Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where Sludge Was Born
10 Songs is where it all began. The very first CD by the original purveyors of sludge, a re-release of this out of print gem has been long overdue, but luckily for us, fellow visionary Mike Patton has finally provided the almighty Melvins with a suitable home to begin digging through their back catalogue. Considering it was recorded all the way back in 1986 to a...
Published on March 13, 2003 by drumb

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All Hail the Melvins!!!!!!!!!!!
Melvins - 26 Songs is a re-release of the 1986 freshmen release from the great not yet late MELVINS! Also included are 16 demos and unreleased tracks including a nice demo of "set me straight". Most of the demos are in fact demos of the aforemetioned "10 songs", but there are a few never before heard anthems of grind. A must have for those unable to find the elusive 10...
Published on March 14, 2003 by MIKE TOWSLEY


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where Sludge Was Born, March 13, 2003
By 
"drumb" (milwaukee, wi United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 26 Songs (Audio CD)
10 Songs is where it all began. The very first CD by the original purveyors of sludge, a re-release of this out of print gem has been long overdue, but luckily for us, fellow visionary Mike Patton has finally provided the almighty Melvins with a suitable home to begin digging through their back catalogue. Considering it was recorded all the way back in 1986 to a standard 2 track analog recorder, no mixing involved, 10 Songs has dated incredibly well. The CD sounds as formidably loud and dauntingly heavy as it did the day it was released, a messy collage of punk ferocity and metallic dirges that feels like it was spawned on another planet. Still unlike anything on today's music scene, or even anything preceding today's music scene, this single EP introduced the idea that slower could be heavier, countering the accepted punk rock philosophies of speed-core and establishing a brand new genre of music. Cranking the volume up, slowing the tempos down, and converting the vocals to a guttural drone, 10 Songs went against the grain in every way, giving a stiff middle finger to the Punk Rock status quo, and even after all these years, it's still obvious that The Melvins couldn't have been more right. Case in point, the earlier demos (tracks 20-25) which hint at a far more punky Melvins ensemble easily pale in comparison to the atmospheric bludgeoning of the songs final renditions. Furthermore, brilliant moments like the powerhouse drumming of "At a Crawl" or the disorienting chaos of "Show of Your Red Hands" instantly certify the validity of The Melvins musical crusade regardless of what sounds came before it.
While the actual album is certainly the real highlight here, the new demos and outtakes featured on 26 songs are a nice addition. Providing a very interesting glimpse into the pre-studio life of The Melvins, the demo material will still probably only appeal to true diehards, but if you are intrigued by the idea of tracing the bands roots from their days of a million miles per hour punk to their pinnacle of unique metallic forte, which I definitely was, then 26 songs is where to start. Just like the re-release of Gluey Porch Treatments in 2000, 26 songs is undoubtedly a worthwhile addition to the Melvins collection and thanks to the level of commitment by not only the Melvins but the admirable Ipecac Records, fans are finally able to get their hands on this wonderful EP without being forced to spend hours on various online auction sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surrender yourself..., September 9, 2004
By 
Chinaski (waiting at the bar (thirsty)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 26 Songs (Audio CD)
...to the heaviest band the world has ever seen. You can keep your po-faced black metal pussy music and bland death metal. The Melvins create some of the most dense, weighty sludge your ears will ever be at the mercy of. 'Grinding Process' and 'Over From The Underground' are worth the asking price alone. Dale Crover, god love him, is an absolute power-house and always manages to keep up with Buzzo's, at times, downright confusing fretwork. Get a hefty stereo, turn the treble down and the bass up, and get lit. It kinda feels like being underwater, just before the pressure squashes you flat. And I like being squashed flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great example of what the Melvins do best, April 14, 2003
By 
Heath Holcomb (Raleigh, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 26 Songs (Audio CD)
The 10 Songs album has been one of my favorite Melvins recordings for a long time. It contains some very good versions of the Gluey Porch Treatments songs as well as some real gems like Snake Appeal and Grinding Process. It also gives the listener a good idea of how huge and dense the Melvins live sound really is. This album was recorded live to 2 track, but these 3 guys still manage to sound like at least 5 people.
The original 10 Songs album is the main attraction, but the bonus material has some great moments as well. The last version of Grinding Process is extremely cool in a punk kind of way and the other alternate takes have some good alternate rhythms and guitar parts. The version of Set Me Straight is much better than the one on Houdini. All in all, it's a fantastic album for anybody that likes the early Melvins sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sludgecore that makes your guts quake!!!, December 15, 2004
This review is from: 26 Songs (Audio CD)
This is one of the most degenerate and blasphemus albums I've ever heard. It'll be two minutes of sub-audible distortion, then one little wanky metal riff that ends before it would logically make sense to. Only for experimental music fans. Great music to listen to during the "walk of shame" when you've done something really stupid while drunk the night before. Five stars, no brainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All Hail the Melvins!!!!!!!!!!!, March 14, 2003
By 
MIKE TOWSLEY (GRAND RAPIDS, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 26 Songs (Audio CD)
Melvins - 26 Songs is a re-release of the 1986 freshmen release from the great not yet late MELVINS! Also included are 16 demos and unreleased tracks including a nice demo of "set me straight". Most of the demos are in fact demos of the aforemetioned "10 songs", but there are a few never before heard anthems of grind. A must have for those unable to find the elusive 10 songs original release, otherwise you would probably have to be a hardcore Melvins fan (like me) to enjoy this one. I still cant believe how long I have been listening to this band. Here's to longevity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Melvins - '26 Songs' (Ipecac Recordings), July 1, 2009
This review is from: 26 Songs (Audio CD)
First time I'm hearing this twenty-six song compilation CD of the Melvin's early work - originally done in 1986. Released at first, as a ten track disc, but now put out again + sixteen more songs, most of are alternate edits. Cuts I got the most out of were "Easy As It Was", "No A Limo", the rocking "Snake Appeal" and "Show Off Your Hot Hands". Maybe not for every Melvins fan, but the old followers should (obviously) get more from '26 Songs' than the casual patron.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT METAL SHOULD BE, March 20, 2003
By 
John D Henson (Brandon, MS United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 26 Songs (Audio CD)
The Melvins are the cornerstone of what heavy metal is today, they should be given the same respect as Kiss and Black Sabbath. Here is by far their best album ever recorded in a rerelease version, as many bands best album is their first! 26 Songs is a classic from a classic metal band that always has been and always will be one of my favorites! Long live this band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you want early Melvins, get Gluey Porch Treatments instead, May 20, 2006
This review is from: 26 Songs (Audio CD)
This is the Melvins' first EP, 10 Songs expanded with some demos and renamed to 26 Songs.

