Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: 2011 World Series Champions: St. Louis Cardinals [Blu-ray]
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Billy Talent Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$8.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 22, 2011
I just got a copy of the 2011 Official World Series Film and it is awsome! Hearing the reactions from the guys to the various pivotal moments of the Fall Classic made them all the more special. I love the way all the key points of the season were highlighted - the loss of Wainwright, the early woes of the bullpen, the Pujols injury, the Rasmus Trade, the ascent to the Wild Card - everything.

There is also a bonus disc featuring Game Five of the NLDS against the Phillies - possibly the gutsiest Chris Carpenter performance ever - in its entirety.

I also liked the fact that most of the game audio was taken from Mike Shannon and John Rooney on KMOX. Much better than hearing those sniveling Yankee and Red Sox appologists on FOX.

I loved how each game was encapsulated, especially the dramatic fashion in which the stage was set for Games Six and Seven.

One thing I had a problem with was the narration. While I do think that Jon Hamm did a good job, I would much rather that Billy Bob Thornton (who narrated the 2006 Official World Series Film) had been the narrator.

I think captions would have been a plus, but, otherwise, in terms of content, it blows the 2006 World Series Film away.
88 comments| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2011
This is a 2 DVD set where the first disk, in lightning speed, goes over brief parts of the St. Louis Cardinals regular season and playoffs, and then each game of the World Series. The second disk is worth the price alone, containing game 5 of the NLDS, considered to be one of the most decisive 1-0 games in baseball history.

The length of the first disc is about an hour. The editing is poor, jumping around in time, sometimes in flashes, making it confusing to watch. If you don't pay attention, you could lose your place. And be ready with the pause button, because if any text appears on the screen (a record being broken for example), you won't have time to read it. I got a much better feel for what it was trying to do after going thru it a second time.

Bonus features included the following:

This Week in Baseball: Lance Berkman
Prime 9: Tony LaRussa
NL Wild Card Clinch (Short snip of locker room celebration, no interviews)
Game 5 NLDS: Last out
Game 6 NLCS: Last out
Game 3 World Series: Pujols' 3 home runs
Game 6 World Series: Freese's triple to tie
Game 6 World Series: Berkman's single to tie
Game 6 World Series: Berkman/Freese press conference
Game 6 World Series: Freese's Walk off home run.
Game 7 World Series: Freese's double to tie
Game 7 World Series: Last out.

Sound options are:

2.0 Stereo
Dolby Digital
5.1 Surround sound (not Dolby)

There is, I'm afraid, no closed captioning option.

All of the bonus features worth watching have more time devoted to them while viewing the regular disk footage, except the game 6 walk off home run by Freese which is broadcast four times, using both sets of the USA announcers, a British announcer and a Spanish announcer in Spanish. Some others are just a few seconds long.

This is not really a "World Series Film". Disk one is a film for St. Louis Cardinal fans and fans of baseball who are St. Louis Cardinal fans. I would have shown more about both teams rather than just the St. Louis Cardinals, especially about how each team was structured in offense, defense and pitching. In the editing, I would have finished one thing before I showed the next. But as a bonus feature, I would have spent some appropriate time showing how the Cardinals, a team with a typical troubled season poised for a meltdown, won 33 of their last 50 regular and post season games to become world champions. A remarkable comeback that happens in baseball, but only rarely. It shows that anything can happen in baseball which is the beauty of the sport. In baseball, appearances often times cannot predict an outcome.

In the end, the seven game contest was between two virtually evenly matched teams, each in their own way. An upstart pesky team who came up against a virtual bulldog of a team, and won, as one announcer put it, "...they just...won't...go...away.

Even more notable is a second story of a team who accomplished all this with one pitcher, and a bunch of other guys whom thru management and their own efforts would become pitchers.

But the gem of the two disks is the second one. A pitching duel, with selectable half innings, pitting best friends and former teammates Chris Carpenter and Roy Halladay against each other showing the complete fifth game of the NLDS. For those who would like to have a classic pitching duel of their own in their living room with two Cy Young Award pitchers at the helm, buy this set and throw away the first disk.
22 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2011
For Cardinals fans still floating on cloud nine after St Louis polished off the Texas Rangers in Game Seven of the 2011 World Series, this marvelously crafted film recounting the most improbable championship season in franchise history should keep the euphoria at a fever pitch through the long off-season, and beyond.

Certainly, the historical significance of what the Cardinals accomplished in 2011 is astounding - from the wild finish to the regular season which got them the Wild Card berth in Game 162 - to the shocking five game triumph over the Phillies in the NLDS (Carpenter's Game Five masterpiece is included as a bonus) - to the incredible offensive display in the six game whipping of the Brewers in the NLCS - and finally, to the thrilling showdown against Texas which culminated in the Cardinals' eleventh World Series championship, overall.

