Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 May The Best Garden Be Yours Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals Holiday Music in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now DOTD

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon April 11, 2000
This is not a bad CD but it is not great either. The most glaring omission is Springfield's "Son of a Preacher Man". The sound is standard so there are no glaring flaws though it could be argued that it should have been enhanced from the analog stream.
I think for the few extra dollars if you do not want to shell out for the 3 CD Boxset is to get the Very Best of Dusty which has 20+ tracks and is more representative of her work.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on March 18, 2007
Very poor sound quality. For example, if you compare Stay Awhile & I Only Want To Be With You on this recording to the originals on the album: "Stay Awhile--I Only Want To Be With You" or the album: "OOOOEEEEE!" you will find that these are muddy renditions with the highs muffled and the very life of the songs squashed. I have several different CDs of many of the songs and I know.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon February 6, 2007
This is a 1999 compilation of Dusty Springfield's biggest British and American hits, with the glaring exception of "Son of a Preacher Man." The market seems to have decreed that considering this lack, and the muffled sound of this CD, it's best to spend a few bucks more on one of the other compilations, and the market is generally right. Still, if you love the greatest pop diva produced by the United Kingdom-- and the finest white, blue-eyed soul singer of her generation, the late 1960's-early 1970's-- there's plenty to recommend here.

Springfield had a big strong sensual voice, great power, yet sensitivity. She delivers an exciting, big beat, Phil Spector-sized, wall-of-sound, pounding-drum opening "I Only Want To Be With You," that can match Spector's wife Ronnie for aggressive sexuality. Then she does a sophisticated, seductive "Look of Love;" Burt Bacharach wrote it for her, and Dionne Warwick never forgave her for it. She's out there again sexually on "Wishin' and Hopin'," and "You Don't Have to Say You Love Me." She was, as an artist, always very aware of what her American cohort was doing: in addition to Spector's girl groups, she greatly admired the Motown girl groups, particularly Martha and The Vandellas; and then there was her venture into country, the unforgettable "Dusty in Memphis." She is also surprisingly emotionally open -- for a Brit; perhaps as a result, her songs retain their emotional resonance still. But she was unable to read or write music and therefore dependent on others for her material, her arrangements: this led to some recording sessions of legendary frustration.

Dusty was the childhood nickname of the tomboy Mary Catherine O'Brien, born in Ealing, West London on April 16, 1939. She had big hair, raccoon eyes, and several British television shows. She was also relatively open, for her time, about her sexual ambidexterity. She was once deported from South Africa for refusing to perform to a segregated audience. She had her emotional problems: the 1970's saw chronic drug and alcohol abuse, suicide attempts, and hospitalizations, as a result of which she was artistically inactive for a couple of decades. But she came back big with the Pet Shop Boys in the 1990s. She died, unfortunately young, of breast cancer, on March 3, 1999, just about the time she was being inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and being given the British honor,an OBE.

Some of us have loved her work, all along, in real time; and, for us, this compilation will certainly do.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on February 1, 2003
This is a superb DUSTY SPRINGFIELD collection for the casual listener and fan of her mid-1960's solo period. Mostly what is included on this disc is her Phillips Records output, which is a division of the Universal-Polygram Records Group, as are all artists from the Decca-MCA-related/Mercury Records/Polydor Records/A&M Records/Motown Records/etc.-etc. companies which were absorbed through the years by the the Universal-Polygram group. All the original record companies' catalogues of many of these artists were recorded during different periods of their careers are now owned by the above group. DUSTY SPRINGFIELD recorded for about 5 to 7 different record companies throughout her long career. Her ATLANTIC RECORDS recordings, "Son Of A Preacher Man" period are from her "Dusty In Memphis - Brand New Me - Dusty In London(The Lost Recordings)" albums of her critically acclaimed late 60's period and are available through Rhino-Atlantic reissues, and ATLANTIC RECORDS is part of the Time-Warner/Warner-Elektra-Atlantic conglomerate. In some cases(Aaron Neville-Linda Ronstadt on his 20th Century Masters Collection)artists who record for different companies are occasionally allowed to record with other artists contractually. You can find most of an artist's recorded output at AMAZON.COM - IF IT'S STILL IN PRINT & PRODUCTION, and always found here at AMAZON.COM if it's not available in stores. I hope this explanation helps music fans understand why some recordings are not included, other than the artist may have not wanted it reissued, which is rare. I highly recommend the above three recordings by DUSTY if you want to explore her "Son Of A Preacher Man" era of the late 60's-early 70's which were tragically not hits - save that one song, but fit perfectly right into the Atlantic/STAX Records recordings of the era. DUSTY sparkles, smolders, burns and steam rolls like a veteran R&B singer throughout each and every track on those three discs, enchanting and leaving the listener deeply mesmerized by her soulful delivery.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
20th Century Masters: The Best Of Dusty Springfield is yet another in this CD series of mediocre efforts to make a quick buck by placing as few tracks as possible on the CD. Yes, what we do get is very wonderful material and songs by Dusty; but they could have and should have added at least one or two more songs. The sound quality is rather good and the artwork is typical for this series.

