Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great truck game
this is pretty much in my opinion the most realistic trucking game out there anybody that is a trucker or likes trucks should have and play this realistic trucking game
Published 24 months ago by trucker jacob

versus
30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could of been a hit!
After many years in development and missed release dates, Rig n Roll was finally released. With a passing interest in truck driving, tycoon genre, and/or simulation, 18 Wheels of Steel fans (who might be disappointed with the way Extreme Trucking direction went and for those looking for something more than American Long Haul) may see this as a challenge to the truck...
Published on August 19, 2010 by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could of been a hit!, August 19, 2010
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rig and Roll - PC (DVD-ROM)
After many years in development and missed release dates, Rig n Roll was finally released. With a passing interest in truck driving, tycoon genre, and/or simulation, 18 Wheels of Steel fans (who might be disappointed with the way Extreme Trucking direction went and for those looking for something more than American Long Haul) may see this as a challenge to the truck driving sims namely the 18 Wheels of Steel franchise. It's a different take on a business sim/trucking game. I was a fan of all the 18 Wheels of Steels games with the exception of Extreme truckers ( because of its new direction which I didn't like) and Big City Rigs which was just god-awful!

Rig n Roll was billed as a truck driving sim tycoon game taking place only in the state of California with one city in Nevada. You are a truck driver for a company that you own. You choose what to haul as there are different types of goods ranging from fruit to cars. You start off with a basic rig that you can upgrade. At your company, you can also tradein your truck for a much better one. For the most part, all of this takes place in California. On a side note, it looks like Las Vegas (in Nevada) might be added in the Fall as some billboards on the freeways are hinting. The Rignroll, website still hasn't been updated since the game was released. This drives me insane as I would like to know if there are any updates and possible add-ons. You have to dig to find out that Las Vegas is in the works but no release date has been set. The graphics look very nice.The billboards look nice and realistic as do the roads also. You even have to play a toll at the Bay Bridge and Golden Gate Bridge; nice touch! I think I read when this game was in development, the game designers/developers went to California and mapped out the roads and drew the scenery. The developers of Wildlife Park 2 did the same thing (obviously at a zoo instead). Very nice! There is an interesting storyline in RignRoll with some interesting twists and turns. I won't divulge on it because I don't want to spoil it!

The graphics are very nice. I would say, better than the 18 WoS franchise. The streets, freeways, interstates look good. The map is not a good tool as it's not helpful (not useless, just not helpful. In 18 WoS; the map was terrific.In RnR, I found myself on dead ends which the map never hinted to. The same issue in 18 WoS Haulin and American Long Haul persists in Rig n Roll; empty cities with no people. There is a glaring omission in RnR. I cannot understand, comprehend, or understand why! WHERE ARE THE TRAFFIC LIGHTS? A game with nice graphics and designers who drive around California to map out the land, you would expect the traffic lights (as well as different types/shapes). I couldn't believe it. This makes for interesting intersections. No stop signs either. The rigs are nice and lifelike. A nice touch is when you go to a gas station (press enter when there) you get out of your rig and pump (as well as use a slider to either fill it up or as much as you want). The downside is that you have no control of your character, it's automatic. You can customize your rig (paint, engine, brakes, wheels, etc. The only place to accept a job is in the warehouse. Your company must have a contract with the warehouse you are at, or else you can't start a job such as hauling a harvester, rocket fuel etc. Some jobs involves you being in a race to a designated city (warehouse). Usually it's against 4 other rigs (the AI). When you reach the border (fence) of a warehouses, it is automated (very disappointing to see). You watch the rig (with or without cargo) automatically be driven into the warehouse and a crane automatically unhooks your load. Why can't I drive in the warehouse, perhaps get out, and use a crane to unhook my load? When you pick your job, the load is automatically placed on your rig and you are automatically driven out. You have to be careful, because when you reach the boundary of the warehouse you are on your own and sometimes if you aren't paying attention you could quickly crash. By the way, if you crash, there are nice visuals of your rig taking damage. Your rig looks hurt! Also, why in the world is there a key for, unhooking or hooking your load? You don't even get to attach (or detach) it to your rig. If you crash and your trailer falls off, that's one reason. Also, from time to time, you might get a phone call asking you to pick up a trailer. On your jobs screen, it does tell you how to get to your destination.

