Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: 2010 FIFA World Cup - Nintendo Wii
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$24.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 24, 2010
It's a decent, arcade-ish, multiplayer-oriented soccer game, but it suffers from being far too similar to FIFA 10 (if you already own FIFA 10 you're getting just slightly more than a re-skin of it). The game features unrealistic physics and some crazy-insane slow-mo effects (very Matrix-like) to really bring out the all-important "cool factor," however, it eschews realism in favor of fast-paced fun.

The rest of the gameplay feels very old school with only eight directions available for movement which makes it very tough to have effective runs up the field and even tougher to turn the corner around the defender. Other annoyances come when you try to intricately weave passes through the defense. Having through balls and standard passes on the same button is a real mistake. You can no longer hold down the pass button to determine its power, as holding it down now triggers a through ball. Too often the player I'm trying to pass to was too far away for the game to realize where I was trying to go with the pass. Instead of it auto-detecting the distance and delivering a slightly faster-paced kick, all I got was a tap of the ball that then rolled five feet in front of my player. If you have a Classic Controller, I'd recommend using it. The results are much better than what you'll get with either the Wii Remote and Nunchuk combination or just the Wii Remote.

This game will appease younger gamers who just want to go kick the soccer ball, hear unrealistically loud noises when players take a shot and see lots of bright colors.

If you want to just finish a match with incredible scores and using fantastic tricks, this is your soccer game. Those looking for a realistic soccer game won't find it here, you'd still better stick with Pro Evolution Soccer, far deeper and more satisfying.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2013
World Cup is a good game. The dream team mode is seriously awesome and it makes the game really cool. You can even load your team to your wii remote and beat your friends with your stacked up team. Graphics could be better and I think players should be able to sprint, not just run, but overall this is a very good game.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2010
If you are a football fan, specifically an International football fan then this game is right for you. No it's not Soccer, it's football!

Surely you must have tried one of the EA Sports FIFA games and if you haven't you should. South Africa 2010 game is pretty much the same as FIFA 2010 (which is based primarily on club football) but focused on International teams with some mild improvements. Graphics and output is very nice. Some basic highlights:

You can "Hit the pitch"
Challenge ANY of the final 200 teams in qualifying for World Cup
You can create your own world cup
Swap teams for the final 32
Change the teams in groups of your choice
Or even swap players (ridiculous but true)
It has on-line playing
And in interesting challenge to create your dream team

However, it's all based on the structure of the South Africa World Cup; stadiums, dates, venues and the ever controversial vuvuzela! Amazing how this games captures a lot of the realities including that darn ball that flies everywhere!

Negatives from my experience:

The game does come with a few glitches every now and then
Celebrating a goal is quite lame in comparison to FIFA 2010 (I really hope they revert in later editions)
For the Die hard fan, the teams skill and capability is based on FIFA ranking so France and Italy for example are a lot better in the game than actual performance (no offense to the fans)
If your team did not qualify, you'll realise that your player make really silly mistakes because again, it's based on the Fifa ranking.

That's my view.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2013
Bought it for my son that is a fan of soccer games. He had PES 2012 before this one, but he likes much better the various tricks he can do. Much easier than PES, so I would recommend it if you have small kids trying to enter into soccer games
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2010
This game features some cool game modes such as Zakumi's dream team where you make your own team and collect better players by beating challenges and try and make the bet dream team possible .
If you want to do the actual world cup you can . First you select your team,then you start your world cup I highly suggest this game.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2012
this wii game is great. both boys and girls that like soccer will have fun with it in my house it entertains 7-12 year old kids. it is not a replacement for physical activity they get for playing the ball outside but is great for rainy or snowy days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2011
I expected much more of this game, but it is really bad. The PC version has more elements, anyway it is not worthy what i spend on it. Not recommended at all. If you want a real enjoyable game buy fifa 11 not this game. The nintendo version is pretty bad, I don't like the slow motion shoots on every single game,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2010
Whenever a video game is released to correspond with a current athletic event that is taking place there is a risk that the game might have been hastily thrown together simply to be able to market the game to those overcome with the excitement of what is taking place. Perhaps it is just some memories of old school Nintendo games that were released at the time of the Winter and Summer Olympics that brings back those horrible memories, however, with a vast market of people now wrapped up in World Cup fever a timely release of 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa for the Nintendo Wii has truly bucked that trend.

