Customer Reviews


584 Reviews
5 star:
 (454)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


186 of 198 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful design with fantastic efficiency test results!
Customer Video Review     Length:: 8:13 Mins
This battery pack is one of the most powerful rechargeable battery packs that I have ever tested. It is also matches the highest quality design and construction that I have seen in any battery pack. I was so impressed that I put together a video of the unit and the test results for your review.

The construction of this battery pack is...
Published 14 months ago by jjceo

versus
31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weird size DC output port, not enough amps for Surface, otherwise OK. . .but what will you do if the supplied cord shorts out?
It may be closer to a four star battery in general, but it doesn't meet my needs at all and four stars seems a bit high. It does have some strong points. The 20000mah is impressive for the cost. The LCD screen showing remaining battery life is a very nice feature. Physically the battery feel sturdy. Three USB ports is a nice touch as well. I can understand why many...
Published 6 months ago by Calder


‹ Previous | 1 259 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

186 of 198 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful design with fantastic efficiency test results!, May 19, 2013
This review is from: Anker® 2nd Gen Astro Pro2 20000mAh 4-Port Aluminum Portable External Battery Charger with 9V/12V Multi-Voltage Port and PowerIQTM Technology for iPad Air mini, iPhone 5s 5c 5; Galaxy S5 S4, Tab 2, Note, Nexus, MOTO X, G, LG Optimus, HTC One and More (Electronics)
Length:: 8:13 Mins

This battery pack is one of the most powerful rechargeable battery packs that I have ever tested. It is also matches the highest quality design and construction that I have seen in any battery pack. I was so impressed that I put together a video of the unit and the test results for your review.

The construction of this battery pack is simply beautiful. The exterior shell is brushed black anodized aluminum that looks fantastic. The battery is the size of a 7 inch tablet and it weighs in at 1 pound 1 and 1/2 ounces. It is assembled with machine screws and the overall construction is the best I have seen. The battery pack has three USB smart output ports that output 5 VDC at variable current to meet the charging requirements of the device you have plugged into it. It is called a Smart Port or an IQ port. It uses a chip to help select the proper current to allow the maximum safe charging current for the fastest device charging. It can also output 12 VDC at 1.5 amps and 9 VDC at 2 amps to charge many other higher voltage devices. You press the ON button and hold it for 2 seconds to select the 9 or 12 volt output voltage for specialty charging so make sure that you set it to match the needs of your device. This is important.

This battery pack has enough power to charge an iPad 3 fully and in reality it could charge it 1.33 times according to my tests. I was able to charge my electronic devices for over 13.5 hours on a single charge of the battery pack which is amazing. During the testing the temperature of the battery pack never even exceeded ambient room temperature. I used the USB port to charge my devices during this testing. To start your device charging connect it with the proper cable and power adapter (You will probably have to use your own charging cable that came with your device.), set the voltage, if required, and press the battery pack ON power button and charging starts. The charging will stop automatically when your device is fully charged or the battery pack is depleted.

The battery has a beautiful backlit LCD display that measure the battery's capacity from 0 to 100% and there is a battery symbol shown that also has 5 bars for a fully charged battery. The display will also indicate which higher voltage is set. The battery display is not always linear to the amount of the battery's remaining capacity and I think that is due to the fact that the circuit is measuring voltage and not true mAh capacity remaining.

The Lithium Polymer battery can be recharged over 500 times during its life cycle and if you are a power user of a tablet, laptop or any electronic device that uses these voltages then this is the battery pack to own. It comes with an 18 month warranty. The unit comes with a powerful AC wall charger that quickly recharges the battery pack. The specs claim that it can recharge the battery pack in about 4 to 5 hours and in my testing that is what I saw when the battery was fully depleted. This product is one of the best I have tested and I rate it at 5 stars. If you are a business person or a student and have to depend on your tablet or laptop for long periods of time without the ability to get to an AC power source then get this battery.