The traffic is nice. Strange that California is known for it's traffic, yet it seems very quiet in the game, no matter what time of the day that it is. To get the true California traffic, you need to move the traffic slider all the way right (yes there is a slider for traffic in the menu. The day/night timing is a nice touch. The police are weird. If you commit a infraction, it seems like the police always try to run you off the road, however, if you slow down, you get pulled over and arrested....almost always. I did drive on the wrong side of the road not knowing a police cruiser was behind me and I was ticketed. So that's good, not everytime is an arrest :) Driving is more real in RnR than the 18 WoS series. But, at least in the 18 WoS series, you back up at your destination and unload your cargo. In RnR, you either go to a designated spot (along the road) and unhook the trailer (while going (under 10mph) or reach the warehouse where you rwach the warehouse border and it's completely automated.

All and all, this is game is about 2.7 stars. You wonder with it in development for so long, you think, "this is it?" If this game improves, I would change this rating (simply by erasing this review and redoing it. As of right now, the best thing to do is to try the demo first. There is no life in the cities and when you reach your destination, it's pretty much automated; everything is almost automated. It is a nice touch to be able to get out of your truck and go into a diner, pump gas, fix your truck, and go to a motel. The only problem is that all of this is automated. you have no control (you have the option to fill as much gas as you need in your rig; it's a slider). The truck stops are nice but they are devoid of any action/people/other trucks in real time. At the truckstop, you can go into the diner and find work in the newspaper. When you play this game, you'll feel like this could of been a hit but it is a miss. Maybe in the future, if this game is supported, it could be a hit. Right now, it's got a lot of options to grow on and hopefully, it's supported. If you love truck sims, try the demo first. It might seem terrible at first, then it grows on you. I'm very close to erasing this review and upping the rating to about 3 stars although, as I said before, it's not quite there. If it's true, Las Vegas will be added, I will see how that goes as well as if anything else is added, ie. fixes, updates etc.

+ Scenery is very nice (better than 18 WoS)
+Truck interior and animations are nice
+Truck interior view is very nice/more accurate
+Cities dont all look the same
+Traffic is more realistic during the times of the day
+The AI won't crash into you, you have to be aware
+The police will pull you over if you commit a infraction if they are driving behind you. The police aren't static, they drive around.
+Good amount of cargo to haul
+Story mode is interesting
+Tutorial is nice
+Dolby Surround sound is nice
+ Guess what? When you drive up to a toll booth; you have to pay!
+The Truck Stops look very nice
+Good amount of options when upgrading your truck
+The radio is a nice touch; music actually isn't bad. I was tired of hearing," Anyone got the 10-13??" (from 18 WoS)
+ How fellow employees, businesses contact you and the talking business is a nice touch
+ The animation when filling your tank, going to the motel, getting something to eat, fixing/upgrading your truck is nice as is the animation of how your truck looks if you get into a crash
+ steering is more realistic
+shifting/use of clutch/going in reverse is more realistic
+ The truck stops are nice
+ Besides going to the warehouse, you can go to a truckstop and get out of your truck to go into a bar/diner to find jobs in the newspaper.

- I've been to several cities and I have seen absolutely no traffic signals. California with no traffic signals???? Very careless.
-The cities are void of people.
- Reaching your destination, at the warehouse is automated. You don't back your rig to the loading/unloading zone. When you reach the border of the warehouse, you are automatically taken in, point and click what you want to haul, and the trailer is automatically attacked to your rig.
-sometimes when your task sends you to a specific location (not the warehouse), the directions are very vague. Sometimes you have to pick up the trailer on the side of a freeway but you will not know specifically where until it pops up on the right side of your screen.
- Would be nice if you can actually drop off goods and pick up goods at the seaport and airport.
-Realism- No speed limit signs on the freeway
- The journal, info screen is not very helpful
- Would be nice to be able to control your character: pumping fuel, washing your rig, sleeping in a motel, talking to other truckers at a diner/restaurant, unloading/loading trailers in the warehouse or pickup point.
- Sometimes you can get arrested for what seems to be minor infractions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great truck game, December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rig and Roll - PC (DVD-ROM)
this is pretty much in my opinion the most realistic trucking game out there anybody that is a trucker or likes trucks should have and play this realistic trucking game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, July 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RignRoll [Download] (Software Download)
I downloaded this game a few days ago, which took about 2-3 hours. Graphics look really good and the game play is ok. Road signs look very realistic especially the service stations. What's cool is it's in cab views where you can either be the driver, right-side passenger or back seat. Really felt like I was driving on the Cali roads, esp. Bakersfield looking very similar in the game with the exits. The game won't start playing if your graphics are turned all the way up on a slow computer like mine. When I switched to my laptop the game crashes when hauling a load or two. Driving solo avoids that problem. This game would truly be great if the map is like 18 WOS series and more of a simulator instead of its arcade game play. Hopefully the next Rig N Roll game will come with other improvements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing, May 29, 2010
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RignRoll [Download] (Software Download)
After many years in development and missed release dates, Rig n Roll is finally released. Not as a boxed version, but as a download. With a passing interest in truck driving, tycoon genre, simulation, 18 Wheels of Steel fans may see this as a challenge to the truck driving sims namely the 18 Wheels of Steel franchise. I was a fan of all the 18 Wheels of Steels games with the exception of Extreme truckers. Big City Rigs was god-aweful!

