Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All sides shown...
The Pointer Sisters are an amazing band. Have a listen to the tracks here and you'll hear the most diverse group in the history of music. It may not have all the hits, but this cd does a good job of showing what an amazing talent they are. Most of the groups Blue Thumb hits are here along with later highlights. If all you know is I'm So Excited... Listen up!
Published on August 7, 2004 by WAYNE ALLAN DICKSON

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Anemic collection -- more Bonnie, please!!
This is a very anemic and disparate collection of Pointer Sisters music throughout their career. This hardly does this unique group justice. The only thing that is really special here is the re-release of Bonnie Pointer's solo work. Why doesn't someone just re-release the first two CD's of Bonnie's work on Motown?

If you are looking for the best of the...
Published on August 12, 2004 by Ross


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All sides shown..., August 7, 2004
By 
WAYNE ALLAN DICKSON (Glasgow, Lanarkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 20th Century Masters: Millennium Collection (Audio CD)
The Pointer Sisters are an amazing band. Have a listen to the tracks here and you'll hear the most diverse group in the history of music. It may not have all the hits, but this cd does a good job of showing what an amazing talent they are. Most of the groups Blue Thumb hits are here along with later highlights. If all you know is I'm So Excited... Listen up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What A Surprise!, October 22, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 20th Century Masters: Millennium Collection (Audio CD)
I wasn't sure how I would take to this collection due to the omissions of most of the songs that made the Pointer Sisters dance divas of the 1980's. But many folks have forgotten, or were too young at the time to realize that the Pointer Sisters had another decade of hits before the one most remembered. This compilation focuses on much of their early material, as a quartet before sister Bonnie left for a solo career. And the two songs Bonnie was most noted for as a solo artist conclude this collection. Also included are great funk/r&b gems that the Pointers made fab during the 70's like "How Long," "Going Down Slowly," "You Gotta Believe," and "Yes We Can Can." The funk grooves are serious and the gospel flavor in all four voices allow the sisters to make their voices sound like they're adding a new instrument to complete a song. A fantastic compilation awaits here and for those who loved the Pointer Sisterts throughout the 80's, as I did, I encourage you to study how it all began because you'll find how they've always had a wealth of talent combined with a superb musical philosophy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE this collection!, February 5, 2012
By 
How can anybody not love every single little thing the Pointer Sisters have done? The excitement and harmonies are some of the most invigorating, charming and wonderful musical production to come of their time. Never tire of listening to them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THROWBACK THEATER: The versitile ones-Pt. 1., March 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 20th Century Masters: Millennium Collection (Audio CD)
From rock/blues to country to pop to r&b to solo....these were the Pointer Sisters. Harmonic and stylish, in a 50'ish sort of way, until the 80's, these ladies brought the music with them. This complilation gives a sample of what they accomplished in their time together. They were the girl group that rained on the charts, and this selection is by no means a total collection, but a sample of what they gave to the public, and what they gave was talent abound. GO LADIES!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Ponter Sisters Millenium Edition, February 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 20th Century Masters: Millennium Collection (Audio CD)
The Ponter Sisters Millenium Edition was purchased for my sister Robin.

I believe that she is enjoying the music immensely.

Kindest regards,

Michael Price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love it !, December 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 20th Century Masters: Millennium Collection (Audio CD)
This is the second greatest hits CD I bought of the lovely Pointer Sisters. Although the first one is good it was missing alot of their earlier work and I'm glad this one includes Bonnie's single. I've played this CD non-stop since I got it. These ladies could show alot of these young singers today a thing or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pointer Sisters 20th Century Masters: Millennium Collection, November 28, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (PAINESVILLE, OH, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 20th Century Masters: Millennium Collection (Audio CD)
Bought this CD to because I like the Pointer Sister's music. Have a few vinyl albums and am replacing them with CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits, July 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 20th Century Masters: Millennium Collection (Audio CD)
Greatest Hits from the Pointer Sisters including Bonnie's solo hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, July 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 20th Century Masters: Millennium Collection (Audio CD)
It is nice to find a CD that includes Bonnie Pointer's hits from 79.....I graduated from high school in 79 and Bonnie Pointer and Donna Summer were big in the clubs.....Love the CD.....Great product......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Anemic collection -- more Bonnie, please!!, August 12, 2004
By 
Ross "Ross" (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 20th Century Masters: Millennium Collection (Audio CD)
This is a very anemic and disparate collection of Pointer Sisters music throughout their career. This hardly does this unique group justice. The only thing that is really special here is the re-release of Bonnie Pointer's solo work. Why doesn't someone just re-release the first two CD's of Bonnie's work on Motown?

If you are looking for the best of the "Pointer Sisters," I suggest you do a search on Yahoo. There are a CD's of the sisters' early work on Blue Thumb, as well as their work with Richard Perry through the 80's. You can also find imports of the sister's best CD's.

Unless you're a die hard fan, like me, and love Bonnie Pointer, that is the only reason to buy this. And for the price, this is not a bad deal. Looks like this is the only place one is going to find Bonnie Pointer on CD right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

20th Century Masters: Millennium Collection
20th Century Masters: Millennium Collection by Pointer Sisters (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.