Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complete History?
I've searched, and so far, I have not come across a boxing (mainly Heavyweight) DVD, with more footage from the early years 1900-1950,
than this one. The only one that comes close is the DVD "The Kings of the Ring".

I realize, the earlier you go back, the footage will be horrible, limited camera views, but, its part of Boxing history, so, show it.
In...
Published on March 13, 2007 by JPGRfan

versus
49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not great
There's just a wee bit of hyperbole in the title of this DVD. Some of the fights are not fantastic, and the documentary covers only the first half of the century. Except for very short bouts, only bits and pieces of fights are included. The early fights are from old films that are hard to see and unrestored. Many of the great old championship fights are not...
Published on November 6, 2007 by Roger Long


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not great, November 6, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 45 Fantastic Fights Of The Century (DVD)
There's just a wee bit of hyperbole in the title of this DVD. Some of the fights are not fantastic, and the documentary covers only the first half of the century. Except for very short bouts, only bits and pieces of fights are included. The early fights are from old films that are hard to see and unrestored. Many of the great old championship fights are not there--such as Willard vs. Johnson. And of the more recent bouts, there is none with Jake LaMotta and only a couple of pieces of Sugar Ray Robinson fights, none of the classic Robinson/Zale fights, Robinson/Basilio bouts.

Perhaps the producers tried to pack 10 pounds of material in a 5-pound bag. They might have given us a two or more DVDs in the package with a wider selection of material, or chosen better and complete bouts for a one DVD package. There's no Ali, no Sugar Ray Leonard, Larry Holmes, Mike Tyson, etc. The latest fights are from the 1950s, as far as I could see.

Still, this is better than nothing at all, if you are a boxing fan. The Louis/Schmeling fights alone are worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "In this cawnah...Caveat Emptor! And in this cawnah... The Crapola, Kid!", July 25, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 45 Fantastic Fights Of The Century (DVD)
With a prior understanding that 45 FANTASTIC FIGHTS OF THE CENTURY was only samples of boxing matches, I went ahead and ordered it.

This is an utterly disappointing DVD that TANGO ought to withdraw from the market.

There's NO literature and NO playlist anywhere to be found, and NO wonder-- some featured bouts are the equivalent of "Schmenk vs. Smegma."

One "fight" is only a title card, then the losing boxer already on the canvas! (oy)

Dubbing quality is THE WORST (the WORST, Jerry!). Many chapters are so blurry the viewer thinks his eyes have been dilated by an optometrist. A few fights consist of two indistinct ghosts dancing within the squared circle (usually the matches you wanted to see, like Joe Louis's).

Lowest blow of all (a 'cup shot'): my darn disc freezes up on the Dempsey/Tunney fight (approx. chapter #31) and won't play anything that comes after it!!!

Feh! Feh! Can you say: "crapola"?
Thou hast been forewarned. (...and there's the bell for the 16th round...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complete History?, March 13, 2007
I've searched, and so far, I have not come across a boxing (mainly Heavyweight) DVD, with more footage from the early years 1900-1950,
than this one. The only one that comes close is the DVD "The Kings of the Ring".

I realize, the earlier you go back, the footage will be horrible, limited camera views, but, its part of Boxing history, so, show it.
In VHS, you can probably find a few good ones with older fights,
if you look long enough.

The footage is fair to good quality on most of them. Lots of fights on here too, from 1909 to the 1950s, maybe one from the early 60's.
Going back to Jack Johnson, Jess Willard(Not fighting Johnson), James Braddock, Max Baer, Joe Louis, Jack Dempsey and many more.

More DVD's like this, need to be released. I wouldn't call this the best, I'd call this one, the only one, with a more complete history of the early fights. Some of these might be considered rare fights, that you might not find on other DVDs.

I say its worth the 10 dollars.

Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Production Value Packs No Punch, September 28, 2009
By 
This review is from: 45 Fantastic Fights Of The Century (DVD)
This is a haphazardly compiled collection of badly-rendered fight footage. There are some fights included that really aren't fights of the century in any sense, such as washed-up ex-champ Max Baer beating the tar out of mid-range contender Tony Galento. The fights are presented in no particular order, as we lurch from the 20s, forward to the 30s, up to the 50s, back to the 10s, and then back to the 30s again. The transfers of the fight films are far too poor to blame on their simply being old. You can find better picture quality for most of these fights on YouTube. For most fights, there is only sparse newsreel-style commentary that, coupled with the poor picture, makes it hard to figure out which fighter is which, and few of the fights are placed in context in any way, shape, or form (especially with the lack of chronological logic). It doesn't really make sense to hear an announcer tell us that Joe Louis' only loss to this point was to Max Schmeling, and then see that very match two fights later.

The most inexplicable mistake of the entire enterprise, however, was the fact that at least two of the fights were repeated for absolutely no reason: Dempsey-Tunney II and (if I remember correctly) a Luis Firpo fight. Add to all of this the fact that the title cards are filled with careless misspellings ("Loe Louis" and "Primo Carnero" are examples) and it becomes clear that the production company was trying to rush a haphazard product onto the market, and make a quick buck off of fight fans buying it blind. Don't make that mistake. This is garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great old footage, November 3, 2006
I was really impressed with this movie. I actually bought it at a Dollar store (for a buck!). The producers did a good job transfering the footage to DVD. It don't have too many huge fights, but it has some fight s from as far back as 1909! It does have most of the greats like Liston, Joe Louis, both Rockys, Max Baer, and many more.

Definaltey worth the buy if you like the classic fights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars decent value FOR ITS ASKING PRICE, July 2, 2012
By 
feedthecat (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 45 Fantastic Fights Of The Century (DVD)
As most of the other reviewers have noted, the production values of this Tango Entertainment dvd are def not great, but that can be expected given the price of this product AND the prohibitive costs of getting the rights to show MORE than the single rounds or (extended) clips from each of the "Fantastic Fights" on this dvd.

The "value" that I've found in this item is that it gives one a basic idea as to how each of the fighters on this disc fought (i.e. was he a "brawler" or a "boxer", did he have a good jab, was he a righty or a "southpaw", etc) and that it is less time consuming to watch than having to, say, jump from video to video on youtube to catch a glimpse of these same fighters in action (assuming that that site even has video of all of them). And, yeah, the clips aren't pristine, but that's not only due to the quality of the transfers, but also the quality of the original prints. Indeed, as someone who has bought boxing dvds from various internet sellers, the picture quality of most of the bouts on this disc isn't THAT bad considering.

And, although many of the boxers who appear on this dvd are not great - or even "good" - fighters, footage of boxing immortals, such as Jack Dempsey, Benny Leonard, and Joe Louis, and of little remembered, but outstanding pugilists, like Tony Canzoneri, "Kid Chocolate", and "Bat" Battalino, more than make up for the shortcomings.

The single, 2 hour, 45 min disc contains rounds/clips from the following bouts:

