Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Steamy!
I liked the fact that they showed the realistic side of an affair...both the good and the bad. I also liked how they showed their interactions progress from one night stand to an actual relationship. Lots flof steamy sex scenes, however, it doesnt take away from the film. Chris Messina is hot :)
Published 23 months ago by K. M. Johnson

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissappointed
I don't really know what to say about this movie. I really did not know what to expect, and it sounded interesting. The reviews had been mostly positive and although the topic sounded like it would have a lot of sex, the reviews made it clear that it wasn't all about that.

I felt like the movie was well done in many ways and the acting was really very good...
Published 1 month ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Steamy!, February 10, 2013
By 
K. M. Johnson (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 28 Hotel Rooms (Amazon Instant Video)
I liked the fact that they showed the realistic side of an affair...both the good and the bad. I also liked how they showed their interactions progress from one night stand to an actual relationship. Lots flof steamy sex scenes, however, it doesnt take away from the film. Chris Messina is hot :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly beautiful, November 3, 2012
This review is from: 28 Hotel Rooms (Amazon Instant Video)
I thought the chemistry between Messina and Ireland was remarkable. Quite thought provoking... this is a film that'll stick with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Tryst (or 29) of Two Lives, March 18, 2013
This review is from: 28 Hotel Rooms (DVD)
"28 Hotel Rooms", a Matt Ross film starring Marin Ireland and Chris Messina, starts with a "chocolate explosion" slice of sex in a hotel room.
The sex is heated, nameless, youthful, all sweat and raw nakedness.
And then there's another hotel room, then another, and another, and more after that.
Each room has a different number, as they meet in different places, one being a novelist, the other a rising businesswoman.
I've played with the notion that the room numbers MEAN something, but I'm probably wrong.
Three movies came to mind as I watched this seductive entrancing movie.
"Same Time, Next Year", "When Harry Met Sally", and "9 Songs".
"Sally" because it follows the same pattern of watching an evolving relationship through the passing years.
"Same Time" for basically the same reason, as it comes closest to that 1978 film starring Alan Alda and Ellen Burstyn.
"9 Songs" because of the erotic sexual nature of what is basically a series of trysts, except "28" evolves into more than just a summer sexual fling.
Basically, "28" is a more sophisticated and steamy "Same Time", adding a 21st century graphic sexuality which is becoming more commonplace in film (and TV) in the past decade.
One thing kept me from giving it 5 stars.
I prefer movies...especially GREAT movies....to have endings that TELL me what's going to happen next, even if there's no sequel to SHOW me those changes.
"28 Hotel Rooms" last scene DOES try to give us something to hang on to.....as it does the two characters in the movie.
Then it ends.
And I just don't KNOW if these two lives will meet again.....in the 29th hotel room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissappointed, December 24, 2014
I don't really know what to say about this movie. I really did not know what to expect, and it sounded interesting. The reviews had been mostly positive and although the topic sounded like it would have a lot of sex, the reviews made it clear that it wasn't all about that.

I felt like the movie was well done in many ways and the acting was really very good. The characters were believable and you could relate to them well. I often like these types of movies that make you try to think and get into the characters. It was very believable as something that could really happen in real life.

For those who are interested in it for the sex angle, it really is not about that. There is some nudity and stuff, but the sex scenes are a minimal and not very exciting part of the movie. It is more about the relationship between the two main characters. For those who want action, this is not your movie. For those who want to see how a relationship evolves, this is a decent movie as it shows that very well.

Overall, I cannot say it is a bad movie, but I also cannot say that it was a good one. The fact for me is that did not like it. The rest of this is probably near a spoiler alert so keep that in mind if reading further.... The main reason I did not like it is because it really treated the topic of cheating on your spouse, girl/boyfriend, etc as an okay thing to do. It basically glorified the selfish desires of these two people who supposedly loved each other more than they loved their respective significant others. Marriage is hard enough without media glorifying the act of cheating. Yes it showed the struggle they each had with wanting to be together but also wanting their "normal" lives. Eventually it showed them developing a plan for when they would be together even after the woman had at least one kid with her husband. Think about the pain and suffering that their spouses will go through, not to mention the negative impact of divorce on the kid.

