Truck Month Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Sixx AM Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 22, 2012
This mini guide containes a couple of great thoughts and bits and pieces of wisdom, but you could also summerize them on a two page handout...so the book(lett) is not worth its money in any case and tells you little about Product Management really.

If you want to read some common sense go for it, if you are truely interested in PM better look somewhere else. I like Lawley a lot, but this one is just to make a quick buck and does not give you 20 USD of value in return.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2011
As a new product manager, I enjoyed gleaning insights from a variety of perspectives (the contributors include executives, consultants, authors/bloggers, and trainers as well as product managers). I appreciated reading what each contributor felt was important about product management, and why. It gave me a broad perspective on the subject of product management and I came away with plenty of notes that I'll use in my current role as a product manager.

A few pieces of advice to give you a feel for the advice that I found both useful and insightful:

Saying "no" because the customer isn't always right: There are times when saying "no" can be mutually beneficial. An example from the book talks about how saying "no" led to a call from the CEO expressing disappointment, yet once the customer got past their initial disappointment, they built the capability themselves. This is much better than leading a customer on, letting them think that a feature might make it in at some point in the future.

If you want to improve your product, talk to a competitor's customer. "...they'll tell you why they didn't buy your product, and what you would have to do to your product to make it worth purchasing." Conversely, customers of your own products typically point out things they don't like or would like to see added or fixed - for free.

A key test of your (as a product manager) being a CEO of your product: "When a question arises about product direction, all eyes turn to you. If that's not happening, ask yourself if you're being a true product leader."

If you're a product manager, this book is a must read!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2014
I would especially recommend those who have to deal with software developers, although it may be applicable to every field.
The signal of 42 could be easily extended to 100, altough i must say 25 are really really good, the others just being good.
Certain rules are a true mirror to everybody's business life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2014
The topics chosen are practical and are useful in daily PM life. I am in to PM already and this book hinted at some areas which needed my attention and improvement. There could be many areas in a PM role which one could be doing well subconsciously and this book will make you happy about. Good book with small chapters. Easy to read when you have about 10mins leisure time during lunch breaks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2012
Think of this as a good daily inspiration. What the book lacks is detailed how-to's or examples on how to implement or abide by the rules.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2014
Poorly implemented. No deep thinking. A lot of boring babbling. Go read Kent Beck on Extreme Programming and research on Medium.com about product design.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2012
i was new to PM when i got this so it help me get familiar with the new role quicker
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2016
Very good read for product managers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2010
Also as one of the authors of this book, I appreciate the fact that we aren't all 100% consistent with each other. That is to be expected in a field like product management. The principles are pretty universal, but they have to be applied according to the industry and company you are in. As you read through the various sections, and note how people have solved similar problems, the differences in perspectives can very very illuminating, just as in a discussion with your peers at a local meeting or a P-camp.

You can probably draw some insights precisely because there is some disagreement. But even if I disagree with some fine points, I have a lot of respect for the people who contributed. This is a group of people who have "been there, done that, had the successes (and sometimes the not-successes). I only wish that this book had been available to me at the beginning of my career. It might have made more more effective in a wide variety of situations.

In fact, don't just read this book yourself. Recommend it to colleagues, to your boss, even to the CEO. Pick out one or two topics and discuss them at a staff meeting. Discuss a few topics with engineering or sales, to help them understand the key role of product management and to have a better idea of what you must do to be successfully personally and to drive company success.

And maybe you'll even want to write a rule for "The next 42 Rules ..."
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2016
Save your money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse