Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have not had to use it yet
I have not had to use the protection plan yet, but it says it covers many types of accidents. Always good to have peace of mind!
Published 3 months ago by Bernard R. Bossert Jr.

versus
109 of 109 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Coverage
Amazon listed this as "accidental & spill" damage protection, however the contract explicitly states that water damage of any kind (along with a very, very long list of other things that void the protection) voids the protection plan. In fact, the coverage is worded in such a way that pretty much everything voids the protection program.

If you don't believe me,...
Published 10 months ago by D. Ranucci


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

109 of 109 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Coverage, November 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4-Year Camera/Camcorder Accident Protection Plan ($300-350) (Electronics)
Amazon listed this as "accidental & spill" damage protection, however the contract explicitly states that water damage of any kind (along with a very, very long list of other things that void the protection) voids the protection plan. In fact, the coverage is worded in such a way that pretty much everything voids the protection program.

If you don't believe me, here's an excerpt:

WHAT IS NOT COVERED: THIS SERVICE AGREEMENT DOES NOT COVER ANY LOSS, REPAIRS OR DAMAGE CAUSED BY OR RESULTING
FROM: (A) PRE‐EXISTING CONDITIONS INCURRED OR KNOWN TO YOU ("PRE‐EXISTING" MEANS A CONDITION THAT WITHIN ALL
REASONABLE MECHANICAL OR ELECTRICAL PROBABILITY RELATES TO THE MECHANICAL FITNESS OF YOUR COVERED PRODUCT
PRIOR TO ISSUANCE OF THIS SERVICE AGREEMENT); (B) IMPROPER PACKAGING AND/OR TRANSPORTATION BY YOU OR YOUR
REPRESENTATIVE RESULTING IN DAMAGE DURING SHIPMENT TO A SERVICE CENTER OR RELOCATION OF THE COVERED PRODUCT;
(C) INSTALLATION, REMOVAL, REINSTALLATION OR IMPROPER INSTALLATION OF COMPONENTS, UPGRADES, ATTACHMENTS OR
PERIPHERALS; (D) PRODUCTS AND/OR COMPONENTS THAT ARE USED IN APPLICATIONS THAT REQUIRE CONTINUOUS BUSINESS
AND/OR COMMERCIAL OPERATION, OR ARE USED FOR COMMERCIAL, INDUSTRIAL, EDUCATIONAL OR PUBLIC USE PURPOSES OR
OFFERED ON A RENTAL BASIS, OR COIN‐OPERATED PRODUCTS; (E) DAMAGE OR FAILURE CAUSED BY RIOT, NUCLEAR RADIATION,
WAR OR HOSTILE ACTION, RADIOACTIVE CONTAMINATION, ETC.; (F) DAMAGE FROM FREEZING OR OVERHEATING; (G) INADEQUATE
PLUMBING, ELECTRICAL OR GAS SERVICE; (H) INTERRUPTION OF GAS OR ELECTRICAL SERVICE; (I) NEGLECT, NEGLIGENCE, MISUSE,
ABUSE, INTENTIONAL PHYSICAL/MECHANICAL/ELECTRONIC DAMAGE, PHYSICAL DAMAGE OR MALICIOUS MISCHIEF, THEFT OR
MYSTERIOUS DISAPPEARANCE, VANDALISM, RUST, CORROSION, WARPING, BENDING, ANIMAL OR INSECT INFESTATION, ETC. TO
THE COVERED PRODUCT OR ANY COMPONENT; (J) DAMAGE OR FAILURE DUE TO CAUSES BEYOND YOUR CONTROL SUCH AS
ENVIRONMENTAL CONDITIONS, EXPOSURE TO WEATHER CONDITIONS OR ACTS OF NATURE, INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO: FIRE,
FLOODS, SMOKE, SAND, DIRT, LIGHTNING, MOISTURE, WATER DAMAGE OF ANY KIND, WHETHER FROM FRESH WATER, SALTWATER
OR OTHER WATER INTRUSION, STORMS, WIND OR WINDSTORM, HAIL, EARTHQUAKE, OTHER EXTERNAL PERILS OF NATURE; (K)
REPAIRS NECESSITATED BY OPERATION OUTSIDE THE MANUFACTURER OPERATIONAL OR ENVIRONMENTAL SPECIFICATIONS; (L)
BATTERY FAILURE OR LEAKAGE; (M) COLLISION WITH ANOTHER OBJECT, COLLAPSE, EXPLOSION, LIQUID SPILLAGE OF ANY KIND BY
ANY OWNER, EMPLOYEE, THIRD PARTY, REPAIR PERSONNEL, ETC.,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buyers Beware - You Can't Use This Until After One Year After Purchase, October 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4-Year Camera/Camcorder Accident Protection Plan ($300-350) (Electronics)
The Nikon Coolpix S9500 is great! but the 32GB Card failed after 3 photos and I had to buy a new one myself.
It was after 30 days so Amazon wouldn't cover it and SmartGuard Customer Service said I had to wait a full year
before the 4-Year Camera/Camcorder Accident Protection Plan ($300-350) could be used. Buyer Beware! So far
the protection has been useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware! Read terms and conditions!, December 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4-Year Camera/Camcorder Accident Protection Plan ($300-350) (Electronics)
Purchased for GoPro Hero Camera and after reading the reviews, went to the website to read terms and conditions. Plan very misleading, not what it appears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what protection, June 27, 2014
This review is from: 4-Year Camera/Camcorder Accident Protection Plan ($300-350) (Electronics)
You feel good? its a good deal right? well yes, it would have been a good deal if
they would plan to spend at least a penny!
You think that your Camera is damaged they will pay you a penny? No!! They are not waiting for any claim! They want to give insurance to everyone as long as they dont have to pay anything. Your item is dropped, you call them, they find a way to fool you and will never respond to you!
My camera was damaged and I called them. They did not pay saying that this type of damage is not covered! I called them several times and the person who answers the phone just repeats the same sentences, he says this is what they told him (i.e., no matter what I say, he can only repeat the same stuff! ) So beware
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money!, July 14, 2014
This review is from: 4-Year Camera/Camcorder Accident Protection Plan ($300-350) (Electronics)
Don't work wen you need, they do not answer your inquiry, they are so slow, they don't give the clear information about what you should do, you will be turning around again and again... And can't solve your issue. Don't waste your money in it. When broken buy a new one. That's it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not pleased with the way i had to get it, June 24, 2014
This review is from: 4-Year Camera/Camcorder Accident Protection Plan ($300-350) (Electronics)
this warranty for the price I paid should of come thru the mail, i had to go to the library just to print off a copy of this, alot of people probably are like me and don't have a printer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars About "4-Year Camera/Camcorder Accident Protection Plan ($300-350) SmartGuard:!!!, March 12, 2014
This review is from: 4-Year Camera/Camcorder Accident Protection Plan ($300-350) (Electronics)
I went to see the 'REVIEWS' on "4-Year Camera/Camcorder Accident Protection Plan ($300-350) SmartGuard:

