Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Midwestern party band
Head East never really made it as far as big-time musicians go unless you grew up in the Midwest in the '70s. And that's a shame, because some of their best albuns like "Gettin' Lucky" are not yet available on CD. This band and REO Speedwagon were big favorites at the University of Illinois;... Anyway, this band has a little bit of Styx, Yes and Boston in them, all mixed...
Published on November 15, 2002 by Mark R. Van Wagenen

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Head East is worth a listen
I was impressed by some of the guitar playing. "Never Been Any Reason" is definitely the best song overall, while several of the others are quite good.
Published on February 24, 2006 by James Frick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Midwestern party band, November 15, 2002
Head East never really made it as far as big-time musicians go unless you grew up in the Midwest in the '70s. And that's a shame, because some of their best albuns like "Gettin' Lucky" are not yet available on CD. This band and REO Speedwagon were big favorites at the University of Illinois;... Anyway, this band has a little bit of Styx, Yes and Boston in them, all mixed together with a hard-rock edge while staying clean and crisp. Keyboardist Roger Boyd was a big part of the richness of their music, along with an above-average ability to harmonize their vocals. Until all their albums are available on CD, you'll do well with this compliation. "Never Been Any Reason", of course (the only track you ever hear on the radio) leads it off, although 'Jefftown Creek", which led off Side 2 of their debut album, is better, a tale of that first encounter. Maybe my favorite track on this album is "Monkey Shine", which was taken off their second album "Get Yourself Up", a short, hard-charging number with a great keyboard solo. "Gettin' Lucky", the title track from their third album, is another party classic ("well you know, another night another number gettin' lucky"). "Since You Been Gone", another minor radio hit, is also here as well as "Keep A Secret", a disco-y track taken off the not-so-great "A Different Kind of Crazy" album (that one IS available on CD, go figure. "Take A Hand" is taken off their live album, which is also available and recommended. Hopefully, someday great tracks on their albums not on CD like "Call to Arms and Legs", "The Victim", "Back in My Own Hands" and "Love My Blues Away" will become available, but until then, this collection is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Southern rock?, August 19, 2005
This collection includes all the classics by this really cool Midwestern band that had all the ingredients to go a lot further than they did but for some inexplicable reason, fell through the cracks after about four or five releases. My only question is for the reviewer who thought they sounded like a southern rock band...that same person also said no other southern rock band (not that these guys even WERE southern at all) used keyboards (pardon me, but what is that instrument heard all through Sweet Home Alabama and Free Bird if it's not a keyboard?) Minor quibbles I know...this was some of the coolest MIDWESTERN rock and roll to come along about the same time Styx broke wide open and REO Speedwagon wasn't far behind. My other comment about this collection would be that I'd pick it up not so much for the inclusion of "Never Been Any Reason" (that's why I got Flat as a Pancake) but for their excellent version of Russ Ballard's classic "Since You've been Gone" (worth the price of admission all by itself). Barring the eventual release of "Get yourself Up" and their self titled album with the road sign cover, if this is the only way to get at least SOME of their great stuff, by all means pay your money and put the headphones on. This is GREAT '70s classic rock, bar none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Anthology Of An Underrated Band, October 20, 2002
By A Customer
Head East were like a more progressive version of the Outlaws, combining a rural influence with prog-rock keyboards. This collection contains most- but not all- of their best material. It would have been nice to have more of their live material here, and the disco number "Keep A Secret", should have been left off altogether, as it is not representative of the group's true sound. These minor quibbles aside, THE MILLENNIUM COLLECTION is an excellent anthology of an underrated band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Collection - All my favorites, November 19, 2001
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A really excellent collection. I totally enjoyed this as it has the studio versions of all of my favorite songs from the LIVE LP which still rocks - too bad they don't rerelease that on CD in its entirety. You can't go wrong with this one as they are all of the popular classics without any bad ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Head East's lead singer, July 21, 2009
This review is from: 20th Century Masters: The Millennium Collection: Best Of Head East (MP3 Music)
Head East's lead singer, John Schlitt, has been one of my favorite vocalists since the mid 80's. Some of the fans that commented before may not be aware that he went on to sell millions of albums with the band Petra. My personal favorites from that band are Back to the street, This means war, and Beyond belief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Compilation--Brings Justice To Head East!!, January 30, 2008
Head East hit it big with the radio hit 'Never Been Any Reason' from their 1975 debut 'Flat As A Pancake.' If you've heard of Head East, that song is probably the reason why.

This is the first and only Head East collection on the market, and it's a great one. This has 12 essential songs that all classic rock fans should discover. Read on for the positives and negatives.

Positives
-'Never Been Any Reason' and 'Gettin' Lucky,' the band's two biggest hits are here.
-THERE ARE PLENTY OF GREAT SONGS THAT DIDN'T GET MUCH FM AIRPLAY! 'Jefftown Creek,' 'Take A Hand,' 'Keep A Secret,' and 'Man I Wanna Be' are just awesome songs that deserve tons of radio airplay.
-It fills about an 57 of the 80 minutes on the disc, so it's not by any means skimpy.
Negatives
None.

This is an essential record for all classic rock fans to have. If you've never heard of them, you should definitely check out this record. This is great classic rock. An excellent purchase. ENJOY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Feel-Good Rock. If you like KANSAS or STYX give it a try., July 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Brings back the good old days of the late Seventies. If you're familiar with them you know "Never Been Any Reason" was the bands only hit song. I've know that one word for word for thirty years, but I was curious if there might be a hidden gem in the Head East collection. Well, all the songs are pretty good. "Get Up And Enjoy Yourself" is mighty good. Upbeat, nice guitar, good vocals. The other song worth hearing is "Take A Hand". It's Live. Got a good melody that'll grow on you. They are ALL GOOD SONGS. Roger Boyd sounds just like Tommy Shaw and that's NOT A BAD THING. If you like STYX or KANSAS you might want to give these boys a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, March 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got "Never Been Any Reason" stuck in my head and decided I needed the CD. The price was right and I got the MP3 download for free. I was listening to the album 10 minutes after ordering it. That's why I love ordering music from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it great selction of the band, January 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Makes a great contribution to my music portfolio. Enjoy it as it brings back great memories! I recommend it to everyone who enjoys music especially 80's rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Head East, January 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This CD came in quickly & in excellent condition also! This CD really brings me back to my earlier years as I remember many nights of rocking out to this album with many of my friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.