Items in the box:
* Powerful AC wall charger adapter that will operate on 100 to 240 VAC at 50 to 60 Hertz.
* The battery itself
* A charging cable for your laptop and higher voltage devices that is 4.3 x 1.6mm to 5.5 x 2.5mm multi-voltage cable with pin connectors. This cable is 31 inches long.
* An USB to Micro USB charging cable that is 28 inches long
* A user instruction manual
* A velour carrying bag
* The 18 month warranty card

If you are looking for a good Lightning cable to use with this battery here is one released by Anker that works very well with my iPad Air and iPhone 5S.

[Apple MFi Certified] Anker® Lightning to USB Cable 3ft / 0.9m for iPhone 5s / 5c / 5, iPad Air / mini / mini2, iPad 4th generation, iPod 5th generation, and iPod nano 7th generation

Charging my devices:
I charged the battery pack fully before I started my test.
Anker 20,000 mAh Battery Pack efficiency test:

iPad 2 at 4% and the Anker battery pack was fully charged with 5 bars - 100%

* 30 min iPad 2 at 14% - battery 100% 5 bars
* 60 min iPad 2 at 23% - battery 97% 5 bars
* 90 min iPad 2 at 32% - battery 93% 5 bars
* 120 min iPad 2 at 41% - battery 89% 4 bars
* 150 min iPad 2 at 50% - battery 85% 4 bars
* 180 min iPad 2 at 59% - battery 81% 4 bars
* 210 min iPad 2 at 68% - battery 78% 4 bars
* 240 min iPad 2 at 76% - battery 74% 4 bars
* 270 min iPad 2 at 85% - battery 70% 4 bars
* 300 min iPad 2 at 90% - battery 68% 3 bars
* 330 min iPad 2 at 94% - battery 66% 3 bars
* 360 min iPad 2 at 100% - battery 65% 3 bars

* 96% of 6944 mAh = 6666.24 mAh

iPhone 5S at 21% battery pack at 65% with 3 bars remaining

* 30 min iPhone at 56% - battery 62% 3 bars
* 60 min iPhone at 91% - battery 58% 3 bars
* 90 min iPhone at 100% - battery 57% 3 bars

* 79% of 1560 mAh = 1232.4 mAh

iPad Air at 38% - battery pack at 57% with 3 bars remaining

* 30 minutes iPad Air at 51% and the battery at 50 % and 3 bars
* 60 minutes iPad Air at 64% and the battery is at 43% and 2 bars
* 90 minutes iPad Air at 77% and the battery is at 35% and 2 bars
* 120 minutes iPad Air at 87% and the battery is at 25% and 1 bar
* 150 minutes iPad Air at 96% and the battery is at 18% and 1 bar
* 180 minutes iPad Air at 100% and the battery is at 16% and 1 bar

* 62% x 8820 mAh = 5468.4 mAh

iPhone 5S at 34 % battery at 16% one bar

* 30 minutes iPhone at 65% battery at 12% one bar
* 60 minutes iPhone at 93 % battery at 8% one bar
* 85 minutes iPhone at 100% battery at 7% no bars

* 66% x 1560 mAh = 1029.6 mAh

iPhone 5S at 73 % battery at 7% no bar showing

* 30 min iPhone 5S at 97% battery at 4% no bar
* 60 min iPhone 5S at 100% battery at 4% no bar

* 27% x 1560 mAh = 421.2 mAh

iPad 2 at 61% battery at 4% with no bar showing

* 30 min iPad 2 at 69% battery dead

* 8% x 6944 mAh = 555.52 mAh

Anker battery test summary for efficiency:

* 6666.24 mAh + 1232.4 mAh + 5468.4 mAh + 1029.6 mAh + 421.2 mAh + 555.52 mAh = 15,373.36 mAh / 20,000 mAh = 76.9 % efficiency
* This is an excellent result and gives this battery a 5 star rating.