This was indeed a magical championship run for the Redbirds; here's a great way to relive the magic, with the St Louis Cardinals 2011 Official World Series Championship Film. It's a definite winner!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2011
Living in St.Louis and being a Cardinal fan all my life, I didn't think any DVD could do the Card's 2011 season justice. But, I couldn't pass up the chance to check it out.
This DVD showed so many things than in the "heat of the moment" a lot of us Cardinals fans didn't see in real time. The camera angles are the best I have ever seen. At one point you could actually see the expression on Yadi's face moments before he threw out a runner. Amazing. The interviews were great. This DVD also showed many parts of the stadium that an average fan doesn't see. Kudos to all of those who worked so hard to get this out in such a short length of time. It was a great look back at one of the most amazing finishes in baseball history. Well done.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2011
I don't normally write reviews but I haven't found very much information about the Blu-Ray. For people looking for this information, here you go. Everything on the disc, including the bonus features, is in 1080i AVC video with a bitrate that bounces mostly between 15Mbps and 25Mbps. Everything on the disc also has a DTS-HD MA audio track. The track is 5.1 for the main film/documentary, but Stereo for everything else. I won't comment on the film/documentary, since other reviewers have that covered. It is basically a quick 1.5 hour summary of the season, mostly focusing on the World Series.

The Blu-Ray set is 1 disc, but on the disc is the entire Game 5 from the NLDS. This is the main draw of this disc for the serious fans. This essentially contains the entire TBS broadcast, minus the commercials. The picture quality is better than the TBS HD broadcast, but not at the level of watching a good film on Blu-Ray. Despite the sound track technically being a stereo track, it is essentially a dual mono track. The exact same sound comes from both of the front speakers. If you have ProLogic II enabled on your receiver, all sound comes from the center channel. There is only one audio track, so it is definitely a missed opportunity. I would have loved to have a choice of the radio announcers (like on the World Series set). There are chapter stops at each half inning. The total running time of the game is 2 hours and 1 minute. After watching this, I absolutely think full length baseball games and Blu-Ray are a good fit. If they did surround sound and included the radio tracks, it would be flawless.

The bonus features are each under 5 minutes. There are short clips about LaRussa, Berkman, etc. The clip of the parade is under one minute, so definitely a missed opportunity from a 2 hour parade broadcast. I would have loved to see LaRussa's speech in the stadium after the parade. What is nice is the final outs and the three big Game 6 hits included as bonus features. Anybody really into it will have the complete World Series DVD set, but it is nice to have these moments in HD quality, without the score box, Fox Trax, etc. The David Freese home run is actually played 5 times in the bonus features with 5 different audio tracks.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2016
A must have for the Cardinals fan! I was able to relive the 2011 WS without the emotional roller coaster that I endured when I was watching the series live on television. KMOX fans will love that much of the audio was Mike Shannon and John Rooney. This was a magical season for the Redbirds and something that everyone in Cardinals Nation needs to have in their collection! As the beloved Jack Buck would say, "Go Crazy Folks! Go Crazy!"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 16, 2011
I have purchased every WS video since 1996 and am rarely disappointed. The 2011 World Series ranks up with the most exciting I ever saw and Game 6 was the most exciting game I have ever watched in all the years I have been watching baseball! The video itself has a new narrator that is not as good as in years past (hence I didn't give it the full five stars) but some of the extras are novel. There is a second DVD included with the National League clinching game. The bonus fearures have David Frees' walkoff 6th game homerun repeated 5 times with different announcers including international announcers. The postgame interview with Lance Berkman and Frees was priceless. Frees talks about growing up and watching a walk-off homerun in St. Louis' 2004 playoffs not realizing that Berkman played in the game for the Astros. This drew a nice chuckle.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2011
Sorry, but anyone labeling Joe Buck and Tim McCarver as Yankee and Red Sox apologists need to rethink their viewpoints. You may not care for their commentary - although I personally believe they're two of the very best in the business - but an "anti-Cardinal bias"? Say what? Anyone even mildly knowledgeable about the organization knows that they are both about as deeply rooted in St. Louis and Redbird history as one could imagine.

More importantly, I'm excited about receiving the blu-ray edition of this release, and was pleased to read that the NLCS Game 5 is included as a bonus. Great game, brilliant and gutsy performance by Carpenter. But Game 5 rather than the Series Game 6? WHAT WERE THEY SMOKING!!?? How many commentators, both baseball experts and mere civilians alike, almost universally proclaimed Game 6 as perhaps the greatest game in World Series history. What a missed opportunity. Mindboggling ...

I'm assuming this will be a terrific treasure for Cardinal fans, and well deserving of a high rating. The deducted star is for the glaring absence of Game 6.
66 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2014
This is a great look back at what was an unbelievable run for the Cardinals. Narrated by actor and St. Louis sports fan Jon Hamm it takes a memorable look at the events leading up to the team's 11th world title.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2013
To be honest I thought about giving this a four but whenever a championship is won by my favorite team I am just happy to have this DVD in existence. I just did not feel that this film was long enough and that it did not offer as many features as the 2006 film. For what I consider the best World Series ever and in which many non-cards fans rank highly could have been better. Still better than nothing.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.