This is by no means a bad record, but you can hear the Melvs haven't quite figured out how to play slow, downtuned sludge metal with hardcore punk elements right yet.

The sound is essentially similar to what Aberdeen's finest pulled off on their debut album Gluey Porch Treatments, released the same year. But a few things clearly lack. First of all there's the sound of the instruments and vocals. Buzz desperately tries to sound like Henry Rollins, but doesn't quite manage to and his guitar is too trebbly to reach the brain-crushing intensity of later recordings aren't quite that earth-shaking and punctuating yet.

Another problem lies in the songs themselves. They're all really straightforward little metal/punk hybrids without the constantly shifting rhythms and/or arythmical structures Buzz and crew would become (rather) legendary for. Also, the noise rock influences that gave songs like Eye Flys or Night Goat their almost hellish feel and made others, like Little Judas Chongo lots more dynamic are completely missing.

If you can enjoy the Melvins without these typical traits, you may go ahead buy this record.

If you can't, and still want the early, more punky, out-of-control Melvins, go for the Ipecac re-release of Gluey Porch Treatments or possibly even Ozma (although it isn't as good).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You know easy as it was....., April 28, 2005
This review is from: 26 Songs (Audio CD)
This CD is awesome. When I picked it up, I thought I was getting a new Melvins CD, i obviously didn't know much about the Melvins then, and i thought "why the hell do they have the same song names on here, these guys are pretty funny." Then I found out that they were just demos. I was very impressed upon the first listen. For being made in '86 these songs are groundbreaking. Operation Blessing is mind-blowingly fast, probably the fastest song I have ever heard. These guys obviously inspired many of the grunge bands to follow, namely Soundgarden and Nirvana. They go from insanely quick songs, to super sludgy messiness. It is all amazing though. Roger "Buzz" Osborne is definitely one of my favorite guitarists. Crover is excellent on drums, although he always is. The final song is pretty funny, with their friend on angel dust. Anyway...this is a good CD that anyone who is a fan of grunge, sludge/doom metal, or even speed/thrash metal should own. Standouts include "Easy as it Was," "Snake Appeal," "Operation Blessing," and "Set Me Straight." Also notice that some of these songs appear on Gluey Porch Treatments under different names. A cleaner, quicker version of "Set Me Straight" also appears on Houdini.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 26 Songs (Audio CD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

26 Songs
26 Songs by Melvins (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.