Limitations of device charging of some common electronic devices:

* iPhone 4 battery 1,420 mAh battery capacity
* iPhone 4S battery 1,432 mAh battery capacity
* iPhone 5 battery 1440 mAh battery capacity
* iPhone 5S battery 1560 mAh battery capacity
* iPad 2 battery 6,944 mAh battery capacity
* iPad 3 battery 11,560 mAh battery capacity
* Kindle Fire battery 4400 mAh capacity
* Kindle Keyboard battery 1750 mAh capacity
* iPad 4 battery is 11,486 mAh 3.7 VDC at 42.5 Wh
* iPad Mini battery is 4490 mAh at 3.72 VDC 16.7 Wh
* iPad Air battery is 8820 mAh capacity

As you can see the Anker 20000 mAh will fully charge a totally dead iPad 3 or 4 because it contains 20000 mAh of capacity.

You have to consider the losses in the charging circuits of both the battery pack and the device you are charging so this result is outstanding! When using an external battery you have to allow approximately 30 % of the battery capacity will be lost to heat, voltage conversion, powering the batteries electronics and the electronics of your electronics device's charging circuits. In addition you have to consider that your device is not truly off like a cell phone is still connected to the WIFI and phone networks and probably receiving emails, etc. This is one of the most powerful rechargeable battery packs I have tested.

Real world examples of charging capability with this battery pack:

* iPhone 4 approximately 1083% of a full charge out of a fully charged Anker 20000 mAh battery pack
* iPhone 5S approximately 985% of a full charge
* iPad 2 approximately 221% of a full charge
* iPad 3 or 4 approximately 133% of a full charge
* iPad Mini approximately 342% of a full charge
* Kindle Fire approximately 349% of a full charge

* A normal estimated usable storage is 70% of capacity or .70 * 20000 mAh = 14000 mAh charging capacity available for your electronic devices.

* In my testing I was able to use approximately 15373.36 mAh of capacity or roughly 76.9% of the 20000 mAh capacity. This is an excellent result for a battery of this size.

