Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Jessy Lanza Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Outdoor Recreation

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 26, 2013
Hey everyone, this is the 1st time I ever wrote a review on Amazon. I was just compelled to write my opinion, because I've never seen a worse movie in my life!! No words can describe how awful this was!! But I will try to save anyone from this dreadful movie.

The 1st scene is a sex scene that reminded me of a soft porn movie which lasted way too long, especially since they are not an attractive couple at all. very hard to watch and it dragged on.

Most of the movie was boring conversations on Skype and they had Chinese food delivered. Lord knows why a restaurant would still be open and delivering food when the World is about to end. The delivery driver was was Asian, he sort of looked Indian and he asked to use the Skpe to call his family to say goodbye. Then why are you working with just hours left???????????? The conversation with his family was in a foreign language with no subtitles which is OK, because you sort of know what he is saying, but the conversation went on for so long. Why??? We don't know what he and they are saying, why make it soooooo long???? Soooo Boring it becomes painful to watch.

The girlfriend paints for 1/4 of the movie and it's so horrible and boring!!! Even more painful to watch. At this point you are drinking alcohol, lots of alcohol, because you've gone this far, so why not see the end which is the end of the world. That can't be boring to watch??? Right????..........

Anyway when the protagonist William Dafoe who does not connect at all in this movie with the audience (you could care less whether he lives or dies)....It's so damn boring. He goes outside his apartment and sees some guy jump off his balcony to an apparent suicide. At this point I wonder if this was part of the movie or some random guy who just watched this movie in the audience and they shot it as it was happening lol.

I wouldn't, I couldn't let this movie break me. I'm not a quitter. I had to see the end, maybe there will be some kind of payoff???? Ummmmmm No. At 4:44 they show stupid youtube clips of the world and then you see the couple holding each other as it fades to black. WTF????????? The special effects were worse than a bad 70's movie. The camera angle during the movie was worse than horrendous.

You are wondering right now as you read this why after he wasted an hour and a half of torture is he wasting more time to write this review on such a horrible time spent???? Here's why......If this can save one person, just one person in this world from wasting their precious time on this movie, it would be worth it to me...... I can't believe this movie was made in 2012, I just can't believe it!

Some other thoughts this movie can be used for. Maybe you can bet someone to sit there and watch it by them-self for money??? While you listen to headphones of your favorite music. Another idea would be to show this movie over and over again in prisons. Maybe this will prevent future crimes and scare people straight, because they don't want to go back in prison!
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2012
I am very open minded when it comes to movies in general and indie films. And I am a huge Willam Dafoe fan as he is a great actor, but this movie was a tragic waste of time, space and MONEY. I can't believe I paid $6.99 to watch this terrible movie! The script was terrible, character development poor, acting okay and there were NO special effects for an end of war movie. Throughout this film, I could not help that this was a political (global warming, save the planet) infomercial.

That said, save your time and money on this one...not worth watching!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2012
I didn't believe the 2 stars and actually paid $$ to watch this.

It was awful. The ending was horrible.

So disappointed.

Wait for this to be a part of the free prime or better yet... go watch something else.

LOL
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2012
I like original or Avant-Garde movies, but this one was just self indulgent drivel. It stinks of the existential angst of some aging-baby-boomer-hippie-poser.
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2013
Where should I begin? The trailer was good, so I bought the movie. It was a big mistake. Although there are some good actors in this movie, they do not rise above the poor script. There is a lack of continuity as this story moves along. This is without a doubt the worst doomsday movie I have ever watched. Save your money. You will not like this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2013
Hey everyone, this is the 1st time I ever wrote a review on Amazon. I was just compelled to write my opinion, because I've never seen a worse movie in my life!! No words can describe how awful this was!! But I will try to save anyone from this dreadful movie.

The 1st scene is a sex scene that reminded me of a soft porn movie which lasted way too long, especially since they are not an attractive couple at all. very hard to watch and it dragged on.

Most of the movie was boring conversations on Skype and they had Chinese food delivered. Lord knows why a restaurant would still be open and delivering food when the World is about to end. The delivery driver was Asian, he sort of looked Indian and he asked to use the Skpe to call his family to say goodbye. Then why are you working with just hours left???????????? The conversation with his family was in a foreign language with no subtitles which is OK, because you sort of know what he is saying, but the conversation went on for so long. Why??? We don't know what he and they are saying, why make it soooooo long???? Soooo Boring it becomes painful to watch.

The girlfriend paints for 1/4 of the movie and it's so horrible and boring!!! Even more painful to watch. At this point you are drinking alcohol, lots of alcohol, because you've gone this far, so why not see the end which is the end of the world. That can't be boring to watch??? Right????..........

