Customer Reviews


172 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take a Break from Winter - It's Grammy Time!
The 2014 version of the Grammy Nominees is a solid album. There are a lot of stand-out songs in this collection. "Brave," for example, is brilliant, and it has a powerful social message, too. This year's collection includes some selections that are edgier and riskier than songs included in previous collections. With great risks, the highs can be higher than normal...
Published 6 months ago by Peggy A

versus
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wish it had other nominees
Instead of just the mainstream top-40 music that's been nominated, it would be awesome if they included other nominees on the album (Vampire Weekend, The National, etc). If the Grammys are about celebrating music, then why just pay attention to the stuff everyone knows already and give a little credit to great bands and artists that aren't as well known?
Published 6 months ago by A. Lee


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take a Break from Winter - It's Grammy Time!, January 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 2014 GRAMMY Nominees (Audio CD)
The 2014 version of the Grammy Nominees is a solid album. There are a lot of stand-out songs in this collection. "Brave," for example, is brilliant, and it has a powerful social message, too. This year's collection includes some selections that are edgier and riskier than songs included in previous collections. With great risks, the highs can be higher than normal ("Just Give Me a Reason"), but the lows can be lower than normal ("Retrograde").

The songs selected for this CD seemed to represent the different types of music more equally this year than has been the case in the past; previous collections have been more heavily weighted towards the pop charts than those selected this year. The collection also included multiple examples of blended genres ("Highway Don't Care" - country, pop and classic rock, for example), following a growing trend in the music industry.

A short overview of each song follows.

"Locked Out of Heaven," has a 1980's style introduction, and segues into a more modern dance song though the use of sound effects. The song is full of sexual innuendo, and some people (but not me) may consider the lyrics sacrilegious. ***WINNER - Best Pop Album, "Unorthodox Jukebox"***

"Blurred Lines," blends reggae with a 1970's disco beat and current day lingo, and then throws in some rap for good measure. The topic covered here is sexual fantasies about a good girl. The more explicit aspects of the lyrics have been glossed over, giving this song a bit of a blurry effect.

In "Royals," the singers reject the materialism of everyday society. They ( aren't into money or status symbols, and the music cleverly reflects that message. It's very creative. ***WINNER - Best Pop Solo***WINNER - Song of the Year***

"Radioactive" stats off in a peaceful manner, and the music changes dramatically when the singer wakes up to discover a nuclear bomb has gone off. From the time the singer wakes up, the beat is heavy, and the tempo is slow. The background music during the song sounds shaky, like a radio transmission being disrupted by interfering static. The gasping breath, in and then out adds an artistic touch.

"Get Lucky" is a good electronica dance song. The lyrics are sparse and could be interpreted as having a double meaning, the most obvious of the two meanings being the one with the sexual overtones. ***WINNER - Best Pop/Duo Group*** WINNER - Record of the Year"*** ***Winner - Album of the Year***

"Roar" is a fun pop song. I love the use of Mohammad Ali's, "Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee," which was very appropriate to the message of the song.

"Mirrors" is a nice, slow pop love song. Justin Timberlake demonstrates his potential as a songwriter, making me wonder what he'll be writing in ten years.

"Brave," is a soft pop song, with an important message about the power of standing up for yourself. Sara Bareilles has an terrific voice that is powerful and full of emotion. Wow!

"Same Love," starts with a simple piano introduction. Profound words of acceptance are voiced over the piano lines in this rap song. Mary Lambert sings each chorus, explaining that she is who she is, and that she loves her girlfriend. The song fades out with a Biblical reference and a soft piano. ***WINNER Best New Artist, Macklemore & Lewis***

"Retrograde," with its heavy dissonance sounds is one of the riskier songs in the collection. Do you like the sound of a balloon, when the air is being allowed to slowly escape from the value? No? Well, I don't like this song because the instrumentals sound like that squealing balloon to me. They just make me cringe. It's a funeral dirge that gasped its last breath and then somebody jumped up and down on it, trying to squeeze the last bit of air out of its lungs. You get the point. To be fair, James Blake sounds like he has a nice voice, but the quality of it is inconsistent in this song.

"Swimming Pools" is an original song, exploring the dangers of alcohol. During the song, Kendrick's conscience "speaks" to him. One of the singers has an extremely deep, bass voice.

"Lego House," is an easy listening song with a bit of a twist. Ed Sheeran sings so quickly during portions of the song that it makes me wonder if he's had training as an auctioneer. This is a beautiful love song.

"Just Give Me a Reason," a duet by Pink and Nate Ruess is one of the strongest songs on the albums. It's not fun! but it's definitely a great song. ;)

"Begin Again," allows Taylor Swift an opportunity to show off her singer/songwriting chops in this pop/country cross-over song about moving on and getting over an old boyfriend.

In a traditional country song, a series of "What is your..." questions are posed. Blake Shelton sings the question, followed by the answer, "Mine Would Be You." That silken voice punches out the lyrics.

It is amazing the number of ways 'Mary' can be used, as shown in "Merry Go `Round." The style of this song is blue-grass, with the sounds of a banjo being plucked. Kacey Musgraves has a sweet voice, softening the gloominess of the lyrics. ***WINNER - Best Country Album***

The song "Highway Don't Care" is another example of a great duet created by the collaboration of two mega-stars. The use of a song within a song is very clever, and I love that electric guitar!

Finally, "Take a Little Ride with You," is a good country song about enjoying the open road in your pickup and your woman.

Take advantage of an opportunity to take a mini-break from the freezing temperatures, buy this CD, and put it on play. With music this good, the temperature won't seem quite so bad.

UPDATED 1/26/2014 with results and additional thoughts

With a staggering number of nominees every year, the list of nominees who were not included on this album is always long. Although I've often wondered why some artists, who seemed like obvious choices were not included, I have always tried to rate the current year's album on the music that is included (which is almost always fabulous), rather than the music that is not included. All of the winners can be seen at the official Grammy dot... website.

In the spirit of recognition of those lost on the cutting room floor, some winners who were not included on the album, but who received their nominations live during the Grammy Awards include:

WINNER - Best Rock Song "Cut Me Some Slack" by Dave Grohl, Paul McCartney, Krist Novoselic & Pat Smear.

WINNER - Best Rap/Sung Collaboration "Holy Grail" Jay Z and Beyoncé.

WINNER - Music Educator Award Kent Knappenberger 1st Year awarded. A new and wonderful category! Thanks to all music educators! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Grammy Nominees CD, January 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 2014 GRAMMY Nominees (Audio CD)
I love the 2014 Grammy Nominees CD. I buy the Grammy Nominees CD every year and this CD does not disappoint with 18 of the best selling songs of the year. I also like the fact that I can AutoRip this CD. This means that I can play or download the MP3 version of the album for free. What a great deal. I highly recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wish it had other nominees, January 25, 2014
By 
A. Lee (Devon, Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 2014 GRAMMY Nominees (Audio CD)
Instead of just the mainstream top-40 music that's been nominated, it would be awesome if they included other nominees on the album (Vampire Weekend, The National, etc). If the Grammys are about celebrating music, then why just pay attention to the stuff everyone knows already and give a little credit to great bands and artists that aren't as well known?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed most of the songs on this disc., January 28, 2014
By 
This review is from: 2014 GRAMMY Nominees (Audio CD)
My favorite track is "Same Love" by Mackelmore and Ryan Lewis. This is the first rap song that touches me. This song is about having acceptance of every person regardless of their sexual orientation. This is the strongest lyrical resonant song on the disc. "Brave" by Sara Bareilles is another song that speaks to me lyrically. This song makes me feel strong and to be afraid to say what I feel. I am a big fan of Pink. "Just Give Me A Reason" is a great pop duet. I never thought I would like a song by Justin Timberlake. I must confess that "Mirrors" is a song that has grown on me in the last year. I like this song very much.

I am not a big country fan, but I must confess that I like every country song on here. "Merry Go Round" features superb banjo playing. This is the happiest song about dysfunctional lives I have ever heard. Jason Aldean proves that country tunes can be simple subjects like taking a pretty girl out for a ride in a truck. "Take A Little Ride" is a country song that really rocks. Taylor Swift proves that she is a talent as a solo artist with the pretty song "Begin Again". She also teams up on a touching duet entitled "Highway Don't Care". Blake Shelton has the kind of voice that touches me on the song "Mine Would Be You". I like this romantically sensitive country song.

This disc also contains great dance jams like "Locked Out Of Heaven", "Blurred Lines" and "Get Lucky". I'm sure I would hear these three tunes the next time I am in a club or at a party. I could not get into the song "Radioactive" lyrically, but I think it has a good beat to it. I couldn't get into the song "Swimming Pools". This song just turned me off lyrically with the use of the N word. "Lego House" is another song that did not appeal to me. I think Ed Sheeran's voice does not have a tone in his voice that makes want to pay attention to him. I just wanted to share my opinion about this disc. I really enjoyed most of the songs on this Grammy compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loooveee it...., January 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 2014 GRAMMY Nominees (Audio CD)
My 10 year old daughter and I have been rocking this CD everyday since receiving it. All the songs we like and best of all they are kid friendly. It's a nice mixture of several genres.

Love it. Love it. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2014 Grammy Medley, July 23, 2014
This review is from: 2014 GRAMMY Nominees (Audio CD)
I purchased this Grammy Awards 2014 cd around at least 3-4 months ago at my Walmart job. There are 18 songs on this cd from some of today’s popular artists across various music genres. For instance, the GrammyAwards 2014 cd starts out with the “Locked Out of Heaven” pop/rock song by Bruno Mars and ends with the contemporary country song “Take A Little Ride” by Jason Aldean. Grammy Awards 2014 is great for those who like to listen to an eclectic range of music by various artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Variety, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 2014 GRAMMY Nominees (Audio CD)
My son loves a variety of music and this hits the spot in the car for sure! Not much more you can say really...it is what it is on the winners and the music provided.

Be advised the case was broken upon arrival, but that that didn't reflect my opinion on the CD. If the case is important to you then don't buy through the mail since there is always a chance it could arrive damaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good mix., March 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 2014 GRAMMY Nominees (Audio CD)
I've been buying the Grammy Nominees CD every year since 1998. It has become pure habit at this point. This year's selection of songs is good but not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Smattering of Popular Music Today!, March 18, 2014
By 
Penelope From SC (Ninety Six, SC USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 2014 GRAMMY Nominees (Audio CD)
It's a good representation of hit music for the year, but I think it was a little bit of an off year...not quite up to par.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is what it is, March 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 2014 GRAMMY Nominees (Audio CD)
Enjoy most of the songs, but isn't really anything special! Very good for people that truly enjoy a wide variety of music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

2014 GRAMMY Nominees
2014 GRAMMY Nominees by GRAMMY Nominees (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.