I was supplied a sample for test and evaluation. A review was not promised to the supplier in exchange for the sample.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars External battery that works with the Galaxy Note 10.1, September 27, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Anker® 2nd Gen Astro Pro2 20000mAh 4-Port Aluminum Portable External Battery Charger with 9V/12V Multi-Voltage Port and PowerIQTM Technology for iPad Air mini, iPhone 5s 5c 5; Galaxy S5 S4, Tab 2, Note, Nexus, MOTO X, G, LG Optimus, HTC One and More (Electronics)
Great product. I had a difficult time finding an external battery that didn't cause a red x appears over the battery icon on the Galaxy Note 10.1. With other external batteries I was able to resolve the issue with an adaptor, but it's great not having to worry about one extra peripheral adaptor. Anker's USB output S, (which stands for Samsung), with circuitry designed for the Samsung Galaxy Tab worked perfectly! Hope this helps other Note 10.1 users!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Versatile Performance and an Outstanding Value, July 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Anker® 2nd Gen Astro Pro2 20000mAh 4-Port Aluminum Portable External Battery Charger with 9V/12V Multi-Voltage Port and PowerIQTM Technology for iPad Air mini, iPhone 5s 5c 5; Galaxy S5 S4, Tab 2, Note, Nexus, MOTO X, G, LG Optimus, HTC One and More (Electronics)
Anker is obsessed with customer satisfaction, and they are clearly achieving it with products that are priced very competitively and customer service that is prompt, thorough, and efficient. This is my 7th Anker battery pack purchase, though I have given four away as gifts. All units work great, but each unit has its specific "specialties" so read the description and specifications carefully to ensure you get the unit that is best for you. This is the first unit I've purchased that is recharged with its own AC power cord that comes with the unit. (All others are recharged with a common micro USB cable that is included, though you need your own USB power SOURE such as a computer USB port or an AC wall USB adapter. The wall adapters are available on Amazon for around $10.) THIS unit MUST be recharged from AC power which reduces its flexibility slightly, but the upside is that it recharges itself about 2.5 - 3.0 times faster than the other units. A 30 minute charge of this unit provides sufficient power to completely recharge my Blackberry Z10, so if you have limited time to recharge equipment, this can be extremely handy. It takes about 4-5 hours to fully recharge a depleted unit. As advertised, it charges all my 5 volt devices including my phones, Zune, electronic reading magnifier, Bluetooth devices, and other similar gadgets. Since it can charge 9 and 12 volt devices it also powers/recharges my portable DVD player (adding seven hours of playback time) along with just about all my electronic devices that can be powered with a 12 volt power cord designed for use while in a vehicle, including lights, games, radios, GPS units, etc. (This is beyond the stated design intent of the unit, but it works fine so long as you ensure the proper voltage is used and no more than 2 amps are required.) A generous assortment of tips/adapters is included to fit most needs, though one additional adapter that would be extremely useful is a 12 volt utility plug receptacle that would allow users to plug items designed for vehicle use to be plugged directly into the Astro Pro 14400 Power Bank. (I made one myself in about 10 minutes from components of "dead" electronic devices that I keep in a junk box for such purposes.) The user manual says approximately 30% of the power bank's capacity is consumed in the operation of the unit from inherent inefficiencies of voltage conversion and heat generation. That's probably a bit overstated, but it leaves the user with a "net supply" of more than 10,000 mAh for recharging other devices. It provides more than six charges from 5% to 100% on my Blackberry Z10. This unit would easily fit in the inside pocket of a suit but it too heavy for a shirt pocket. If you don't need the versatility of the 9 and 12 volt options, I'd recommend looking at the Astro 3E (it's about half as thick as this unit, and has a total 10,000 mAh capacity) or the Astro E5 with its whopping 15,000 mAh capacity and built-in emergency LED that provides light for hundreds of hours to outlast just about any emergency. Both the alternatives are recharged with the micro USB cord which gives them a little more versatility, but charging times and be 10+ hours. If you don't need 5-8 phone recharges from your battery bank, then look at Anker's line of smaller (and less expensive) units that are extremely portable and typically provide 1-4 recharges of your device. One of their smallest units will provide at least one full recharge for any currently available smart phone and is roughly the size of lipstick so it fits well in a woman's purse. Just type "Anker battery" in Amazon's search box and you'll begin to see the extensive line of products they have available. Have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weird size DC output port, not enough amps for Surface, otherwise OK. . .but what will you do if the supplied cord shorts out?, January 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Anker® 2nd Gen Astro Pro2 20000mAh 4-Port Aluminum Portable External Battery Charger with 9V/12V Multi-Voltage Port and PowerIQTM Technology for iPad Air mini, iPhone 5s 5c 5; Galaxy S5 S4, Tab 2, Note, Nexus, MOTO X, G, LG Optimus, HTC One and More (Electronics)
It may be closer to a four star battery in general, but it doesn't meet my needs at all and four stars seems a bit high. It does have some strong points. The 20000mah is impressive for the cost. The LCD screen showing remaining battery life is a very nice feature. Physically the battery feel sturdy. Three USB ports is a nice touch as well. I can understand why many people will love this battery, and if all you need is a 2.1mm plug for your DC charging (the only DC output plug size it comes with), you may be OK. I bought the battery primarily for DC charging, and in that regard it has a significant drawback.

The physical output port on the battery itself is an issue. The DC output port dimensions are, according to the manufacturer, 4.3mm x 1.65mm. There are no plugs or adapters anywhere, that I am aware of, that will fit in that size port. . .that leaves you limited to the specialized cord that comes with the battery. One end fits the battery's small port and the other end of the cord ends with a 2.1mm plug, so you could potentially buy an additional bunch of adapters and couplers and link the supplied cord to other cords (like the specialized Surface adapters some of us use). . .basically eliminating much of the convenience of this device. Then there is the question of what to do if the battery's supplied cord shorts out. . .hopefully Anker will keep plenty in stock for warranty service, because you aren't likely to find the correct size cord anywhere else. I looked and couldn't - in fact I can't find anything that will fit those port dimensions except the supplied cord.

*Update* - If you are considering using this battery with a third-party Surface/Surface Pro or Pro 2 DC adapter, it will not work. My battery kept switching off when I tried it. Unlike the previous version of this pack, which will charge a Surface, this one lacks sufficient amps at 12v.