2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa is a great release that allows the user the ability to join in the excitement of the World Cup in the comfort of their own video gaming chair. With several different options to play, there is no shortage of ways to mix it up while playing this game.

Users can select from both all of the World Cup qualifiers as well as countries that did not make the cut and select from various different game scenarios to enjoy this game. Single matches between teams ranging from Slovakia and Peru or Australia and Trinidad could be set up and played either head to head or against the computer. The single match option is great if you want to try playing some strange matchups and perhaps learn a bit more about some of the other nations' clubs that are out there that perhaps do not get as much air time as those who either qualified for the World Cup or who are perennially recognized as a soccer powerhouse.

The option to actually play a World Cup is of course one of the highlights of the game. When selecting this option, the gamer can choose one of the nations that actually qualified for the World Cup and then play in the actual bracket that they were grouped into. For instance, if you were to choose the United States as the team that you wanted to be, your initial group games of England, Slovenia and Algeria would be the first three games in your group before you were to move onto the next round. There is an option to change around the groups should you wish but as a traditionalist I like trying to get through the rounds as they were structured in real life.

Another great way to play 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa for the Wii is with the online option. By selecting the online play, users are able to play through the internet against other gamers all across the globe. Personally, the best way to try and play the online version is in the 1 on 1 ranked area where you pick a team and a competitor picks another team and you play a onetime match against that person. There is an option for rematches when played this way but the beauty of playing the ranked option is that you will find the quality competition of those out there to be a good challenge.

One of the nice things about 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa is that the quality of the detail paid to the game was clearly heightened during the creation of this game. While playing an actual match, players actually have their real names and the skill sets of those players comes across to be rather accurate. That said, it is much easier to play a match as Spain or Germany against one of the other powerhouses than it is to play that same match as Barbados. The game play of the match itself is very fair and there is a good nature to the action that actually does not call for every slide tackle to be considered a yellow or red card as some previous soccer video games might have called for.

The game play commentary does not offend as some other sporting video games might and there is not the same level of redundancy to the narration that unfortunately serves as a detractor for a lot of games. If you are just about to go nutty from hearing vuvuzela's in the real World Cup than be prepared to hear them again as there is a more than occasional vuvuzela being blown in this video game that adds a certain level of authenticity to the whole World Cup experience.

I have found that the best way to play this game is with the Wii Nintendo Classic Controller Pro. By having the ability to play this game with the more traditional Nintendo controller, the game seems to be a bit smoother to play via this option than if the regular Wii controller was solely utilized. For me, having the ability to be able to play this game utilizing the classic controller is a huge plus and one of the best benefits of the game outside of the actual game itself.

Released by EA Sports, 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa is Rated E and is a fine game for soccer fans of all ages. One of the true benefits of this game is that it is not so time specific that after today's final match you will have no interest in playing this game. 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa is certainly a game that can be played right up until the next World Cup takes place in Brazil.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2013
It is a very realistic game. Easy to learn. Easy to play. Children and adult enjoy
playing with it. It doesnt need a special TV to works. It has various soccer player and team of the world
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2010
I will keep this short (to match how long this game stayed active in our family library).

I played it 2-3 times, and never touched it again. My 9 year old daughter played it regularly for a week or two, and then dropped it for older games.

The best part about this game is the music/uniform/team selections, the game play is pretty boring and mostly determined by the computer.

Essentially, you shake the Wii remote to have the player "do something" (headers, corner kicks, goal kicks, shots on goal). The computer does the rest ... which is a bit pointless to me because it's almost like a simulator. This was OK for my 9 year old because she does not yet appreciate the finite control of being able to choose between a power shot and a chip shot, or whether to go for the top left corner or the bottom right, a hard pass versus a touch pass, and so forth.

But if you care about those things at all, this isn't really for you as the computer decides how and when you are going to make your plays. You just do the grunt work of moving the players to the spots.

I didn't mind the slow motion shots and plays. My kids enjoyed that part too, but remember, once you are in slow motion it's a computer determined result that is picked at random.

I would not recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.