Customer Reviews


146 Reviews
5 star:
 (122)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Clock Is Still Ticking...
24 has always been a fast paced thriller, and while it may have faltered a bit towards the end of it's original run, it returns with a vengeance. 8 hours into this 12 episode season, the show has continued to build momentum, and has not stopped in this latest installment in the series. These past 8 hours have been full of action, suspense, intrigue, and wonderful...
Published 6 months ago by College Student AQ

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars japanese has been recorded?
Does this disk is of the detail that there is no information only and language is English and Spanish, but Japanese has been recorded?
Published 1 month ago by Kazuhito Suyama


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Clock Is Still Ticking..., June 17, 2014
This review is from: 24: Live Another Day [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
24 has always been a fast paced thriller, and while it may have faltered a bit towards the end of it's original run, it returns with a vengeance. 8 hours into this 12 episode season, the show has continued to build momentum, and has not stopped in this latest installment in the series. These past 8 hours have been full of action, suspense, intrigue, and wonderful performances from the whole cast.

So far I see this ranking among some of 24's best seasons, unless the final 4 episodes in this 24 hour day (there will be a 12 hour time jump at some point) take a steep drop in quality.

Here's hoping that doesn't come to pass. This review will be updated at some point after the end of the season.

EDIT: Now that the final episode of Live Another Day has aired, it's time to continue this review.

The last 4 episodes of Live Another Day continued to build upon what the first 8 hours had done. Character's motivations remained clear, the narrative was fast paced and tight, and most importantly everyone got a chance to shine in their own way. These last 4 hours contain one of 24's most surprising twists as well.

Once the ball got rolling at the start of the season, it never stopped, and only continued to build momentum, resulting in one of 24's best seasons. These last 4 hours were some of 24's best, and this season (12 episodes) is one of 24's best, right up there with Season 4 and Season 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best 24 season yet., July 16, 2014
This review is from: 24: Live Another Day (DVD)
When I heard that 24 was going to come back for a short season (and hopefully more) I was very excited but also worried because I didn't think that it was possible to top the ending of the 8th season. I am a very big 24 fan and can say that this is one of the best seasons, if not the best. 24 Live Another Day started out a little slow but got intense extremely fast. The ending was the best ending 24 has ever has in my opinion. This is a must buy for 24 fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE HOUR OF THE POWER OF BAUER HAS RETURNED FOR ONE MORE (HALF) DAY., June 27, 2014
This review is from: 24: Live Another Day [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Preface: This review is writted with the finale episode left.

For the last four years, there has been an on-again/off-again discussion about making Fox's groundbreaking action thriller 24 into a feature film. That idea kept falling apart though, and it's no wonder. The whole conceit of 24 is that it's a thriller that plays out in real time, and for a two-hour feature film, that just doesn't work. However, fans of the show, like myself, held out hope that we would see the death-defying adventures of former Federal Agent Jack Bauer (played with gusto each of the show's previous eight seasons with gusto by Kiefer Sutherland) once again in some form. Well, we got at least half of our wish. Show creators Howard Gordon and Robert Cochran, as well as executive producers Manny Coto, David Fury and Sutherland himself have created 24: LIVE ANOTHER DAY, a 12-hour/12-episode mini series which brings Jack Bauer back for half of his usual day, but with more than likely, the same amount of mayhem, chaos, destruction and thrills.

While the show embraces the format, it doesn't do it immediately. For the first six minutes of the first episode, we find ourselves in London, where a CIA strike team has found a target of high value that they are looking to capture. This target is Jack Bauer. If you remember the events of the final full season of 24, Jack had been branded a traitor when he was looking to assassinate the Russian President (for reasons that are too numerous to list here), and had been helped to escape by his only living friend, the intrepid Chloe O'Brian (reprised here by the irrepressible Mary Lynn Rasjkub), and for the last four years, Jack has been on the run and under the radar. Once Bauer is captured, though, the show begins the real-time format. As per usual, Jack has his reasons for being in London on this particular day, and has his reasons for the CIA allowing his capture. The president of this season is James Heller (reprised by William Devane), the former secretary of defense and father to the one-time love of Jack's life Audrey Raines (reprised by Kim Raver), and the president, his chief of staff Mark Boudreau (Tate Donovan), who is now Audrey's husband, have come to London to make sure that the Prime Minister (Stephen Fry) and Parliament will allow the US to renew its lease on British soil for one of the bases of their drone program. However, President Heller is in danger, according to Jack. He has found out that Chloe is in CIA custody for being part of a Wikileaks-type of hacktivist group called Open Cell, and he's allowed his capture so that he may escape and free her as well so that he can enlist her help to find out what the threat is. Thrown into the mix as well is London CIA station chief Steve Navarro (Benjamin Bratt), Open Cell's figurehead Adrian Cross (Michael Wincott), as well as CIA agent Alex Morgan (Yvonne Strahovski), who is about to be transferred back to the States in disgrace, but she thinks much along the same lines as Bauer does. The threatening party consists of the family of Margot Al-Harazi (GAME OF THRONES' Michelle Fairley), who is hijacking US drones via the ultimate maguffin to attack London to retaliate for her fundamentalist husband's assassination by a Heller-ordered drone strike. Jack's past with Heller and Audrey also come into play as he seems to, once again, be the only person capable enough of stopping this destruction. So lives will be lost, sacrifices will be made, and lives will be shattered whether by the violence of the day, or the duplicity of certain characters that has remained a constant throughout 24's history. As the season comes to a close, though, a wonderful and shocking appearance by a very compelling past villain in the show's history returns to haunt Jack, Chloe and Audrey, and it makes the stakes even more personal and with even greater stakes.