I am a fan of Anker and own several of their high quality products, but I sent this battery back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ceased to charge or discharge (Updated), September 25, 2013
By 
R. Chowdhury (Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Anker® 2nd Gen Astro Pro2 20000mAh 4-Port Aluminum Portable External Battery Charger with 9V/12V Multi-Voltage Port and PowerIQTM Technology for iPad Air mini, iPhone 5s 5c 5; Galaxy S5 S4, Tab 2, Note, Nexus, MOTO X, G, LG Optimus, HTC One and More (Electronics)
I was able to charge and discharge the unit I received, once. I have had the unit for about 1 week and I am in the process of returning the item.

A day after posting this review a Anker rep called me and offered an exchange. I was impressed with the timeliness and customer support. I'm moving the rating to a three and if the product works as advertised I will move it to a 5.

After a week or so with a replacement unit, I moved the rating to 4. Yeah, I said 5 above, but in hindsight, a 5 should probably be reserved for a flawless experience. That said, kudos to Anker for fixing the issues ASAP and providing a working product that has fulfilled its promises (the second time around).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great backup for charging when your normal means are not available., April 16, 2012
This review is from: Anker® 2nd Gen Astro Pro2 20000mAh 4-Port Aluminum Portable External Battery Charger with 9V/12V Multi-Voltage Port and PowerIQTM Technology for iPad Air mini, iPhone 5s 5c 5; Galaxy S5 S4, Tab 2, Note, Nexus, MOTO X, G, LG Optimus, HTC One and More (Electronics)
Admit it, there has been times when you have not had easy access to a wall outlet or 12V to charge your cellphone, iPad or other electronic gadgets. It just happened to me just recently on a long trip that took almost over 18 traveling time (car, planes, lay-overs). I was shocked when the planes did not have USB or 12V chargers in any of the aisles (US Airways). This is when the Anker Astro 3 10000mAh came in handy to charge my iPad since one of the flights was 4 hours long and my iPad battery died and I was not aware of it. Keep in mind the iPad will take longer to charge than a cellphone, so after a couple of hours it was only about 45% charged but that was enough for me to use the iPad for the rest of the flight. When it comes to charging my iPhone, it will charge it to 100% full charge in about half the time. The iPad requires at least 2000mA, and devices such as iPhones and iPods require 500mA. Since those particular devices do not have the capabilities of swapping out batteries, this is one great way to be prepared for when my batteries drain and I don't have easy access to an electrical source. It also helps if you charged your devices when they are NOT in use. This will allow the device to charge quicker. This by all means is not going to charge super quick like when you plug it into an AC or 12V charger - this is meant as an emergency external charger for those times when you don't have access to those other means we take for granted.

Solidly constructed and comes with a one-year warranty. Makes a great gift as well! No need to guess if it comes with the correct adapter because with all the connectors that come with the Astro 3 there for be second guessing if it comes with the one you need.

The only negative thing I can say is that I wish it came with some kind of carry bag/pouch to keep all the connectors/adapters together and to protect and transport the unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dead Within 6 Months, January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Anker® 2nd Gen Astro Pro2 20000mAh 4-Port Aluminum Portable External Battery Charger with 9V/12V Multi-Voltage Port and PowerIQTM Technology for iPad Air mini, iPhone 5s 5c 5; Galaxy S5 S4, Tab 2, Note, Nexus, MOTO X, G, LG Optimus, HTC One and More (Electronics)
I bought this for my son-in-law for Christmas since I had bought one in June for myself. However, shortly after the new one arrived, the one I use for myself from mid-year stopped taking on a charge and the wire that connects to my phone wouldn't stay connected. Yes, it charges fast but it is extremely heavy so it's alot to haul around. I really wanted to give this a good review because of the fast charges but my experience after several months isn't so great. Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great device for charging on the go, May 6, 2012
This review is from: Anker® 2nd Gen Astro Pro2 20000mAh 4-Port Aluminum Portable External Battery Charger with 9V/12V Multi-Voltage Port and PowerIQTM Technology for iPad Air mini, iPhone 5s 5c 5; Galaxy S5 S4, Tab 2, Note, Nexus, MOTO X, G, LG Optimus, HTC One and More (Electronics)
[DISCLOSURE: I received a device from Anker so that I could do this review. Note, however, that the review was not vetted with Anker prior to posting and the opinions of the device are based on my experience with it over the past two weeks.]

