucked into the maelstrom of hatred and violence and love that attends war. Naturally there is a unique blend personalities, backgrounds, and circumstances because of the time and the place -- the aftermath of the Holocaust, the "Holy Land," and the issues associated with displaced Arabs caught up in the tide of Jewish history and in the conflict between the histories of different people. It's a sad and very individual and heartbreaking story, well told and beautifully written.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
It is an interesting novel with insight into about the mindset of young soldiers in a beleagered fledgling state and how they adjust to day-to-day upsets and events. It is written by someone who participated who has a literary gift.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Yoran Kaniuk writes in the tradition of Joesph Heller's, Catch-22. Both authors capture the "insanity" and even "boredom" of war. ln 1948 ,an "autobiographical novel" Kaniuk, recalls the fears and deeds of a barely trained high school soldier in the Palmach fighting for the Independence of Israel., In Catch-22, Heller, who served on bombers in World War II, described the goals of the bombing pilots---to survive despite the absurdity of the rules of war.

From an individual level 1948, like Catch-22 is successful. However, both books in a larger sense fail because there is no discussion of the alternatives to this individual insanity and boredom, the possible defeat of Israel as an independent country and the defeat of the Allies in World war II.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?