And to my shock most people in the reviews, (a whole hand full of them!) that gave it a 4-5 star reviews, GAVE REVIEWS ON THE ITEM THEY BOUGHT and what they thought of it?! YOU'RE SUPPOSE TO GIVE A REVIEW ON HOW GOOD THIS PROTECTION PLAN IS, after you've made a claim!! Hello?!

So as a result I cannot make a decision based on these reviews of this company, Smart Guard! Some people just DON'T THINK when they're writing a review, they just want to have their say.

I posted a question the other day asking something about a camera, I was very grateful for the answers I received, but there was one person that wrote 'I don't know the answer to your question because I bought it for someone else.....'. DUH!! Really!? Then why in heaven's name are you writing to me!?! Only write IF you have an answer to the question being asked! and that goes for ALL reviews! Don't waste people's time! It takes a long time to research a product we want to buy, and all those extra, non helpful comments just adds to the stress!

The one star rate I gave here is because they, the company, should know better than to publish those reviews!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have not had to use it yet, June 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4-Year Camera/Camcorder Accident Protection Plan ($300-350) (Electronics)
I have not had to use the protection plan yet, but it says it covers many types of accidents. Always good to have peace of mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HAVEN'T HAD TO USE BUT I KNOW IT WILL BE THERE ,, April 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4-Year Camera/Camcorder Accident Protection Plan ($300-350) (Electronics)
THE CAMERA HAS SO MANY FEATURES ,AND WAS QUITE EXPENCIVE, THAT COULD GO WRONG. IT WILL BE COVERED I HOPE. WORTH THE $$$$$$$$
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good thing to have if your out doors., March 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4-Year Camera/Camcorder Accident Protection Plan ($300-350) (Electronics)
I don't usually buy protection but when you are out doors with this type of product it should be a must to have insurance for an accident.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.