Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sound Yet For Johnny Maestro
I have virtually every CD by Johhny Maestro both with the Crests
and with the Brooklyn Bridge.In fact I booked Johnny many years
ago.
This is THE BEST sound quality I have ever heard
for the Crests.Every song is crisp&clear.Mastered with love.
Carey Mansfield and the crew at Varese Sarabande deserve kudos.Mastering by Marty Wekser is crisp and...
Published on October 19, 2001 by Lee K. Rudnick

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best album, Brooklyn Bridge album
Always liked Johnny, album is too "busy", his voice is drowned out. I still like the songs on the album. He was a great entertainer, will be missed, thank goodness for recordings. This comment is for the Greatest hits of Brooklyn Bridge.
Published 18 months ago by butch a


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sound Yet For Johnny Maestro, October 19, 2001
This review is from: 20 All-Time Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I have virtually every CD by Johhny Maestro both with the Crests
and with the Brooklyn Bridge.In fact I booked Johnny many years
ago.
This is THE BEST sound quality I have ever heard
for the Crests.Every song is crisp&clear.Mastered with love.
Carey Mansfield and the crew at Varese Sarabande deserve kudos.Mastering by Marty Wekser is crisp and warm unlike other Crests disc which are either muddy 4th Generation or overly boosted and tinney.
Lee Rudnick
NY Media Consultant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Crest" of golden-era American pop, August 12, 2001
This review is from: 20 All-Time Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Although sometimes tagged as doo-wop artists, Johnny Maestro and the Crests produced some of the best pop tunes of the early American rock and roll era. Clever lyrics, bouncy arrangements and Maestro's vocals combined to make catchy tunes like "Step by Step", "The Angels Listened In" and "Trouble In Paradise" as listenable now if not more so than when they first charted.

This new compilation from the dependable Varese Vintage people is very similar in content and sound quality to the Rhino piece of ten years ago. Included here are two more cuts with four that do not duplicate the Rhino selection.

Sound quality is excellent with tracks 6,8-10,14-20 in true stereo. Included is an eight-page booklet with pics and a history of the group.

If you're a real fan, this adds a few more cuts to your collection if you already own the Rhino piece. If there's a choice to be made, I give this one a slight edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Example Of Interracial Doo-Wop Brotherhood, February 17, 2011
By 
This review is from: 20 All-Time Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The caption is taken from the 5 pages of liner notes written by Bill Dahl for this wonderful offering from Varèse-Sarabande which, in addition to being virtually as complete a compilation of someone's "greatest hits" as any can be, has excellent sound reproduction and comprehensive liner notes.

To assign it just 2 stars, as did "New York City Historian" back in 2005, just doesn't wash. Besides, his comment regarding the omission of "the hit My Juanita from 1958" belies his claim to being a historian of any measure. That song happened to be the uncharted B-side of the # 86 Pop hit Sweetest One, billed to "The Crest's" on Joyce 103 in July 1957, with the backing of the Al Browne orchestra

Yes, that too is missing here, but likely because Varèse-Sarabande couldn't get publishing rights. Also, the group that sang that lost one member, 15 year-old Patricia Van Dross, before the then all-male group hooked up with Coed, which then covered all their subsequent hits. If he wanted to nit-pick he could have pointed out that the total number of actual "hits" compiled by the group was 14 - counting Sweetest One - and not 20 as claimed on the cover, and that the compilation leaves out 10 Coed B-sides in favour of some failed singles. But even that wouldn't have accounted for the deduction of 3 stars and would be quibbling to the nth degree.

All the Coed hits are here along with two B-sides, all detailed in the discography which appears on the reverse of the jewel case: 16 Candles (# 2 Pop/# 4 R&B in late 1958 on Coed 506), Six Nights A Week (# 17 R&B/# 26 Pop in spring 1959 on Coed 509), Flower Of Love (# 79 Pop in June 1959 on Coed 511), The Angels Listened In (# 14 R&B/# 22 Pop in September 1959 on Coed 515), A Year Ago Tonight (# 42 Pop in December 1959 on Coed 521), Step By Step (# 14 Pop in March 1960 on Coed 525), and Trouble In Paradise (# 20 Pop in June 1960 on Coed 531) were all billed as The Crests.

Journey Of Love (# 81 Pop in September 1960 on Coed 535), Isn't It Amazing (# 100 Pop in October 1960 on Coed 537) and I Remember (In The Still Of The Night) (# 102 Pop Hot 100 Bubble Under in December 1960 on Coed 543) were each billed to The Crests featuring Johnny Mastro (sic). Model Girl (# 20 Pop in March 1961 on Coed 545) was billed as Johnny Mastro The Voice Of The Crests, What A Surprise (# 33 Pop in May 1961 on Coed 549) was billed Johnny Maestro The Voice Of The Crests, while Mr. Happiness (# 57 Pop in August 1961) was billed Johnny Maestro with The Crests.

The only two B-sides offered are Beside You (b/o 16 Candles) and I Thank The Moon (b/o The Angels Listened In). The rest are either failed singles, or selections that never made it onto single releases.

But as I said, that's a quibble. This is a 5-star release in every way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uniquely American Music, May 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 20 All-Time Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
A fabulous CD for anyone who wants to understand what this important kind of American music was like (or to revisit the happy, golden moments of those days). It was just prior to the British Invasion whose enormous impact on music altered so much of what came after.
The lyrics on this CD are sweet and innocent, the harmonies heavenly and the lead voice of the late Johnny Maestro is smooth perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fifty years and going strong, April 12, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 20 All-Time Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Hard to believe, but 2007 marks 50 years since The Crests first charted with "Sweetest One", which should have been included on this CD, along with "My Juanita". It's still a great CD, with the amazing voice of Johnny Maestro singing lead, and superb backing vocals from J. T. Carter, Tommy Gough and Hal Torres. If you google "Johnny Maestro", the first listing should be for his official website, and e-mail can be sent to the guys there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Crest, March 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 20 All-Time Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Graduating from High School in 1961 was the best yr. ever and the music was something worth listening to.
Love this CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars the hits of Johnny maestro and the Brooklyn Bridge, February 19, 2014
This review is from: 20 All-Time Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
great songs,but wouldn't have bought it if I knew it was live,my fault I guess,wasn't looking for live version.
have to be more careful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the oldies, February 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 20 All-Time Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a great CD and I play it all the time. Well worth buying if you like oldies or The Crests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow I realy enjoyed it, January 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 20 All-Time Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
What a great CD I would buy it again good price great sound I got it for my brother and he has not stopped playing it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The CD was wonderful., January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 20 All-Time Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I have always liked the music from the 50's and 60's especially the doo-wop sound.
I recently heard a couple of songs by Johnny Maestro when he was with the Crests and had to see if I could get it on CD.
In my search I came across this CD and bought it. I couldn't be happier with it. If your looking for some music from that time period and from a great artist, you won't be disappointed. A great addition to any collection.
The CD and the music were good quality. As for my buying experience, it was no problem as usual when I order through Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

20 All-Time Greatest Hits
20 All-Time Greatest Hits by Johnny Maestro & The Crests (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.