Make no mistake; despite the fact that it's only 12 hours long, this is VERY much 24. Everything you love about the show is here, but also everything you don't love about the show is here as well. The action beats are great, the tension is palpable, and the performances are, by and large, very good. However, the show does get extremely bogged down in its various subplots: Morgan's ex-husband's sale of secrets to China right under her nose, Heller's secret health condition, Mark's back-channel dealings with the Russians who want Bauer's head, Chloe's recent tragedy, Margot's dealings with her daughter Simone (Emily Berrington), and that the reason for Heller's visit is to RENEW A LEASE, which apparently is so important, it will be the most important part of his presidency. Really? They couldn't have thought of anything more... I don't know... seemingly important? The show's political overtones are present as well, and couldn't be more current in regards to our country's current drone policy. The show, however, is smart enough to neither approve nor condemn, but allow the viewer to be the judge.

From a writing standpoint, the show has never been particularly strong in dialogue, with the exceptions of Jack and Chloe usually having the only really good lines, and that's not really different here. The characters are mostly, again also par for the course, pretty one-dimensional, until something actually happens. The actors do their best with them, such as Fairley's work with the one-note Margot, Fry as the stuffed-shirt PM, and Wincott with the initially bland Cross. The weakest link (once again) is Raver as Audrey, who has always been the least interesting or compelling of Jack's love interests. If this were a full season, they might have more time to dedicate to showing how the trauma that Jack is at least partially responsible for (back from season six, easily the show's weakest) might be brought to bear in her character, but she seems to exist either as a bland plot device or as a potential prize for Jack to win back at the expense of Mark, who is the man who had to help Audrey pick of the pieces of her life that Jack shattered. The show's brightest new star is definitely Strahovski, who is another strong female companion to Jack, smart and determined and ready to bring as much badassery as her male counterparts, much as Renee Walker was in the final season, but has a strong enough definition of character to stand out on her own. But again, it's Sutherland and Rajskub who walk away with the best moments and the best work.

24: LIVE ANOTHER DAY is certainly a worthy addition to the 24 franchise, because it brought everything back for presumably one last go, and while it might not reach the heights or some of the other seasons, it's enough to keep you in suspense and keep you guessing where it will go and how it will end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Television Series Ever Returns!, June 9, 2014
This review is from: 24: Live Another Day [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Jack is back and better than ever. This is hands down the best television show that has ever been made. Buy it, watch it. You will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Bauer lives on as the absolute best federal agent and 24 is still the most exciting ..., July 14, 2014
This review is from: 24: Live Another Day (DVD)
Jack Bauer lives on as the absolute best federal agent and 24 is still the most exciting TV series ever! For most of us die hard fans this isn't enough, we need more!!! Please tell us there is more to come since 12 hrs just isn't enough!!! FOX eluded to more on the DVD 24-Live Another Day release but there's no specifics?? I will purchase this to complete my collection and hoping there's additional footage not shown????
I'm praying this was a test run to judge the fan reaction and see if they need to bring 24 back for more full seasons to come, as in season 10 and so on!!
At least I know they left the door open since Jack is still alive that we can have more!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This season of 24 was a very good season but not the best, July 15, 2014
This review is from: 24: Live Another Day [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This review is about the show itself, not about the Blu-ray since it's not out yet. I'm not going to post spoilers, other than what people have seen in the trailers.

This season of 24 was a very good season but not the best, which is why it only gets 4 stars. I'm not a fan of the 12 episode season, it's called "24" for a reason and removing 12 hours of isn't a good idea.