NOTE: The device has been upgraded by Anker to 14,000 mAH; the device I reviewed was the older, 10,000 mAh version
UPDATED NOTE 7/3/2014: Anker has now upgraded the device to 20,000 mAH. Once again, I did not review the 20,000 mAh device, I reviewed the older, 10,000 mAH device. I am not sure why the review has been ported to the new device, but this is Anker and Amazon's doing, not my own.

PROS:
10,000 mAH of power
Well made/high production values
4 LEDs show charge level
Two USB ports and one DC port
Can use your own cords for USB charging
Many different supplied nibs for a wide variety of devices Automatic power saving mode

CONS:
Nibs for DC port may not cover all devices (would inquire before purchasing)
Shiny top surface reveals smudges

The Anker Astro 3 10,000 mAH USB External Battery Pack and Charger is an excellent way to power just about any peripheral device when you are away from AC current. This is a simple device that simply does what it is meant to do. It is convenient and is a pleasure to use.

WHAT'S IN THE BOX
The battery pack is packaged with a charge cord, a USB cable and a wide variety of tips, and a DC cable with a number of tips to connect to various devices. Also included is a brief instruction manual.

THE BATTERY PACK
The battery pack is basically a brick shape about the size of a Jumbo pack of playing cards--not very large for 10,000 mAH of power. It has a reasonable amount of heft--pretty much what you'd expect a battery pack to weigh. The device is solid and well made. It has a glassy front surface that looks smart when you first remove the protective plastic, but is also a magnet for smudges.

It has an on/off button on the front surrounded by four LEDs that indicate the charge level. There is a switch on the side to change over from 9V or 12V output. There are two USB ports in the front. Also on the front there is an input (for the power cord) and an output for the DC cable.

HOW IT WORKS
Before using the device, I charged it overnight. I was able to successfully charge a number of USB devices using the front two ports. I'm not really why there is a difference between the USB port marked 'I' for iPad or the on marked 'S' for Samsung. As I do not have either an iPad or a Samsung Galaxy this isn't quite clear. It may be that these devices won't accept a charge from a USB unless it gives out a specific charge profile or it may be that they require a different power profile to charge more quickly.

Nevertheless, I was able to charge my iPhone successfully using its own proprietary cord and the supplied USB cord with the appropriate nib from either port. I was also able to charge any number of USB devices--an iPod, a Sansa, and a Coby MP3 player. All devices charged easily. Devices can also be used while they are being charged, so the battery pack could be used as a back up battery on the fly.

None of the nibs that were supplied fit my HP or Dell laptops. I had a brief email exchange with Anker customer service who informed me that the power pack didn't have enough amperage to power these larger devices and no larger nibs were in the works. Pity.

Still, I was able to use these nibs to power up a CD player, an old tape recorder, a radio, and even an electric screwdriver.

It should be noted that newer, 'smart' devices will pull a charge from the battery pack until they are fully charged. For older devices like the screwdriver that don't consistently pull a charge, the battery will shut down automatically and go into an energy savings mode after 30 seconds. The upshot was that I could not charge the screwdriver using the Anker, but was able to use it as an external battery.

The external LEDs are really quite handy when assessing the need to recharge the device. They actually throw off quite a lot of light, however, and if you are charging a device overnight in your bedroom you may want to flip the Anker over, unless you like a nightlight.

CONCLUSIONS:
The device was really simple and easy to use. I tended to prefer using my own proprietary cables for the USB devices for convenience, but the supplied ones worked just fine. The supplied USB charger and the DC cable with the nibs worked flawlessly. It's nice to see that a wide variety of devices were covered. The Anker also held a charge incredibly well. This is a great stow and go option for emergency power needs for a great number of electronic devices.

