Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My two boys ask for this over and over, November 10, 2010
By 
Joya Beebe (Van Nuys, California United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea: A Pop-Up Book (Hardcover)
My boys, then 6 and 4, got this for Christmas last year, along with another pop-up by another author that was for younger kids, which they mostly ignored. They love this one, especially the older one, now 7. He wants it over and over, and now reads it himself, even though it's more for older kids (length & vocabulary wise). Based on this book, they've also wanted to watch the movies of it, and now they have their dad do the movie voices while reading it.

The book has some really impressive pop-ups. It's not a fast read, but is about as brief as it can be while still hitting all the main points of the story. Occasionally it's a little tricky to figure out the order in which to read/lift/read, but this is minor.

I highly recommend it for children to grown-ups.

My older son says, "Whoever made it was a really good pop-up artist, and what made me think of this is that huge whirlpool with all the boats - it's really funny."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 20,000 Leagues, October 30, 2008
This review is from: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea: A Pop-Up Book (Hardcover)
A wonderful example of a graphic novel greatly enhanced by pop-ups. There is only one real moveable, an opening iris; a great, flailing octopus; an undulating ocean; and other fun pop-ups, from tiny rowboats to large submarines. A great addition for collectors and book lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just a well-done pop-up book, October 1, 2010
This review is from: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea: A Pop-Up Book (Hardcover)
Ditto what other's have said about how good this book is. Two aspects struck me: One, it stands out from pretty much all other pop-up books because it combines graphic novel (AKA "comics") techniques with pop-ups. Two, if you are interested in making your own pop-up books, this one offers many impressive examples that do not use remarkably complex techniques. In looking at how assorted scenes were constructed I was surprised to see that, in many cases, they used v-folds and scenery flats (albeit in well-designed ways) plus some joints, to do quite a lot. (Compare this to the Star Wars pop-up which struck me as harder to reverse engineer.)

If you've read some books on pop-up construction, and understand the assorted core mechanics and techniques, and want to see some more sophisticated examples you can pluasible copy and experiment with, get this book. (Of course, if you just like well-done pop-up books then you should also get this book. :) )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great pop-up book, January 25, 2009
This review is from: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea: A Pop-Up Book (Hardcover)
We have enjoyed viewing this book . The pop-ups come up with no problems and the detaikls are great. We have use the book to entertain our grand children. They all seemed to enjoy tihis experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots to see and do., April 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea: A Pop-Up Book (Hardcover)
The book has impressive pop-ups. The story is a little hard to follow around all the layers that fill your eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fresh take on the Pop up trend, April 8, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea: A Pop-Up Book (Hardcover)
Suddenly, pop up books for big kids(and adults) are all the rage! We have several now, mostly given to us as gifts, and they are indeed cool,especially for children in that 7-12 year old range. This one is unique in that it combines a classic novel, with the cool styling of a comic book, and the "wow" factor of bold pop outs. Ita's art and designs in this book are edgy and modern, with that flair of contemporary hipster art. The drawings are simple but detailed with grotesque facial expressions and comical juxtaposition. There is a lot of humor in the narrative, that honestly went right over the head of my 7 year old but would be appreciated by an older adolescent for sure. In fact, I think that the age range for this(and probably the authors other pop ups assuming they are of the same style) would be appropriate for teenagers and even college age, depending on their interests. I could see this being a good gift for that older teenage nephew who you don't know what to buy for anymore. It is something that they would not just toss aside, but would keep and look at because it is indeed so cool. Although this is absolutely fine for a younger audience(under 10), the actual story gets a little lost in this graphic version, and it is a little hard to follow amongst all the fold outs. We have a picture book version of 20,000 Leagues that does a much better job of summarizing the classic story for a young reader, and I think that if we had not read this first, then my 7 year old would have been pretty confused by the out loud reading of this. If you are sharing this book with a child who in not familiar with the story, be prepared to stop, explain, and fill in the blanks, and so you should be familiar with the story ahead of time.
While I was trying to decide between this one and "Moby Dick" by the same author, I read a negative review by someone who was actually insulted with this artists take on a classic novel and found the drawing ugly. If you are a traditionalist and do not appreciate or understand comic books and contemporary art, then you may want to skip this. The pop up books by Matthew Reinhart and Robert Sabuda are a much more straight forward telling of classic stories and may be more suitable for your likings. If you are looking for a refreshing and unique book for that artsy child, teenager,or young adult in you life than you will totally appreciate Sam Ita's pop up telling of this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great popups that even has the adults wondering how they ..., November 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Son loves this book. Great popups that even has the adults wondering how they did it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The transaction was ideal and the item is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 16, 2014
By 
Ben Cribb (SEATTLE, WA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea: A Pop-Up Book (Hardcover)
A classic story comes to life!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

20,000 Leagues Under the Sea: A Pop-Up Book
20,000 Leagues Under the Sea: A Pop-Up Book by Sam Ita (Hardcover - October 7, 2008)
Used & New from: $2.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.