Anyway when the protagonist William Dafoe who does not connect at all in this movie with the audience (you could care less whether he lives or dies)....It's so damn boring. He goes outside his apartment and sees some guy jump off his balcony to an apparent suicide. At this point I wonder if this was part of the movie or some random guy who just watched this movie in the audience and they shot it as it was happening lol.

I wouldn't, I couldn't let this movie break me. I'm not a quitter. I had to see the end, maybe there will be some kind of payoff???? Ummmmmm No. At 4:44 they show stupid youtube clips of the world and then you see the couple holding each other as it fades to black. WTF????????? The special effects were worse than a bad 70's movie. The camera angle during the movie was worse than horrendous.

You are wondering right now as you read this why after he wasted an hour and a half of torture is he wasting more time to write this review on such a horrible time spent???? Here's why......If this can save one person, just one person in this world from wasting their precious time on this movie, it would be worth it to me...... I can't believe this movie was made in 2012, I just can't believe it!

Some other thoughts this movie can be used for. Maybe you can bet someone to sit there and watch it by them-self for money??? While you listen to headphones of your favorite music. Another idea would be to show this movie over and over again in prisons. Maybe this will prevent future crimes and scare people straight, because they don't want to go back in prison!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2012
Pretentious. Irritating. Annoying. Uninteresting. What more could I write about a movie that was a complete waste of time, even though I fast forwarded it to the near end just so it would be the end of this bad, bad, movie. Don't waste your money or time. Al Gore? Give me a break! Zero stars! 0000000000
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2012
I agree with all the negative reviews. Wish I had read them before I rented it. I was bored. Willem Dafoe, Okay I'll give it a shot.
Wrong! Spent most of the movie jumping ahead. Like other reviewers, I couldn't wait for the world to end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2015
I knew something was amiss when a TV commentator said, in the movie dialog, "Al Gore was right . . ." The last day on Earth is supposed to depict the last hours before an ecological catastrophe. Unlikely as these elements may seem, I still persisted in watching this movie expecting something - anything - interesting to happen. Even a few minutes before the end of the movie (and of the world, of course) I thought possibly there would be something that I could think made the movie worthwhile to watch. Possibly an O. Henry finale. Oh my, was I wrong. The world and the movie ended with a whimper . . .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
What would you do on the eve of the planet's destruction? That is the question posited by Abel Ferrara's "4:44 Last Day On Earth." The answer, it would seem, is to live it much like any other. I'm a fan of Ferrara as a filmmaker, I find him refreshingly unpredictable. I'm not sure, however, that "4:44 Last Day On Earth" conveyed and/or made the most of its intriguing premise. While I appreciate that not every apocalyptic endeavor has to be big, bold, and melodramatic--at times this felt so underplayed as to be virtually non-existent. While the concept and images advertising the movie may make it seem like a thriller (the word suspenseful is used in the description), this is a slow burn contemplation in which not much happens. Luckily, Ferrera had the wherewithal to cast Willem Dafoe as his central protagonist. Dafoe, as usual, makes for interesting viewing. This seems like an incredibly personal work for Ferrera and the intimacy that Dafoe brings to his performance is never less than fascinating.

The inconvenient truth of the situation is that Al Gore and his contemporaries were correct about their dire environmental predictions. Catastrophe, however, is way ahead of schedule and the end of the world has been pinpointed with precision. How? Don't ask. Despite the fact that it is supposedly the last day on earth (not everyone believes it, even though news broadcasts have ended due to the imminent game changer), nothing seems too drastically different in Dafoe's neighborhood. Traffic and pedestrians seem normal, stores and bars are open, you can order Chinese food. There is never a real sense of doom. Most of the movie is spent in one apartment with Dafoe and his girlfriend (Shanyn Leigh) dancing, using Skype, painting, making love, or just hanging out independently. Ferrera's point, perhaps, is that life goes on even if there isn't much of it left. While an interesting notion from an intellectual perspective, it doesn't necessarily make riveting entertainment.

I do give "4:44 Last Day On Earth" a marginal recommendation (mostly for the performances) for the arthouse crowd, I'm not sure the film will have a universal appeal. At a mere 82 minutes, I kept wishing 4:44 in the morning would arrive sooner. The film has a pleasing grittiness and rawness, and I appreciated the use of actual news footage (constantly playing in the background) to make the apocalypse seem tangible. Once again, don't think this is a thriller! It is a stagnant character piece with minimal dialogue. I'm not sure what I'd do on my last night on earth, I can only hope it would be more interesting than what is presented here. Ferrera's vision is filled with shopping, Chinese take-out, and karaoke. An interesting approach, to be sure, but not as compelling as I hoped. Watched it with a friend, he bailed at the 30 minute mark. KGHarris, 7/12.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.