Jack Johnson-Stanley Ketchel 1909
Jess Willard-Frank Moran 1916
Dempsey-Willard 1919
Luis Angel Firpo-"KO" Bill Brennan 1923
Dempsey-Firpo 1923 (champ knocked out of ring)
Leonard-Lew Tendler II 1923 (from the only extant fight film of the former)
Gene Tunney-Georges Carpentier 1924
Tunney-Tommy Gibbons 1925
Tunney-Dempsey I 1926
Jack Sharkey-Jimmy Maloney 1927
Dempsey-Sharkey 1927
Tunney-Dempsey II 1927 ("The Battle of the Long Count")
Paulino Uzcudun-Harry Wills 1927
Tunney-Tom Heeney 1928
Battalino-"Kid Chocolate" 1930
Max Schmeling-Mickey Walker 1932
Max Baer-Schmeling 1933
Primo Carnera-Jack Sharkey 1933
Carnera-Ernie Schaff 1933 (latter dies after bout)
Barney Ross-Billy Petrolle II 1934
Carnera-Tommy Loughran 1934 (champ has 80+ lb advantage)
M Baer-Carnera 1934
Canzoneri-Lou Ambers I 1935
Ross-Jimmy McLarnin III 1935
James Braddock-M Baer 1935 ("Cinderella Man" punches worse than Russell Crowe!)
Louis-"King" Levinsky 1935
Louis-M Baer 1935
Buddy Baer-Jack Doyle 1935
Schmeling-Louis I 1936
Louis-Braddock 1937
Louis-Tommy Farr 1937
Louis-Schmeling II 1938
Henry Armstrong-Ross 1938
Louis-Tony Galento 1939
Louis-Arturo Godoy II 1940
Louis-"Jersey" Joe Walcott I 1947 (latter robbed of dec)
Tony Zale-Rocky Graziano III 1948 (only one of their 3 wars filmed)
Sandy Saddler-Willie Pep IV 1951
Rocky Marciano-Harry "Kid" Matthews 1952
"Sugar" Ray Robinson-Carl "Bobo" Olson III 1955
Johnny Saxton-Carmen Basilio I 1956 (bad dec gives title to the former)
Robinson-Olson IV 1956

(the disc menu contains several factual errors - such as dates, etc - which I believe I have corrected above)

After watching this dvd, one can always then head to youtube to see longer footage of the fighters that interest you.

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite up to scratch, but worth the price., June 15, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Because it's hard to find anything on the older fighters, this DVD does fill a kind of boxing black hole; among the fighters on this compilation are ones that you rarely get to see at all.

For instance, you get the Will o' the Wisp against rough-housing Sandy Saddler; it was the first time I'd ever seen Pep fight, and he's simply mesmerizing (watch him and you'll see where Orlando Canizales picked up his style). Jersey Joe Walcott's on this DVD too - he does the herky-jerky, slips and slides and shuffles his way past Joe Louis (though Louis gets the nod - go figure!). And the amazing Kid Chocolate's on the menu as well.

One of the truly great fights though, the 1909 Clash of the Titans between Stanley Ketchel and Jack Johnson, - a vicious middleweight against a skilful heavyweight - is extremely disappointing. After several minutes of the fight - suddenly, magically, inexplicably - we see Johnson down and Ketchel on his back - without seeing the punches that did the damage!

Additionally, the Walcott-Louis fight included here needs redoing - Walcott's torso disappears into the dark background of the crowd so that Louis appears to be fighting just a pair of boxing trunks with legs attached! And this DVD also gives you the Tunney-Dempsey fights twice - why? No man can say!

All in all, it's worth buying to have some of the old-time greats on your DVD shelf, but don't expect too much from either the film quality or the footage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF A KIND, April 7, 2007
By 
B Ardell Young (Camden, SC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I did not realize such DVD's existed and found it by accident. It provides footage of fighters not seen in fifty years or more. DVD actually has footage of a Jim Corbett fight from early 1900s. It is not the best quality but neither was Corbett, who was at the end of his career. However, it provided a view of Corbett's boxing style and why it was so successful at the turn of the century.

There are several Joe Louis matches which allows viewer to see strengths and weaknesses in his boxing ability. It was surprising to see the number of times Louis was knocked down by different fighters and what allowed him to win so many fights: the power of his right hand.

It does not have many fights after 1950 but those matches are not as rare. Any boxing fan will love this DVD. I purchased a second copy for a friend because he is a big fight fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Recommend you check out some of the other fight collections., November 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 45 Fantastic Fights Of The Century (DVD)
Quantity is not always quality. Some fights show only one or two rounds. The commentary is ok but it would have worked better if less fights had been shown with more time given to them. One saving grace is some of the fights/fighters were outstanding and have been more or less forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, March 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 45 Fantastic Fights Of The Century (DVD)
My father can watch this over and over and over again. He love this and that makes it priceless for me. Thank you!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

45 Fantastic Fights Of The Century
$12.99 $11.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.