A lot of the characters are back but one distinctly missing is Carlos Bernard (Tony). I know bringing him back would have taking some creativity in the writing but I do miss that character. I'm not a fan of Chloe's new "Goth" look but she played her character great. James Heller does an EXCELLENT job as President and I'm glad Audrey was brought back.

The story line was very well written and I can see why it's only 12 episodes but I'm just not a fan of a 12 episode season, it went by too fast.

Overall this season is a top 5 season, but it's not even close to the best season of them all.... Season 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Bauer -- America's Favorite Serial Killer!, September 25, 2014
By 
Corey Lidster (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 24: Live Another Day (DVD)
Jack Bauer is back, the man for whom 1 week and 2 days lasted 9 years... or if we're going by series continuity, like two decades. Kiefer's looking a bit leathery and weird at times, but he's still convincing as the psychopathic little thug who decapitated a prisoner just to use his severed head as a gift for those hard-to-please right-wing Timothy McVeigh-types (Season 2 - A fruit basket might have done the trick, but he doesn't do anything half-way). This time out, Jack is still considered a terrorist by his own government following his 'Day 8' rampage. Despite Bauer's best efforts, the one Middle-Eastern leader who was willing to sign a peace agreement was killed. He discovered that the gangsters behind the assassination were acting on behalf of the Russian government. But when one of these assassins killed Renee Walker, a.k.a. the chick he'd been sleeping with for... 2 hours, well -- 'this time, it's personal' (thankfully, he didn't say that; one of Jack Bauer's most laudable attributes is his ability to commit murder without delivering the cheesy puns that cheapen a beautiful act of violence between consenting adults). So he went on a delightful murder spree, concluded with a tasteful disemboweling and a baker's dozen of dead Russian diplomats. It seemed fair enough, but bureaucrats and politicians frown on that sort of thing, particularly his attempt to butcher the Russian president.

Four years have passed (which should bring the series up to around 2025, but everyone's still using the same i-phones and androids, which is sad), and like every other decent, hard-working terrorist, Jack heads for England. As it turns out, Chloe's in England too, skipping the Tate Gallery for sodium pentothal and waterboarding in some MI6 spook-shop dungeon. The London CIA field office is just a couple floors above it, which is convenient -- Jack sets himself up for capture, feigning surprise and resisting arrest, before doing his thing and busting out his nerdy pal (looking scary in her Siouxsie and the Banshees eyeliner). As luck would have it, the US President is in London too, and is suffering from the rapid onset of Alzheimer's. That, combined with a typically unethical and politically compromised Chief-of-Staff (typical for 24, not reality) makes it a bad time to find a proverbial and worse than literal sword of Damocles hanging above his head.

The big threat this time around is an English matriarch who has converted to a brand of weaponized Islam and is carrying a metric ton of hatred on her small shoulders. After people she loved were killed in an American airstrike, she has become a volatile mix of strong, ruthless, business-woman and bugf***-crazy fundamentalist Mujahideen. Everything is expendable in her obsession with vengeance, even her own children. Now that American drones equipped with powerful, computer-guided missiles are patrolling the skies like angels of death with gleaming titanium wings, the 'bad guys' get their hands on the codes that allow them to over-ride and take control. In a plot twist very similar to the first episode of the British SF series 'Black Mirror', the US President is told by Queenie Al Qaeda (played by Michelle Fairley, best known as Lady Catelyn Stark from 'A Game of Thrones') that if he doesn't give himself up to them, hundreds and thousands will die (in 'Black Mirror', the British Prime Minister is told by terrorists that a beloved member of the royal family -- in this case a fictional princess in her early twenties -- will be murdered live on the internet, unless he has sex with a pig on national television; and it's not funny at all... well, maybe a little).

Soon enough, Jack is back in action as the President's man. As he goes on his crazy mad-dash criss-crossing of London, he is helped by Kate Morgan, a field agent from the CIA London office, and Chloe, who has suffered a horrible personal tragedy that has driven her to raccoon-like mascara. She is also part of a wiki-leaks type group who are implicated (at least) tangentially in the plot. By day 9, the 'shocks' are not so shocking: [SPOILERS] the likable but narrow-minded CIA station head is, of course, a traitor. Every season, it seems, the CTU and now the CIA hire yet another terrorist. They need to work on tightening up their vetting and screening process. The President is always compromised in some way... In season 1, it was then-Senator Palmer's scheming wife, this time it's Alzheimer's. Every season, the President is betrayed by one of their closest advisers, usually their Chief-of-staff. Every season, the terrorist plot comes to an apparent end after 12 hours, but is then discovered to be a plan B, or a red herring, or a distraction, or there was someone else behind the plot, someone powerful and connected and likely to get away with it. Every season...