As external battery packs go, this one is a winner. Additionally, the support that I received via email from Anker was fast and excellent. If you are in the market for a battery pack, this is probably what you are looking for. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far so good!, April 4, 2012
This review is from: Anker® 2nd Gen Astro Pro2 20000mAh 4-Port Aluminum Portable External Battery Charger with 9V/12V Multi-Voltage Port and PowerIQTM Technology for iPad Air mini, iPhone 5s 5c 5; Galaxy S5 S4, Tab 2, Note, Nexus, MOTO X, G, LG Optimus, HTC One and More (Electronics)
This is a high-capacity external battery made for charging devices on the go. About the size and weight of a large external hard drive, it's solid and hefty in the hand. This comes in handy for traveling when you don't have an outlet nearby or don't want to carry around different adapters for all your devices. For example, if you go hiking or do any sort of outdoor sport, you can recharge your GPS or phone multiple times on a full charge, or share it with others in your group. Blue LED indicators on the unit shows you how much remaining charge is on the battery. I can think of several times in my life recently where I forgot to charge my phone and was unable to coordinate plans with friends. This product would've been a great help in those instances.

The instructions printout isn't perfectly translated, but you don't really need it. The product has a coiled USB plug with interchangeable ends and is easy to use. Just attach the right tip to the cord and connect your device and the battery together. Push the round button on the battery and your electronic device will start charging. The product comes with about 20 different tips for various devices. The many plugs available means there's probably a plug in the collection for your device. Because many devices nowadays use micro USB, this will charge things like Kindles, Android phones, TomTom GPS units, most Bluetooth devices and mp3 players. A mini-USB head is also included, so that covers the majority of common consumer electronics devices out there. So far I've tested it on my iPhone 4S and an LG G2X. It works flawlessly. I will update this review as I confirm more devices in my home that it works with.

The surface is shiny and polished (be sure to peel off the plastic film first) and doubles as a mirror. Not sure why it is designed this way, but it's an extra feature if you need a mirror! My only suggestion would be to buy a carrying case for it to keep all the plugs and adapters in one place.

Additionally, Anker customer service is very responsive and courteous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars just stopped working Update: Anker replaced with no hassle read review, April 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Anker® 2nd Gen Astro Pro2 20000mAh 4-Port Aluminum Portable External Battery Charger with 9V/12V Multi-Voltage Port and PowerIQTM Technology for iPad Air mini, iPhone 5s 5c 5; Galaxy S5 S4, Tab 2, Note, Nexus, MOTO X, G, LG Optimus, HTC One and More (Electronics)
I thought this was a great product at first. I travel a lot and it came in very handy. Unfortunately I went on a trip one time and it just stopped working. Not sure why.

Update:
Please understand that I am not the complaining type. I provided a simple review in efforts to help others choose wisely when looking for this type of product. I was completely surprised when I received a phone call from an Anker representative. They wanted to find out what the issue was and see what they could do to help. Keep in mind that I did not solicit any help from them, nor did I make any complaint directly to them. This really blew me away. The representative said she would like to replace the product at no charge. I was thinking to myself " oh here we go, I am going to have to jump through 13 hoops, sell my first born, stand on my left foot and hop 1359 times in efforts to get the replacement.". Gratefully, I was completely wrong. The rep simply asked me to provide a serial number. I kept thinking "what is the catch". Unfortunately the serial number and rubbed off and so she simply asked that I take a picture of the product and email it to her. There were no requirements for image size or even specifics on what the picture must show. In fact she was even apologetic that she was asking for the picture and said if it was too big of deal then there would be no need to send one. I was happy to comply with her simple request. I thought it would be the least I could do to help Anker in efforts to show this was not a fraudulent claim. She immediately ordered up a new product for me. She gave me my option of what I would like and did not limit me to anything. She was willing to give me a different type charger or continue on with the latest pro series which I had originally purchased. The charger showed up in a few days and worked great. It's now been several weeks and all is well. I have received emails and phone calls from Anker to check to be sure that I am completely satisfied. I have to say that I am a big fan of Anker now. I think they are a top notch company and I have every confidence in recommending them to others. Great job Anker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 259 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.