Customer Reviews


2,757 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,172)
4 star:
 (287)
3 star:
 (115)
2 star:
 (53)
1 star:
 (130)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PAID__5__STAR REVIEW
Just collecting my coins for a 5 star REVIEW. I plan to rework my review to the truth after the game producer gives me my 200 free coins for a favorable review.
Published 17 months ago by PAID__5__STAR REVIEW

versus
201 of 210 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hammered over Head with Ads and Nags; Short & Easy; most 5-star reviews are BRIBED (FAKE)
This game's objective is to determine the correlation between each of the four different images presented. In the app's example images, you can see that one of the words is "seal". You find the randomly jumbled letters and type out the word as quickly as possible. Answer quickly enough and you are rewarded with coins. The game is well-considered, and it is obvious a...
Published 17 months ago by Robert Reese


‹ Previous | 1 2276 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

201 of 210 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hammered over Head with Ads and Nags; Short & Easy; most 5-star reviews are BRIBED (FAKE), August 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4Pics 1Word- What's the Word Init (App)
This game's objective is to determine the correlation between each of the four different images presented. In the app's example images, you can see that one of the words is "seal". You find the randomly jumbled letters and type out the word as quickly as possible. Answer quickly enough and you are rewarded with coins. The game is well-considered, and it is obvious a lot of work went into finding four images that have a commonality.

It's fun, sure, but that fun is marred by the aggressive practices of the developer. For instance, there are *THREE* different places on the front menu which contains IN-APP ADS for the developers other offerings. That's right, THREE of them. It's worse than you think, though, because they've introduced the IN-APP STORE. It is not IAP, but it's close enough. Indeed, because it bypasses the already bad securiy of the Amazon Appstore, if your child accidentally chose to 'purchase' a game, it can be done very easily.

If that wasn't enough, it turns out that the developer is shilling for 5-star reviews. Guess what: if you don't give a five-star review you don't get the whole game. In order to get the additional 200 coins the game is offering, you have to write a 5-star review. You know what that means: you cannot trust a single 5-star review! Yes, the dev has artificially raised the review ranking of this app. (Ironically, the popup asking you to rate the game burns up your game time clock!) Not cool. To be honest, though, there shouldn't be any need to purchase coins since most of the game is too easy.

Of course, in testing I burned all available coins to see what would happen. What do the coins do? You use them to get hints. 100 coins reveals a letter in the answer, or it removes some unused letters from the available pool. What happens when you run out? Simple, you either continue to solve puzzles to earn more coins, or you can PURCHASE them. No surprise, unfortunately. I fully expect In-App Purchasing to hit the next update cycle. There's also a button in the settings that purports to "reset all game data". In fact, all it does is restart the levels; that's just another deception by the developer. You still have the same score and the same amount of coins left. BUT, you are UNABLE to earn any more coins in levels you've completed!

That may be fine if you could go to the level list and jump ahead, but there is no level list. There's no way to find out how many levels exist, and no way to move back or forth other than to complete the levels in the order dictated (which is not random). And the ending is an abysmal let-down... the game literally ended and quit, just like that.

Even though there are 100 levels, give or take, it is *very* short and quite easy. I was challenged on a half dozen or so, but I was able to download, install, experiment, write this review, and play the entire game in about an hour. The game had no "ramp" of difficulty. In other words, it did not start easy and get progressively harder. No, in fact it was the other way around. The last several where unbelievably easy and boring.

By the way, this app wants internet access, and includes AdMob and AdSense, as well as Facebook integration. Best thing to do with this game is to play withthe internet access turned *off*. After all, the developer has already shown that it cannot be trusted.

No, I don't think this game was worth 99-cents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


108 of 116 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as much fun, August 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4Pics 1Word- What's the Word Init (App)
I thought this would be more fun to play. You have to join a social community and get friends connected to play some levels. Not interested in those kinds of games that hook you in to other sites to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


150 of 165 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Forced 5 star rating, August 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4Pics 1Word- What's the Word Init (App)
Fun game. Only gave it 5 stars for 200 bribery coins. Honestly, though I'd rather give it 3 stars. It'd earn 4 if it didn't bribe me for the 5th. So to keep things somewhat fair I'm dropping it to one star. Yes this is a fun game and a good brain stimulant but bribing users for a perfect rating? For shame. I took them up on the offer but now I'm helping maintain the balance. One star for the shady attempt of false flattery. Thanks for the coins and the fun game. I hope others follow this example. Get your free coins and change your review to something honest. Don't become a tool of the developers. Make them your tool. They're trying to use you after all. I for one will not be used. I'm no puppet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


100 of 109 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars FAOTD?, August 28, 2013
By 
RJFait (Phoenix, Arizona, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4Pics 1Word- What's the Word Init (App)
BS! I supposedly got a $.99 app for free but I had to wait for a count down to close an ad before I could even start to play, and when I tried to turn ads off, the game asks for another $1.99. I'm glad I didn't actually pay anything. FU to the developers. And
Amazon, you should be checking that your free app of the day is really free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars totally froze my kindle fire, here's 1Word... garbage!, August 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4Pics 1Word- What's the Word Init (App)
no other app has ever been able to totally freeze my kindle fire like this one did... blank screen, no response from screen touch or any button, including the power button! even holding power button in for a full minute did nothing... finally long press power button worked, after several minutes of total lock-up. minus 19 stars is my rating on this piece of trash!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 93 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not worth it, May 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4Pics 1Word- What's the Word Init (App)
This game has several problems that make it unacceptable. You can zoom into an individual image, once you've bought a hint if you exit as nd return to the game you can't repurchase the hint and it doesn't re-present the hints you bought previously. You can't skip to the next set of pictures. Once you are stuck the game is over. VERY SORRY I bought this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bribed reviews, August 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4Pics 1Word- What's the Word Init (App)
App bribes users for a five star review. So, I wouldn't trust any review giving this game five stars. Shady developer in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 86 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars FAKE, August 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4Pics 1Word- What's the Word Init (App)
Garbage. Don't waste your time with this app. Bloated with adding to Facebook messages. What a waste of my time. Thanks Amazon for giving away this free garbage app.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 76 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor performance, April 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4Pics 1Word- What's the Word Init (App)
evrytime I try to use the hint to remove characters not needed the game resets. it takes a a few seconds to load screens, which many similar games take no time at all. the game really isn't worth the time I took to give feedback and certainly not worth the 99cents it set me back...believe me I have wasted a dollar on many an occassion. I just really like other 4pics 1word games and this one does not live up to the standards set by others unfortunately the creators are making lots of dough from having a similar name with similar game but very poor performance..
hopefully enough Pol read this review and others like it before wasting their 99cents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BELIEVE ALL THE 5 STAR REVIEWS!, August 28, 2013
This review is from: 4Pics 1Word- What's the Word Init (App)
Bribery used for forced 5 star reviews. 5 stars for out of the box new marketing concept. ZERO STARS FOR DECEPTIVE PRACTICES. A new low for unethical tactics from an app developer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2276 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.