Every season, Jack Bauer's bad day makes for 24 very entertaining episodes. This time there are 12; the final episode breaks free of 'real time', and spans the final 12 hour period. With every other series scaling back to 20, 16, and 13 episode seasons long ago, it's incredible they kept a show that was locked into a 24-episode structure going as long as they did... With Kiefer Sutherland's still bankable status, his paycheck alone would have been 8 figures per season. But people were clamoring for more 24, and the studio made it so.

Yes, the producers and writers are pretty much flying on auto-pilot, following a well-tested formula with very consistent results. Still, they manage to alter things just enough, so that even the 8th Hour Betrayal that's as reliable as an atomic clock triggers some lizard-brain response. 24 is a strange show, in that if you choose to pick at the loose narrative threads, it'll unravel immediately; but if you let the silliness go and just watch it with your Logic-o-stat dialed down to somewhere between a sweet-potato and Colin Farrell-levels, it's always entertaining (It's rare that a tactic like that works, so don't bother with the pharmaceutical lobotomy; if you were thinking it might make that Blu-ray collection of NCIS Season 3 you got for Christmas watchable, it won't. No amount of valium and vicodin can salvage that mess. I realize that drugs are usually the answer to all life's problems, but not this time). Of all the shows that have numbers and acronyms for titles, 24 is probably the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Peace to the men behind 24, October 19, 2014
By 
SpookyChick (in tha' world!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 24: Live Another Day (DVD)
Woah, color me surprised! After a few years off, the most misogynistic TV show in history comes back with what I would call at least a partially new attitude. Thanks to Yvonne Strahovski (who was, unfortunately, a victim of the so-called 'Fappening' photo leak, egads), we finally have a femme to look up to in the male-centric world of "fearsome" Jack Bauer. I don't think Mr. Sutherland knew exactly what he signed up for in the earlier seasons, but I wonder if perhaps the stinging criticisms from neofemmes such as myself resulted in a small bit of soul-searching. If so, it shows. I don't want to spoil anything, but even though there are some nefarious femmes to balance things out (Margot, anyone?), the producers/writers of Live Another Day have finally made amends with the angrier sectors of public.

For too many years, 24's stock-in-trade was the systematic denigration of femmes (of all stripes, which I suppose deserves some measure of backwards credit if we're trying to be fair). Nina was one of the more notorious, but here we have a nouveau 24 in which Jack is not necessarily "top dog," but merely an important component of team that acknowledges both the x and y chromosomes for a refreshing change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 24 still has gas in the tank., July 29, 2014
This review is from: 24: Live Another Day (DVD)
I was skeptical when I heard 24 was coming back. I have been a diehard 24 fan for years and I was worried this could ruin the legacy 24 has left. My fears were unfounded. This was one of the best seasons in the whole series. The writing was phenomenal, the acting was perfect, and there were surprises at every corner that we have come to expect from 24. If you are a 24 fan, but were wary of buying/watching this season, do yourself a favor and watch it. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Movie Review! - (...) - @tss5078, August 10, 2014
By 
Todd Smith (East Rockaway, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 24: Live Another Day (DVD)
3 years after the event in New York, Jack Bauer has come out of hiding in London, when he learns of a plot to kill the United States President. Live Another Day appears to be a one shot deal, but as we've seen, the shows popularity means there is always a chance it will pop up again. While Fox has said nothing about the future of the show, Live Another Day did average over 10 million viewers an episode. As I do, I'm sure those fans are hoping that number leads to either the series coming back, a feature film, or simply more mini-series. It's hard to imagine 24 taking place in another country and in just 12 episodes, but it didn't matter one bit, because of Kiefer Sutherland. The often criticized actor has found the Midis touch when it comes to Jack Bauer. I mean seriously, have you ever heard of a show that can completely change cast and location every season and still manage to survive? The cast, the location, even the date doesn't matter, because it has been and always will be about Jack Bauer. In a strange twist, as kind of a thank you to the fans, many characters from previous seasons have returned for the mini-series, and it only made it that much more enjoyable. Live Another Day features the same Jack, who really hasn't lost a step. It also comes with everything you came to expect from 8 seasons of the hit show. Live Another Day may only have been half as long as the other seasons, but it rivals every single one of them. If you're a fan or even a casual viewer of the show, give yourself a treat and sit down for 12 new episodes of this timeless television classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

24: Live Another Day [Blu-ray]
24: Live Another Day [Blu-ray] by Dennis Haysbert (Blu-ray - 2014)
$59.99 $19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.