By the end of the movie I just felt a bit disgusted. A lot of this movie was about the Woman struggling with being loyal to her husband and failing. I kept hoping she would eventually make the right decision. However she did not. Having her decide to keep going with the affair and ultimately deciding to go with her illicit lover, made it seem like that is the right thing to do, and puts those kinds of thoughts into the minds of anyone who watches this as if it was okay. It is not okay. She should have stopped way in the beginning or decided to go with her lover much earlier in the movie. The man also kept stringing along girlfriends and eventually his wife all while loving this woman more than any of them. Romanticizing this kind of activity makes it seem okay and it is not. Other people will be hurt by the selfish decisions these two people have made and the movie does not show any of that at all.

I know I may sound a little stuffy and prudish in this review, but the reality is that we can have a fun and enjoyable life while still taking into account others feelings rather than just your own selfish desires. If people were to just try and think about the damage your own selfishness can cause on other people. I think this world would be a much better place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Messina homerun again !!!, June 24, 2013
By 
Craig Haynes (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 28 Hotel Rooms (Amazon Instant Video)
O.K., I admit it, Chris Messina is one of my favorite actors. In this film, he also executive produces (whatever that means). In any event, what a story--I kept thinking this is so "French," a couple, one married, one not and they carry-on a relationship (he finally marries) which has something, they both don't know what, that endures for years--French, right? It is a bit of a role reversal in that the male (Messina), towards the end, wants more and the female is content (even with a child--his child?) to keep things as they are--yet, it isn't just the great sex they have, it is more layered than that--and this is where it may depart from the French formula. In France, we expect that the extramarital relationship is mostly cultural, a rite of passage, etc. In this film, the relationship becomes more--a lot more. Watching these two actors is fascinating. For the most part, their hotel meetings are almost always eagerly awaited, fun, flirty, improvised. And while there are some meltdowns--they cannot end it. There doesn't seem to be words or a category for what it is they have and while they indeed reflect and struggle with the ethics of it, trying to decide if it should continue, they never quite resolve or do they? There's some good acting here, e.g., Messina is raw, powerful, frustrated, angry when he discovers her husband is with her at one of their hotel meetings. She, on the other hand, is cool, calculated, measured. Good performances. Good story. Worth the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Swift, Sultry, and Sexy, December 6, 2012
This review is from: 28 Hotel Rooms (Amazon Instant Video)
28 Hotel Rooms is a sleek drama about a writer and businesswoman having an affair through out their travels in the United states in a myriad of hotel rooms. The film is put together much like an affair; not many details of the characters are revealed (would you tell your mistress everything about your life? I sure wouldn't...) and the overall mystery adds to the steamy scenes through out the different hotel rooms. The two characters get thrown into an on-the-road relationship that grabs your compassion despite being an affair. Not many dramas like this one out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Illicit relationship between marrieds pulls you in., January 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 28 Hotel Rooms (Amazon Instant Video)
The initial casual chance meeting of two marrieds is not believable. However, the developing difficult, passionate relationship pulls you in. This film was difficult to watch, but compelling to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, May 21, 2014
This review is from: 28 Hotel Rooms (DVD)
This is beautiful movie! it was so touching to see how vulnerable the characters are both performed by amazing actors! a movie that proofs that if there's talent involved, expensive special effects or breathtaking landscapes are not necessary, this movie was filmed in 1/2 weeks!!! without budget and still is awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I would give it 10 stars if I could, May 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 28 Hotel Rooms (Amazon Instant Video)
First, there is nothing"lurid" about the affair -- it is a well told and well-observed, realistic and exceptionally moving portrait of two people falling in love when they should not -- their feelings, their often petty actions and reactions, their jealousy. These two are REAL people who, like most of us, are stuck in traps of our own making and make our own misery.
I was completely engrossed in the acting and the script and it is one of the best love stories I have ever seen, for love is also stupid, and does not come easy, and it is messy, like life. What a fabulous movie. Both Messina and Ireland are great and especially great together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unfaithful, April 22, 2013
This review is from: 28 Hotel Rooms (Amazon Instant Video)
The taboo of infidelity is so wrong, but it is kind of fun to watch. Who doesn't miss the rush of a new romance? I found the scenes from one hotel room to another to be a bit tedious and claustraphobic, but I think that was the intent. The relationship was interesting in that as deluded these two characters are, their relationship could never withstand the light of day.

Don't read any further if you haven't seen it yet!!!!

For those of you that have, there is a scene where the two characters have words that for me would be a deal breaker, game over. I'm wondering if anyone else feels this way?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

28 Hotel Rooms
28 Hotel Rooms by Matt Ross
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.