Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They Get It Done
Just used this for the first time yesterday. I had to ship my Canon 5D Mark III to NYC for repair and this protection plan came in handy. The response from SmartGuard was incredible and they did what insurance companies should do. Support their clients. Thanks Amazon.com and SmartGuard.
Published 3 months ago by Ronald G. Baker

versus
43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fraud/scam--I got hoodwinked, don't waste your time on this
Smart Guard "Accidental Protection" 4 years???????

Accidents are the main thing people buy these plans for, but guess what ISN'T covered? you got it......accidents. You drop it in water while hiking or climbing, too bad. You go to beach and it gets sand in it, too bad.
Get stolen at home? it will cover that, but so will my homeowner's...
Published 17 months ago by WillieBoyBama


Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fraud/scam--I got hoodwinked, don't waste your time on this, September 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4-Year Camera/Camcorder Accident Protection Plan ($3000-3500) (Electronics)
Smart Guard "Accidental Protection" 4 years???????

Accidents are the main thing people buy these plans for, but guess what ISN'T covered? you got it......accidents. You drop it in water while hiking or climbing, too bad. You go to beach and it gets sand in it, too bad.
Get stolen at home? it will cover that, but so will my homeowner's insurance, same for my car.
So what do they cover that isn't covered by home or auto insurance (and renter's insurance if don't own home).....still trying to figure that out.
Can't believe Amazon allows this, .....folks, wait till you try to register on their website. ????????
who set up their website? a 10 year old kid down the street?
I can't get it to register my product, and I am technically proficient

scam scam scam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worthless!, December 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4-Year Camera/Camcorder Accident Protection Plan ($3000-3500) (Electronics)
This is advertised as a "drops and spills" warranty. However, when I received the coverage information, there's about a page of things that are NOT covered by this warranty. Including any accidental drops, spills, or damage. The only thing it does cover is if the camera itself is faulty... which, I would assume Canon itself would fix.

Definitely don't waste your money on this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They Get It Done, October 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4-Year Camera/Camcorder Accident Protection Plan ($3000-3500) (Electronics)
Just used this for the first time yesterday. I had to ship my Canon 5D Mark III to NYC for repair and this protection plan came in handy. The response from SmartGuard was incredible and they did what insurance companies should do. Support their clients. Thanks Amazon.com and SmartGuard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting to the bottom of what is covered by Warrantech Smart Guard, December 2, 2013
This review is from: 4-Year Camera/Camcorder Accident Protection Plan ($3000-3500) (Electronics)
Below you will find a chat transcript with amazon representative answering my questions regarding Warrantech Smart Guard.

I also called the number they provided 1-877-308-8071, and Warrantech rep told me that all accidents while handling are covered. They gave me some specific examples -- accidentally dropping the camera while using is covered; accidentally dropping the camera in the water while using is covered as long as I am able to retrieve the camera and present it to Warrantech; leaving the camera outside and letting it soak in the rain is NOT covered; taking the camera where it should not be (wherever it is) and damaging is NOT covered. Also customer service rep told me there is not co-pays or additional charges.

So this extended warranty looks totally fine to me. Hope this helps

You are now connected to Gulam from Amazon.com

Me:i am buying canon eos 5d mark iii camera and i am considering purchase of the 4-Year Camera/Camcorder Accident Protection Plan ($3000-3500) - SmartGuard for $99. DOES THIS PLAN COVER CAMERA DROPS AND WATER DAMAGE?

Gulam:Hello, my name is Gulam. I'll be happy to help you today. Please help me with the web page link of the item that you are referring. Me: [[ASIN:B007FG B007FG]] full link)

Gulam:Thank you. Yes, Alecsey. It will cover camera drops and water damages.

Me:This $99 plan will cover? No upgrades or additional purchases needed? Also how do they call this kind of protection?

Gulam:You can call them at 1-877-308-8071.

Me:ok thank you!

Gulam:You're welcome. Would there be anything else that I can assist you with today?

Me:no, thank you

Gulam:Thank you for contacting Amazon. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Me:one more question sorry

Gulam:Sure.

Me:does this warranty plan assume 100% full coverage for water or drop damage repair/replacement or there is a co-pay?

Gulam:There would be a co-pay. You can get the detailed information from them directly by calling the number.

Me:do you know co-pay percentage?

Gulam:They have not provided the detailed information. You can call the above number to confirm.

Me:Ok, Thank you very much for your time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NIKON D810 PROTECTION, September 23, 2014
This review is from: 4-Year Camera/Camcorder Accident Protection Plan ($3000-3500) (Electronics)
GOOD PROTECTION FOR MY NIKON D810
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4-Year Camera/Camcorder Accident Protection Plan ($3000-3500) (Electronics)
Looks genuine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.