Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Fifa World Cup So Far
I got this game yesterday and so far I'm very impressed.

This is by far the best world cup EA has created in their FIFA World Cup series. The atmosphere, graphics, and user interface are much improved over last world cup.

First, the positives:

The game play is pretty realistic. The defense is much harder to break down than in previous...
Published on April 28, 2010 by Mike D

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Just got my hand on this today and so far ...
Just got my hand on this today and so far it seems a lot more difficult than the FIFA 13 that i have been playing for the past 2 years. I am still trying to get a hang of it though and i also expected it would have club football, but its purely for the world cup.
Published 3 months ago by OJ Oshin


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Fifa World Cup So Far, April 28, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa (PlayStation 3) (Video Game)
I got this game yesterday and so far I'm very impressed.

This is by far the best world cup EA has created in their FIFA World Cup series. The atmosphere, graphics, and user interface are much improved over last world cup.

First, the positives:

The game play is pretty realistic. The defense is much harder to break down than in previous versions, which seems to keep the scoreline in check.

The online mode is awesome. You can actually pick a team and challenge other teams in world cup.

As far as the graphics go, I believe they're pretty strong. Stadiums, game action, and atmosphere, everything looks good. The crowds make you feel you are actually in the stadium.

Having 199 teams is a huge plus. You can even pick Afghanistan. LOL

Having two Button game play is a great addition for new comers in game.

Penalty kicks have improved and they are alot harder to score.

Btw the Goal looks bigger.

The negatives:

You still can`t play against friends in 2 vs 2 match up.

There are no clubs in it, but that doesn't bother me since I have Fifa 09 and Fifa 10.

Overall. it's a great game. If you want more features and clubs go buy Fifa 10, but if you want better graphics more International teams get this. This

game comes out every 4 years so I didn't mind paying for it and enjoy having my hometown team in there. So if you are hardcore fan of soccer or your

country didn`t make it to world cup buy this. You won't regret.

Take care and I'll see you online! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, fun game!, April 28, 2010
By 
D. Behrman (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa (PlayStation 3) (Video Game)
This game has many differences to FIFA 10, but they are mostly small ones. The online mode is about 100 times better than FIFA 10 though since every game you play you earn points now for wins or 1 pt for tie. You are in a league and play 10 games per season, after 10 games u can get relegated or promoted to the next highest league, there are 10 leagues. If you win at the highest league you become champion and earn trophies. Plus all your wins go towards a country you represent, so there are rankings on how good the countries are at playing.

The actual game has better sound than 10 by a million times. It's extremely festive and loud and you really feel like your at a live match. The passing seems a lot more realistic and fluid and the players make brilliant runs now, the cpu seems to think off the ball so much better. Gameplay seems a bit faster so it tends to make the matches more exciting, sometimes it is a bit fast for realism. New penalty system I love, makes it a little harder to get one so there is more excitement. Graphics are about the same as 10 I would say. Players faces are much better though, they really look like the real guys now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game!, May 14, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa (PlayStation 3) (Video Game)
If you like soccer and if you like FIFA, go buy this game with your eyes closed (note that I have FIFA 10). The game is similar to FIFA 10, but he gameplay has many improvements, the ball fells more real, the keepers play better and the penalties are harder and need to be practiced.

But where this game really shines is in the online mode, you can play the FIFA World Cup online, with the group phase, quarter finals and everything, the game always sets you up with someone who is in the same part of the tournament as you, so if you are in the final, your online opponent will also be in the final, this sets up interesting matches and will give you exciting matches, because if you lose one game after the group phase you have to start again. Because of this, every game matters and will not be just an online head to head match, and winning the cup is very satisfactory.

Im hooked to this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, good graphics, great atmosphere!, July 13, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa (PlayStation 3) (Video Game)
I have had this game now for about 3 weeks and I have to say that I love it. With the excitement of the World Cup going on, it was neat to see how Fifa tried to create the same world virtually. Graphics wise it is excellent, someone earlier complained about the graphics being 720p well so was Fifa 09 and 2010??!! You don't notice it anyway, and the closeups of the coaches are awesome as the detail is accurate to what they actually look like.
Gameplay: Is just like Fifa 10. my only complaint would be that (like Fifa 10) the automatic changing of players is annoying. It wont let me pick the guy I want every time. Overall gameplay is just as good as Fifa 10.

Negatives:
if I had to pick any it would be the above mentioned gameplay and the price. 60 bucks is a little steep for this game. Its a great game but being that the World CUp happens every 4 years it seems alittle crazy to charge that much. Say 49.99 or 39.99 for the game would be nice.

Positives:
Graphics, gameplay, realness of the game and the crowd. Being able to listen to every national anthem of all the countries along with interesting statistics about the country.

Overall fun game!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, December 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa (PlayStation 3) (Video Game)
One of my favorite football games ever! The 2010 World Cup was extra special to me and my friends; helps those memories live on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Love, July 18, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa (PlayStation 3) (Video Game)
I had this game but gave it away to a friend who wanted it. But now a year later I just had to get it again. I always loved the game because I dont normally get to play with Senegal on an EA Sports game since there are limited national teams on FIFA. When the 2014 one comes out I'll get that too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best soccer game played so far, May 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa (PlayStation 3) (Video Game)
This has been the best soccer game I had and I had three other ones in the past, seems like you can do more with this game and we really like it. I highly recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, even now - but incomplete, January 31, 2012
By 
Andrew Bolte (Albuquerque, NM USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa (PlayStation 3) (Video Game)
If you've played any of the FIFA titles on current generation consoles, you know what you're in for: a virtually limitless World Cup experience, where you can do anything from win the Jules Rimet with Brazil to qualify for the World Cup with American Samoa. The gameplay is fast and fun - and the computer AI is just right for an average player to be able to do well on the game's medium setting.

However, if you buy this title in 2012 looking to participate in the Online World Cup, you won't be able to - online play for this title appears to no longer be supported by EA. Surely a measure taken to push people to FIFA 12 and/or the upcoming Euro 2012 title - but still frustrating because you won't be able to get every achievement in the game or enjoy everything the game has to offer as a result. Even so, it's a blast to take the smallest of minnows into the World Cup to go against the game's giants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than FIFA 10, June 11, 2010
By 
Wurms (California) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa (PlayStation 3) (Video Game)
I played FIFA 10 like a madman since its release. There were a few nagging issues that I had with the game, mainly A.I. issues. FIFA World Cup doesnt solve all of them, but it knocks a few out.

In FIFA 10 the goalies would come out of the box WAY too much, making chip shots really easy to score. In FIFA World Cup, the goalies are a lot better. They stay in the box majority of the time, making goals harder to come by.

On corners and set plays in Fifa 10, your A.I. teammates would not jump to defend them. The only person that would jump or try to clear the ball out was you. This lead to many headers being scored just because you couldnt control two or three people at once since the computer doesnt help you out. Unfortunately this is still a problem in FIFA World Cup. A.I. teammates are braindead on set plays on defense. If you dont jump, the offense gets a clear shot cause the computer aint helping. Also, since we are tlking about stupid A.I. teammates. Often times the ball will be rolling towards them but they just stand there watching the other team run over and nab it. This happens in FIFA 10 also and gets annoying.

Fifa 10 was missing a few of the World Cup national teams. Well, this game solves that problem, DUH! Its nice being able to just click World Cup and begin! You can go through the entire qualifications or jump right into the Group Stages w/ the real teams or customize it. My buddies and I just set every team to USER controlled and are playing through all the group games - winner stays on and picks the team he wants for the next game. Awesome mode, love it.

Ball control feels roughly the same. Passes seem to be a little less accurate which adds to the realism. Every direct pass isnt a straight bullet. Sometimes there off. I didnt notice this too much in Fifa 10. Shooting is still the same except Penalty kicks. The new Penalty Kicks is a great addition and acutally makes them a bit more about skill rather than paper, rock, scissors (left, middle, right). In Penalty Kicks you have a bar with red yellow and green areas and need to stop the line in the green section for accuracy, then the power meter fills and you let go of shoot button to stop the meter and kick the ball. Before you kick the ball you can do a hesitation/stutter move. Good stuff and definately a major improvement.

The atmosphere is awesome. Pumps you for the games with the grafiti and streamers and the vuvuzelas. Graphics are better. Players look more like there real life counterparts. You will really notice this on replays and cut scenes. Some of coaches are spot on, like Fabio Capello.

Anyways, I upgraded from FIFA 10 cause Im more interesting in international teams than the club teams. The goalie improvement alone I think is worth the upgrade. This is FIFA 10, with some teaks and a few improvements and all the World Cup atmosphere to get you pumped up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, August 30, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa (PlayStation 3) (Video Game)
After watching the world cup this year, my kids really got into soccer and wanted this game. I purchased this and was surprised at their interest and how fun this game is to play. Glad we bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa (PlayStation 3)
2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa (PlayStation 3) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)
$29.99 $11.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.