Rig n Roll was billed as a truck driving sim tycoon type of game. You are a truck driver for a company in which you haul different types of goods ranging from fruit to cars. You start off with a basic rig and work your way up the ladder. All of this takes place in California. On a side note, it looks like Las Vegas (in Nevada) might be added in the Fall as some billboards on the freeways are hinting.

The graphics are pretty nice. The streets, freeways, interstates look good. The map is not a good tool. unlike in 18 WoS, it's not helpful. I found myself on dead ends which the map never hinted to. The same issue in 18 WoS Haulin and American Long Haul persists in Rig n Roll; empty cities with no people. Where are the traffic lights??? The rigs are nice and lifelike. The only place to accept a job is in the warehouse. You have a limited amount of jobs unlike in the 18 WoS series. Some jobs involves being in a race to a designated city (warehouse). When you reach the warehouses, at the boundary line, it is automated (very disappointing to see). You watch the rig (with or without cargo) automatically be driven into the warehouse and a crane automatically unhooks your load. Why can't I drive in the warehouse, perhaps get out, and use a crane to unhook my load? When you pick your job, the load is automatically placed on your rig and you are automatically driven out. You have to be careful, because when you reach the boundary of the warehouse you are on your own and sometimes if you aren't paying attention you could quickly crash. By the way, if you crash, there are nice visuals of your rig taking damage. Your rig looks hurt! Also, why in the world is there a key for, unhooking or hooking your load? You don't even get to attach (or detach) it to your rig.

The traffic is nice. Strange that California is known for it's traffic, yet it seems very quiet in the game, no matter what time of the day that it is. The day/night timing is a nice touch. The police, is weird. If you commit a infraction, it seems like the police always try to run you off the road, however, if you slow down, you get pulled over and arrested....always.

All and all, this is a very disappointing game. For $35 please, I'm begging you to save your money. I was able to get this, for $17 on Amazon last week. It's best to try the demo first! Then, you will realize that you should go back to 18 WoS: Haulin (or American Long Haul for those who don't have Haulin). I prefer Haulin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good graphics, but..., November 3, 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rig and Roll - PC (DVD-ROM)
I waited for this game to be released for several years. The graphics far exceed the other truck simulation games, but backing the truck is very difficult. The physics are terrible. Backing is a major part of driving a tractor trailer. The police don't stop you for speeding, there are no weigh stations. I am a truck driver. This is totally unrealistic. I know it's only a game, but they should at least try to come close to the real thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, November 27, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rig and Roll - PC (DVD-ROM)
For anyone who knows the 18 Wheels of Steel Series, this is the game we have all been waiting for, and the one that has made us so angry. The game was supposed to be released years ago and has been in development for a long time. However it is out now and that is what matters. The game allows you to either play mission based, or the 18WoS carry and drop, with some competition and racing mixed in, which makes the game a lot more interesting.

If you play the 18 WoS series, this is one to put in your collection and at this price, you can't go wrong!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy for my husband, August 1, 2013
By 
Meagan (Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RignRoll [Download] (Software Download)
My husband loves this game!! He always plays it. It took forever to install on the downloaded version but my husband thinks it's worth it. It's alittle hard to figure out at first but he got it and it has better graphics than i thought it would have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, July 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RignRoll [Download] (Software Download)
This game looked fun, but was very disappointing. First of all, the story mode is annoying and if you don't do things in the right order perfectly, the game ends. Also, the deadlines are very short and hard to make; if you make a wrong turn, forget about it!
There is no in-cab view, so seeing where you're going is a bit of a pain. The graphics are pretty good, but the gameplay is dissapointing. If you're looking for a trucking game, I can highly recommend Euro Truck Simulator 2; it's well worth the money, and is by far the best trucking game I've ever played. As for Rig-n-Roll, I wish I could get a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RignRoll [Download] (Software Download)
great product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 10 year old Son, May 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rig and Roll - PC (DVD-ROM)
My husband drives truck, so my son had to have this game. It gives him many hours of "driving time", but not ready to give him license, not in a big hurry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

RignRoll [Download]
$34.99 $3.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.