Customer Reviews


144 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


211 of 225 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Next Step in Mobile Projectors
Mobile projectors are still what I would consider bleeding edge, both in the sense that they are relatively new and in the sense that they are still not quite ready for a mainstream audience. However, the MP225 is a substantial step in the right direction.

SETUP

There are few instructions with this unit, because there are almost no options. Plug...
Published on December 23, 2011 by Nerd Alert

versus
23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ok
I waited a bit before writing a review but now I'm able to say it's not good for business presentations as it requires dark rooms. I thought it would work with some light, but it doesn't. Disappointing...
Published 20 months ago by Marcos S. Aranha


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

211 of 225 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Next Step in Mobile Projectors, December 23, 2011
This review is from: 3M MP225a Mobile Projector (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Mobile projectors are still what I would consider bleeding edge, both in the sense that they are relatively new and in the sense that they are still not quite ready for a mainstream audience. However, the MP225 is a substantial step in the right direction.

SETUP

There are few instructions with this unit, because there are almost no options. Plug the device into either an i-device or a computer via the overpriced VGA cable, which I purchased for this review, and you are ready to go. Component cables are also available for purchase separately. The MP225 was detected flawlessly when I plugged it in and I was ready to go. The only buttons are for volume, power, and battery, the latter of which displays remaining battery life on the screen.

PICTURE

Before speaking about picture quality, I would like to clarify that the way we perceive lumens is not linear. You may look at the 32 lumen rating vs. a similarly priced normal sized projector with lumens in the thousands and think it will be impossible to see. This is not the case, because as you increase lumens, you need a greater and greater lumen increase to be able to detect an increase in brightness. This relates to how our eyes work. For a mobile projector, 32 lumens is very impressive by current standards, and a substantial step forward for the technology.

So, what does that increase do? If you spend an equivalent sum of money on a standard projector, you will have an image bright enough to use with the room lights on and the windows open, which is ideal for both work and home use (unless you are a vampire). Unfortunately, the MP225 is only visible in a well-lit room when projecting a very small size image. If you have a laptop, for example, using the laptop screen would be much better. However, turn the lights off and this projector works shockingly well. The specs say that the projected image can be a maximum of 80" diagonal. Taking into account the 800x600 resolution, that means around a 64" (5.3') horizontal size.

As a side note here, this aspect ratio is 4:3, emphasizing the intent of this for business presentations over entertainment, though it can certainly do both well and handles motion nicely.

I used a tape measure to project an 80" diagonal image. In order to get this size, the projector sat around 8' from the wall. With the lights on, the image was almost impossible to even detect. However, with the lights off, the image was just a little washed out, which is very impressive for a mobile projector! At this size, the text is fuzzy even at the best focus level, and it gets terrible at any larger size. Perhaps acceptable for watching a movie, but not for Powerpoint. The colors are good overall, but lean a bit brown. This is particularly evident with skin tones. It's likely that this could be corrected if there were calibration options, but I could find none.

As a final note on the picture, there is an important issue which has yet to be addressed in mobile projectors in my experience. For using them in random places like the oft mentioned hotel room for presentations, it is important to have versatility in where the projector is placed. For standard projectors, there is keystoning (manual and/or digital) to correct for the distortion of placing the projector at a vertical or horizontal angle to the wall. Some even have lens shift features. With the MP225, these features are completely absent, so for a given size image, the projector needs to be in a very exact place and angle. The little kickstand is nearly worthless for this, so I recommend buying a tripod. Any standard camera tripod will work. This required accessory substantially hurts the portable nature of the product.

BATTERY

The battery is awesome. It makes up a large portion of the projector's size and weight, but it is worth it. The 2-hour spec was almost exactly true in my test. This means that you aren't tethered to a wall socket.

BUILD

The projector is all plastic, but does not feel cheap. 3M sells a carrying case, which may be a good idea if you plan to travel with it a lot, but it should stand up to normal handling.

CONCLUSIONS

The MP225 is bright enough to project a high quality image that will work well for both presentations and entertainment in a dark room. We are still far from the point of convergence, where all projectors shrink to a mobile size, but the long battery life and simple setup of this 3M unit show that they are still the company to beat. Unlike some previous products in this category, the niche audience this is aimed for will find this projector a valuable tool rather than solely a fun gadget. Just make sure that this product is what you are looking for before you buy it. It will not replace a normal projector. Then again, neither will a normal projector replace this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget presentations, this is just plain fun, January 11, 2012
This review is from: 3M MP225a Mobile Projector (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Length:: 3:32 Mins

What a blast!

This projector is a lot of fun.

There are a few things to take note of, but overall, it's got some great pro's going for it:

+ Small (fits well in your hand)
+ Light (It's easy to hold and project anywhere)
+ Impressive (Family we showed it to loved it and wanted one too)
+ Projects movies just fine as well as some apps
+ Projects even bigger than advertised (6 to 8 feet wide and still looks pretty good)
+ Onboard speakers are pretty good
+ You can project YouTube videos from the YouTube app

There are a few negatives:

- Could the 3M logo on the conector be any larger? Come on, 3M, your name is already on the projector.
- Doesn't mirror (the included cable doesn't offer mirroring of all screens on the iPad, just the video and some apps.
- There is a small fan inside that makes some noise
- Battery is okay. Wish it could go longer than 2 hours.
- With the given cable, it doesn't let you project photos from the native photo app
- Wish it came with a little pouch or case for the projector

It displays videos and the screens of some apps (like StarWalk that I show in the video).