"I Only Want To Be With You" starts off the track set with Dusty at her best and a lush musical orchestration. Dusty never sounded better and this is easily a highlight of this album. Dusty's voice is as clear as a bell and her excellent diction bolsters her performance even more.

"Stay Awhile" is a beautiful love ballad that features Dusty front and center with a very solid group on backup to support her. We again get a lush musical arrangement and Dusty delivers this number with passion; she sings wonderfully of a woman who wants more romantic time alone with her man. Listen also for "Wishin' And Hopin';" this has a distinct `60s light rock beat to it; and the percussion works very well on this number. Dusty takes "Wishin' And Hopin'" and she makes it all her own with her very sensitive interpretation of this fine number.

"You Don't Have To Say You Love Me" has an incredible melody for a torch song that still tugs at my heartstrings every time I hear it; Dusty sings this to perfection and the changes between tempos and keys enhance the natural beauty of this song.

"The Look Of Love" gets a very touching treatment from Dusty, who is able to convey all the romantic nuances of every word she sings. The percussion and strings work very well for "The Look Of Love," too. "What's It Gonna Be" places Dusty's vocals squarely in the spotlight and her backup singers never miss a beat, either! I really like "What's It Gonna Be."

The CD ends with Dusty performing "Give Me Time." "Give Me Time" showcases a woman's pain at losing her man. Dusty sings this with all her heart and soul and it shows when you listen to this. Great!

Overall, I have no gripe with these wonderful tracks by Dusty. My complaint is that there's just no way twelve tracks could ever be considered "The Best Of Dusty Springfield." I will take off two stars for this to make this a three star review. Indeed, this CD is truly best suited for a causal fan who wants just a few of Dusty's best songs; a more enthusiastic fan will never be satisfied with this. These diehard fans can find other CDs with more to them on this website.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon May 31, 2007
I would give it a five star but the omission of Son of A Preacher Man is clearly the reason. It was one of her biggest hits of her career. Anyway, they could have used a couple of her more modern rather than just focused on the sixties where she peaked. The obvious hits are still here but the omission of Preacher Man makes you ask yourself why was it omitted. If I produced the biggest hits of Michael Jackson, I wouldn't forget Billie Jean would I? No, of course not, an explanation would be nice like maybe they didn't get the rights to some songs. The Millennium soluting the twentieth century artists like Dusty Springfield and Joan Armatrading are worth the price even if it's incomplete.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on June 10, 2001
While I have no problem with the selection of songs (it contains all her great hits from Philips), I can't believe that this was remastered at all judging from the lousy sound quality. With the technology out there today, they should be ashamed to even put this out.I give it 3 stars only because it's better than nothing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 14, 2008
This is a very good CD of some of Dusty Springfield's best work. Not a complete collection, but has some of her best and special songs.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2007
I've just received this great CD and find that the selection of Dusty's hits to be representative of her career on the top-40 charts. Some on this forum complain that the collection is not 'complete', but the 20th Century Masters series has never claimed to be complete collections of any artist, but a representative sampling of their talents.

The remastering on my copy is pristine. Those who give the album a low rating based on this malady have recourse. Even Amazon will exchange a disc for the same title if it is indeed defective. Since mine isn't, then the problem obviously does not reside in the remastering process.

Dusty's music experienced a resurgence by being featured on the soundtrack of the Julia Roberts' vehicle 'My Best Friend's Wedding', which opened with a breathy rendition of 'Wishin' and Hopin' to great effect.

I think this is an excellent album. 5 Stars out of 5.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on January 3, 2003
First off, the 3 stars isn't for Dusty Springfield or her music...those deserve 5. But this collection could've been better. First off, as already mentioned, the sound quality is a bit questionable. The other big problem is the annoying ommision of "Son of A Preacher Man" which was one of her biggest hits. I bought the album mainly for two songs which are the 60's pop classic "I Only Want To Be With You" and the gorgeous ballad "You Don't Have To Say You Love Me." Also included is the 60's pop staple "Wishin and Hopin" and the seductive ballad "The Look of Love." Other gems are "All I See Is You," "Little By Little," and "I'll Try Anything."
If you are a casual fan or just curious *like me* this is an ok buy, but if you are looking for a little more, I would look elsewhere.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Gold by Dusty Springfield

A Girl Called Dusty
A Girl Called Dusty by Dusty Springfield

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.