Customer Reviews
3


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Smart, Visually stunning, Creative Comedy of Sexual Variations
Writer/director Tom Twyker (Run Lola Run, Perfume, Heaven, The International. Paris, je t'aime) is proving to be one of the most fearless and creative talents in film today. He knows how to create strange stories that take us by surprise, present them with excellent actors, selects and composes musical scores that are as perfect as any being created, introduces just...
Published on March 6, 2012 by Grady Harp

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A movie about the interpersonal dynamic of three people
Interesting movie, well worth watching, but as I have no inclination to behave as the characters in the movie it was hard for me to relate.
Published 15 months ago by Dr. George Grant


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Smart, Visually stunning, Creative Comedy of Sexual Variations, March 6, 2012
By 
This review is from: 3 (DVD)
Writer/director Tom Twyker (Run Lola Run, Perfume, Heaven, The International. Paris, je t'aime) is proving to be one of the most fearless and creative talents in film today. He knows how to create strange stories that take us by surprise, present them with excellent actors, selects and composes musical scores that are as perfect as any being created, introduces just enough philosophy and scientific investigation into timely topics to challenge our brains, and tops it off with inventive photography - superimposing split screens that enhance not only the progress of the story but also allow the presentation of brief glimpses of `dangerous' ideas that stirs the cauldron to boiling.

3 is a fascinating tale. Simon (Sebastian Schipper) is an artistic architect who works with sculptors to bring their art into being. He is in a longterm relationship with Hanna (Sophie Rois) who is a television journalist cum scientist who is widely popular in their hometown of Berlin. Simon and Hanna are in their forties and deeply in love. Simon is informed that his mother has advanced pancreatic carcinoma and when his mother attempts suicide with an overdose and fails, she is brain dead, supported on machines. Simon stays at her bedside while Hanna continues her line of investigation about new stem cell theories, attending lectures by the handsome Adam (Devid Striesow) - a married man with children who leads a separate life of clandestine but shortlived gay affairs. Simon's mother dies and Simon is diagnosed with testicular carcinoma, undergoes an orchiectomy and begins chemotherapy, losing his hair in the process. All of this he shares with Hanna: the two decide they probably should marry and Hanna wants children while Simon thinks world timing is poor for starting a family (he is also aware of the fact that his operation and chemotherapy may represent the end of his sexuality and fertility).

Though devoted to Simon, Hanna is attracted to Adam and finds ways to be near him. Soon they are in a physical love affair. Simon recovers his disease by swimming in a beautiful Berlin gym where he quite incidentally meets Adam, shares his operation with the stranger in the locker room, and Adam proceeds to demonstrate that Simon is indeed not impotent! Simon has new feelings aroused, and he and Adam begin a love affair. Hanna and Simon get married but still each of them has feelings for Adam. When Hanna discovers she is pregnant the story spins to its conclusion and the triptych of the title is established.

This film is subtle but frank, explores sexuality in an open and honest way exploring themes relevant to our time: the biological and the ethical side of human life, the determinist way of viewing our sexuality and gender, the ways in which we define our selves in a time with shifting mores, the chance of love in a society with few if any boundaries. Love affairs as demonstrated between Hanna and Simon, Hanna and Adam, and Simon and Adam are treated equally and sensitively.

The three primary actors are excellent as is the entire cast. The cinematography and film manipulation by Frank Griebe (with Twyker) and the musical score Reinhold Heil, Johnny Klimek, Gabriel Isaac Mounsey, and Tom Tykwer (with a little help from Debussy and others!) is splendid. This is a first class film and deserves the attention of a very wide audience. It is likely to be one of those films that grows in stature with the passage of time. Grady Harp, March 19
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why not?, January 4, 2012
This review is from: 3 (DVD)
I was very excited and thankful to this film's director, Tom Tykwer, for surprising me again. Like the characters in his movie, as a film buff I was also getting bored with the choices available both in commercial and arthouse cinemas around, until I saw "3" (a.k.a. "Drei", three in German). I left the cinema in a state of grace after seeing this well acted, beautifully written, bold, inquisitive, provocative film, as it deals with assumptions on people's sexuality and the labels we like to give ourselves, our need to categorize behaviour and sexual identity and it does it in a very thorough, honest way. It's a brave film, not afraid to go deep into its subject and to expose its characters, but whilst doing it, it's not at the same time some intelectual, cold, moral lesson. Much the opposite, if anything, it's against hypocritical false morality or simply standard dramas on how badly adultery can end as seen in examples like "Fatal Attraction", 'Unfaithful" and "Indecent Proposal", all of which scary and simplistic morality tales on how one shouldn't even contemplate a look at sex outside marriage, let alone involving homosexuality.
Speaking of which, this film also takes a fresh look on sexual drives and sees the adventure with the same sex not as a life altering, sexual identity changing experience, after which you are officially gay, but as a natural curiosity satisfaction, one that is handled without feelings of guilt or macho crisis; dealt with naturality. Sex here is seen as a tool for pleasure, not as something which says who you are, but simply what you can do.
But the film's subject matter is not delivered in a heavy, preachy way; it's shot and edited in a fun, exciting way, so the whole thought brainstorm is great to look at and listen to, by the way music is used on the film, also a collaboration created between Tom Tykwer and 3 other musicians. They did a great job and used David Bowie's "Space Oddity" in the soundtrack to great effect.
Great, exilarating movie. Bravo, Mr. Tom Tykwer, and thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "HOT TRIANGLE" doesn't begin to describe this......, February 15, 2012
This review is from: 3 (DVD)
.....strangely philosophical and sometimes wondrous take on the Lives & Loves of men and women in today's world. BUT, hold on a sec...hasn't the behavior we are being shown likely EVER been so....even in humankind's earliest days, in the dark protectiveness of caves? Well, whether that is the case or not...now and today, a most perceptive Director of Film (Tom Tykwer) is giving us a stripped bare view into the lives of 2 Men and 1 Woman....the "3" who make up this proverbial TRIANGLE. So, you need only sit back...relax...then watch and see: ....Their discovery, first, of love with one another----then, finally, a loving-union of the "3".

I cannot tell you that the Male-Female Hook-up (can we call it "illicit") being shown us is any differently played out than in 100s of movie stories which have come before. BUT...on the other hand, and strikingly so, it is in the Male / Male "Connection" where you will find the Difference in this film. In a mainstream production such as this, rarely will you ever see shown Physically Realistic (and Tender) lovemaking between 2 men....being presented in such a forthright manner. Devid Striesow ("Adam") and Sebastian Schipper ("Simon") absolutely "ZING" in their scenes together. The word, Hot, does not describe it; though if written as HOT, perhaps it begins to do so. (WORD OF ADVICE: Director Tykwer's use of "split screen" techniques throughout, sometimes showing 4 to 6 activities occuring in one scene/shot, makes some of the "HOT actions" a bit difficult to follow and fully enjoy. Better you watch on video....rather than in the theater.)

As to the movie's performers and their abilites, these "3" actors are highly competent and experienced (extensive film histories)....though perhaps not being in the paparazzi-pursued, top tier of German celebs. YET, what they truly are is BELIEVABLE....bringing you to a point of SUDDENLY realizing their characters' origin: ....Perhaps from Earth's First Garden----but here we are being given a "Hanna"...a "Simon"....and, most especially, "The Enticer". So...this Enticer; what can be said about him? Maybe just this, Reader Mine: ....When your self-image is at its lowest...and your need to be desired is at its highest, just stop and look around you. HE's out there, close by....waiting, waiting to enfold you in Tenderness and Excitement. Waiting to make the rest of your life its very Happiest.

I'll say Goodbye to you now...upon leaving this Garden of "3". And concede that this story may, perhaps, contain instances of possibly over-dramatized familial and midlife crises---not to mention startling images of a male medical procedure. Nevertheless, this is a work which I will be re-watching on a somewhat regular basis---concentrating on the Male / Male action, of course. (Uh..oh).

PS: For those interested, see the excellent Devid Striesow in the very good and "gay-tinged" 2004 film production: "BEFORE THE FALL". That is, IF you can find it available as a rental; used DVD copies are going for a high price. Oh, and for something very "different"...but very well done (in a "straight" love story mode), try Tykwer's 2002 "Heaven" (Cate Blanchett). You, likely, will not be sorry.

PPS: Don't forget about signing up for "DVD Release Notification", here at Amazon.com....if you are interested in viewing 2011's, perhaps, most celebrated gay-themed releases: "Weekend [Blu-ray]". GOOD TIP: If you own an All-Regions DVD Player, this release will become available on March 19, 2012, at Amazon.com United Kingdom (click Link at bottom of this page).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic movie that single-handedly redeems German comedy for me, April 11, 2012
This review is from: 3 (DVD)
I hardly know where to start in saying how great this movie is, because it is so wonderful in so many ways.

For one, it has single-handedly redeemed the entire concept of German comedy for me. I must have watched at least a dozen German comedies and been so thoroughly bewildered by them all that I came to the conclusion that for me the words "German" and "funny" simply could not coexist in the same sentence unless the word "not" was in there too. This fantastic movie has blown that idea out of the water forever.

But this movie is far more than subtly but very funny; it is also a story of three likable, ordinary people who wander almost by accident into an unconventional but very satisfying (for them and for the audience) arrangement in which everybody wins and nobody loses.

The remaining mystery for me is why people feel obliged to judge other people's behavior when that behavior is not hurting anyone, and when the people they are judging are not even real people but characters in a movie. What tiny, empty lives they must lead. God help the people those viewers actually know in real life; I'd hate to be deluded into thinking they were my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you happy, October 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 3 (DVD)
What a cheerful honest and clever movie. If a "ménage a trois" will make everybody happy, why not? That's the conclusion of the movie but there's more to it of course. It's about the freedom of exploring your desires without guilt even if you we're not aware of them five minutes ago, it's about life being short, fragile and shifting. At the end of the movie, the smile on my face lasted for a long while...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Drei Mann im Doppelbett, March 27, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 3 (DVD)
I'm so glad I was finally able to see this gem. The scene in the men's locker room is off the sexy charts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprised me. Das Gut., November 26, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 3 (Amazon Instant Video)
Might only be a 3 star movie, but it was surprisingly good and gets an extra star for that. The cast is great and the story is unique for the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining tale of sexuality and exploration, January 1, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 3 [HD] (Amazon Instant Video)
This is such a terrific little known movie. This movie includes sexual exploration and eroticism and vulnerability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strange movie, about a bi-sexual man. It did have some really good moments., February 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 3 (DVD)
But overall, I wouldn't really consider it a gay movie. More a movie about relationships. Someone was having sex with a man and a women. He just didn't realize they were married to each other. He does find out and somehow they all get along. It happens, but not my kind of movie. Still it was well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a very German take on a 3some, October 17, 2012
This review is from: 3 (DVD)
I found it refreshing how they dealt with the 3 characters relationships and, how they ultimately came to make very thoughtful mature decisions about their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

3
3 by Tom Tykwer (DVD - 2012)
$27.99 $24.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.