I tested this with the iPad 2, and aside from the minuses mentioned works great. We've enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You do not need additional cables to mirror Ipad,ipad2,iphone3gs,iphone4,iphone4s!, December 23, 2011
By 
Michael Y (dix hills, ny United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 3M MP225a Mobile Projector (Office Product)
You do not need additional cables to mirror Ipad,ipad2,iphone3gs,iphone4,iphone4s!!!!

When I first got it I ran some test, was initially disappointed it could not mirror my iphone4.
Then I found out I have to buy additional cables ( what the hell?!) and was not happy about that!

So I started researching.......after 2hours BINGO !! found a free solution !

if you have a jailbroken Ipad1/ipad2 or iphone ( any version!)
goto cydia and search for tvout2
once u install tvout2(it is free), you will NOT need additional cables to MIRROR your Ipad/iphone screen !! just the included 3m cable is enough!!!
It will mirror exactly what is on your idevice screen WITH the sound coming out from projector !

can play angry birds or browse the net with projector !
that little application make this projector AMAZING!

without this amazing tvout2 app, the projector is 3 stars due to additional cables requirement.
with this amazing little app, projector is 100 stars :D

Have fun you all
-------------------------------------------

One year Update : This device been amazing for entire year I have own it! Played many movies off it and enjoyed the large screen it projects upon my wall. I have extra speakers hooked up to the projector to creat a movie theater experience as well. This device really shines when you play blueray contents off your iDevices. The higher the quality of your mp4, the sharper it is at large projections. Very satisfy with it so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works...., May 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 3M MP225a Mobile Projector (Office Product)
Worked with my iPhone 4s, and on three of four ipads in the house (iPad1, iPad2, iPad3, none of which were 3G iPads. Did not work with my iPad2 3G, said accessory not supported).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ok, January 11, 2013
By 
Marcos S. Aranha (Sao Paulo, Sao Paulo Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 3M MP225a Mobile Projector (Office Product)
I waited a bit before writing a review but now I'm able to say it's not good for business presentations as it requires dark rooms. I thought it would work with some light, but it doesn't. Disappointing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Limited use, May 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 3M MP225a Mobile Projector (Office Product)
This projector actually works very well, the only draw back is that it won't work with anything but video or Power point presentations. It won't display document files like Excel, Word, Access. I was really hoping to use this as a presentation tool for many different document types. I wish I had known about these limitations before my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Be aware of additional cables for iPhone 5/iPad 4, December 10, 2012
This review is from: 3M MP225a Mobile Projector (Office Product)
You will need to purchase 2 additional cables if you wish to use with the iPhone 5 or 4th generation iPad (with Lightning connectors). Won't work using Apples Lightning to 30-pin adaptor. I would not recommend purchasing until they fix this.

UPDATE: Another flaw: You can't project movies/TV Shows purchased from iTunes. You get a message saying the device can't project protected media. Definitely avoid buying now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the price., September 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 3M MP225a Mobile Projector (Office Product)
I purchased this just over a year ago. It was nice while it lasted. A year later (when the warranty ran out) it stopped working properly. I tried charging it, and even tried using it while plugged in, and it will work for 5 minutes and then quit. I tried to return it, but it would be at my expense since it is no longer covered by a warranty. $200 is a lot to spend on something that I only used about 6 times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy if you have a newer ipad or iphone 5, August 14, 2013
By 
Shanna Davis (Elkridge, MD United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 3M MP225a Mobile Projector (Office Product)
This is not compatible with the newest generation of ipads or with the iphone 5 and the "vga cable" that you can allegedly order to make this item work is not available as it has been discontinued. After waiting an atrocious amount of time to hear from the manufacturer, this was their response to my purchase:

The MP225 projectors have been discontinued but remaining inventory
has been sold through retailers such as Amazon.com at close out clearance
prices. Documentation included with the projector reflects the accessories when
they were available but subsequently have been sold out and discontinued. The
projector as is will only work with the iPhone4,4s and the iPad 1, 2, and 3. If
you need the projector to work with any other devices, we can only suggest to
return the unit if within its return policy and purchase another model with
different connections such as the MP300 (HDMI) or MP410 (VGA and HDMI)
projectors. We apologize for any inconvenience. Unfortunately, due to the
projector having a proprietary input connection, there is no alternative cable
that can be used.

Sincerely,
3M MISD Technical Assistance Center
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good for Teachers, February 16, 2012
By 
K.C. Cole (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 3M MP225a Mobile Projector (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I gave this device to my wife who teaches biology at a middle school. She uses the 3m projector for small presentations off YouTube and other websites. We did have to buy the extra cable to attach to the computer, but it was well worth it for her uses. The thing about this small device is that it is perfect for her concise, short presentations to a class of pre-teens who think the device is "Way Cool!" The class room, being what it is, allows her to quickly hook the projector to the computer, run the video, then get back to the lesson. It's quick, it's light, the battery is great for her short videos, and the 640X480 is fine for a classroom darkened by closed blinds. The sound from the projector is also surprisingly good, given the size of the device.

I would highly recommend the 3m for small room video projection. We haven't used it at home for any video watching, but I would guess it would do just fine in that environment, as well. My wife just loves the form factor and uses it frequently with her students. I would definitely recommend this device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

3M MP225a Mobile Projector
$299.00 $249.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.