Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended presentation in crystal clear, blu ray quality!
Excellent, clear blu ray presentation of the 2013 Red Sox Season narrated by Ben Affleck. Starting with introductions of the new 2013 Red Sox players, right up unto the whole Boston Marathon bombing story, then quickly right thru the regular season and post season games. Superb Presentation!
This film will present David Ortiz's clear word-for-word verbatim (with...
Published 7 months ago by Mr. Robert A. Jodoin Sr.

versus
35 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing compared to the 2004 and 2007 versions
In 2004, my dream of a Red Sox World Championship came true- and a few months later, I was able to enjoy a recap of the events leading to that magic moment with the official World Series film of that year. The emotion, the drama, the suspense- everything was there in a job very well done. Three years later, the Red Sox celebrated another championship, and I was able to...
Published 7 months ago by John F. Jamele


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended presentation in crystal clear, blu ray quality!, November 26, 2013
Excellent, clear blu ray presentation of the 2013 Red Sox Season narrated by Ben Affleck. Starting with introductions of the new 2013 Red Sox players, right up unto the whole Boston Marathon bombing story, then quickly right thru the regular season and post season games. Superb Presentation!
This film will present David Ortiz's clear word-for-word verbatim (with subtitles) of what he said during his World series Game 4 rally-cry team meeting. So if you've ever wondered what Big Papi was saying to his troops...now you'll know!
If you're looking for more in depth highlights of the Regular Season and Post Season coverage, you will find it on the Bonus Disc, which is located inside the "Boston Red Sox 2013 World Series Collector's Edition" DVD or Blu ray. The Bonus Disc is not the same as this "Official 2013 World Series Film" presentation!
It's Bonus Features...
Clinching Celebrations
World Series Highlights
World Series Parade
Mission October: Red Sox
MLB Player Poll: Pedroia/Ortiz
Hall of Fame: 2013 World Series
"This Beard Came Here to Party" Music Video
President Obama Calls John Farrell
More Official MLB DVDs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing compared to the 2004 and 2007 versions, November 30, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 2013 World Series Film (DVD)
In 2004, my dream of a Red Sox World Championship came true- and a few months later, I was able to enjoy a recap of the events leading to that magic moment with the official World Series film of that year. The emotion, the drama, the suspense- everything was there in a job very well done. Three years later, the Red Sox celebrated another championship, and I was able to celebrate another brilliantly-done World Series DVD.

This year, I pre-ordered the WS DVD within days of the Red Sox winning their third title this century, received it on the day of it's release, and watched it immediately. What a disappointment.

First, the 2004 and 2007 versions featured a great deal of coverage concerning the Sox' opponents in the World Series- the Cardinals and the Rockies, respectively. This year, the National League Champions are almost ignored, as if they are bystanders in the final drama. But that's a minor quibble compared to the real problem in this DVD- it all comes off as very flat and dull- every interview of the players, coach and execs is from the same angle and same distance from the camera lens, clearly in the same studio and the same background (jeesh, the color of the background couldn't even be changed between interviews? Couldn't some of the interviews have been held outside at the park, or in the locker room, or ANYWHERE other than a studio in front of the same ugly screen?) It all comes off as very bland and repetitive, and the excitement doesn't come out at all.

The clips from the games are generally fine, but the best aren't always selected- I would rather relive what I saw on television than the view from some fan's camcorder in the stands. Also, I'd rather hear what I heard during the games- the use of several different color guys calling the same shot sounds disjointed and awkward, reminding the viewer that they are watching a DVD compilation, making it more difficult to relive the actual moment (Jumping from regular speed to slow-motion for the same play has the same effect.) I don't know why they always insist on doing this- when I watch one of these DVDs, I want to imagine as best I can that I am watching the game again. I don't want to be reminded that I'm watching a film made up of various clips.

Also unlike the 2004 and 2007 films, the regular season is barely touched on in this film. A lot of time (too much, in my opinion) is used reminding us of the Boston Marathon bombing. Yes, it was an important moment, and yes, it had a big impact on the team. But including so much of it in this DVD clearly meant sacrificing coverage of the season. One or two minutes on the bombing would have been appropriate- instead, it feels at times like this film is almost as much about the bombing as it is about the Red Sox winning the World Series again.

This is a good film- but unlike the 2004 and 2007 DVDs, it is not a GREAT film. It's really quite dull at times and comes off as hurried and by-the-numbers. I've watched the previous Sox WS DVDs many times each- I doubt I'll be popping this in the player anywhere near as often. Come on, MLB- you can do much better than this. I know, because you did in the past.

(Added after several viewings: The Bonus Chapters include the end of each series, which is done very well, and EVERY World Series hit by David Ortiz. By itself, the Bonus Chapters probably earn this DVD another star.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2013 World Champs, December 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 2013 World Series Film (DVD)
Wonderful film.
Watch it over and over and over.
Great moments and interviews.
Couldn't ask for a better 90 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up!👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍, December 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 2013 World Series Film (DVD)
It was great! It struck a good balance between game high lights and personal stories from those involved! Would recommend highly for any Red Sox fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awsome, December 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 2013 World Series Film (DVD)
being a big red sox fan and following them all season it was a thrill to relive it. I recommend this cd 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, June 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 2013 World Series Film (DVD)
I purchased this as a gift for my husband. He loves it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Piece of Red Sox History, June 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 2013 World Series Film (DVD)
This disc covers the Boston Red Sox 2013 post season play up to and including the World Series. Great piece of history for Red Sox and baseball fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD and recap of a very exciting post season, May 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 2013 World Series Film (DVD)
I bought this DVD and it has definately lived up to my expectations. It captures the trials and tribulations which made the post season so exciting especially being a big Red Sox fan living abroad. I highly recommend this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, April 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great Movie, quick delivery, would definitely recommend to other people thinking of buying this great Blu-Ray to any Boston Red Sox Fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked !!!, April 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 2013 World Series Film (DVD)
This was a gift for my husband and he was DELIGHTED with how well this DVD was filmed!!!!!! I have watched it also around 5 times now and I can watch it every time - like it is the first time I watched it - It is exciting, well paced and very interesting and informative - you can't get bored of it !!!
B RW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

2013 World Series Film
2013 World Series Film by Boston Red Sox: 2013 World Series Champions (DVD - 2013)
$29.98 $22.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.