Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Elizabeth Cook Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars48
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$18.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 12, 2013
Erica Meltzer has the ability to put her instruction into student--and teacher--friendly terms. It has been helpful to me, and I am an old-school, diagram the sentences, grammarian. Many younger teachers did not grow up in schools that presented the clear and detailed grammar lessons that I grew up experiencing, so I think it would be a great reference for them. Students will probably understand more about grammar than they ever have before, especially if their background has been shaky in this area. Well-done!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2014
This book is extremely helpful, and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone preparing for the SAT! Erica explains each grammar rule succinctly and clearly with ample examples to solidify your understanding. I studied this book everyday for a month, and it helped me raise my writing score from the mid 600s to 800 on the SAT! A must have!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2014
I run a tutoring business in Minneapolis called Kay Tutoring. This is by far the best SAT workbook I've ever used. I actually replaced my own proprietary manual with this workbook because it was even more thorough than my materials (and I'm a pretty type A, perfectionistic tutor). Highly recommend it. Has an occasional typo, but I think that is completely irrelevant considering that the author works alone and does not have a huge editing staff behind her.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2014
A must buy for any student who wants to get a great SAT Writing score. It is worth many hundreds of dollars worth of tutoring from America's #1 SAT Grammar tutor: Erica Meltzer.

Erica goes straight to the point identifying the grammar concepts specifically tested by the College Board.

She breaks it into parts of speech and rhetoric.

She ranks the concepts by the frequency that they appear on the SAT AND gives prescriptive practice. In her index she shows where each concept is tested in the Official Study Guide, as well as breaks down each test in order. This method is priceless because it saves a busy student so much time.

How to use this book:
1. Split your Official Study Guide into two parts: Diagnostic and Practice, there are ten tests, so it is easy to do.
2. Take a test or two and then compare what you missed to the list in the index.
3. Then go read that chapter and do its worksheet.
4.After that look up those specific concepts and find them in the prescriptive tests. This way you are studying ONLY what you missed.

Let Erica's awesome tool optimize your study time. Only work on what you need to get a higher score. Of course if you are going for a 2300+ then by all means do the entire book!

Best of luck
Phil McCaffrey

P.S. I'm a professional tutor with hundreds of individual students and I have Erica tutor me. You simply cannot go wrong by buying this book (now go check out her ACT English workbook).
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2015
My son got a 61 on the writing portion of the PSAT which equates to a 610 on the SAT. He used this book to study for the January SAT and got a 780, that is a 170 point increase in 3 months. He did better on the writing section than on math, and math is his strong point. He gives this book a 10/10 for helpfulness.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2015
My daughter didn't get enough grammar study and practice from normal school work, so she felt frustrated when she was preparing her SAT. This workbook came as a great help. This book teaches kids the exact rules they need to ace the writing section as well as how to apply those rules to the test. It contains step-by-step explanations designed to familiarize kids with errors in all their forms, from the most straightforward to the most complex; dozens of exercises to help you identify clues for spotting errors more quickly and easily; common trick words and phrases that look wrong but that are actually correct; and a complete index of writing questions, grouped by error type and by test. It's such an ideal study guide for my daughter, who had little previous grammar study. I think it's also great for kids who need to review some the more challenging rules covered on the SAT. She's already seeing how the techniques help her in her normal SAT preparation. She is now probably the top grammar student in her class. In the Beestar online SAT tests (a nice website hs.beestar.org), she is ranked high in the honor roll. I’m very pleased with this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2014
Meltzer could have done better with this one. I would like to have seen more SAT style practice questions for specific skills.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2015
Buy this book if you need help with SAT grammar. It is full of strategies and specifics to look out for when trying to find grammar errors. I work with ESL students who will be taking the SAT at the end of this school year. I've found that the author's style lends itself well to students whose first language is not English and that says a lot about this book!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2014
Great book on English grammar. It's concise, accurate, and will help you score on any exam that is testing grammar.

It also serves as a great grammar refresher for any adults who are writing and need to touch up on Hathor grammar rules so an editor's job is easier.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2014
The concept of this book is similar to the first edition, but what make it difference is that the 2nd edition contained a practice problems from the blue book, the topic is arranged in a more effective way and for some topics, the explanation have been make it to becomes less confusing.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse