Customer Reviews


288 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (68)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (44)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 50 First Dates Soundtrack
Hey, this is one of my favorite CDs but I was upset the 'Somewhere over the rainbow' song was not on it. So I decide to go and find it for everyone like me that likes it. The artist name is Israel Kamakawiwo'ole (IZ) and it is available on his CD "Facing Future or the 'Met Joe Black' soundtrack. Hope this makes it better for the music lovers out there.
Published on November 19, 2004 by Brandy M. Johnson

versus
1,173 of 1,183 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Here's What You've Been Missing...
I've received dozens of emails regarding my original review, so here's the new version.

I, too, was disappointed with the songs included on this soundtrack to the great movie, "50 First Dates." So I went onto the Internet Movie Database, where I found a listing of all the songs that played in the film. Curious, I went through the movie (many times) and listened...
Published on December 1, 2004 by Sarah Core


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1,173 of 1,183 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Here's What You've Been Missing..., December 1, 2004
By 
Sarah Core (Washington, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 50 First Dates (Audio CD)
I've received dozens of emails regarding my original review, so here's the new version.

I, too, was disappointed with the songs included on this soundtrack to the great movie, "50 First Dates." So I went onto the Internet Movie Database, where I found a listing of all the songs that played in the film. Curious, I went through the movie (many times) and listened carefully for all of the songs that I love that are missing from the soundtrack. They are now listed below for everyone's enjoyment! You can buy them online or use a peer-to-peer program to download them yourself. I have the songs listed in order of appearance in the movie.

The "Full" Soundtrack
Fifty First Dates Soundtrack (in order of appearance)

1. The Maile Serenaders - "My Sweet Sweet"
2. Nicole Kea - "Breakfast In Bed" (Originally recorded by UB40)
3. The Ventures - "Hawaii Five-O"
4. Harve Presnell - "They Call The Wind Mariah"
5. Bob Marley & The Wailers - "Could You Be Loved"
6. Manfred Mann - "Blinded By The Light"
7. Toots & The Maytals - "Pressure Drop"
8. Wayne Wonder - "Hold Me Now" (Originally recorded by the Thompson Twins)
9. 311 - "Rub A Dub"
10. O-Shen - "Throw Away The Gun"
11. Elan Atias (backing vocals by Gwen Stefani) - "Slave To Love" (Originally recorded by Roxy Music)
12. Leon Redbone & Ringo Starr - "My Little Grass Shack (In Kealakekua Hawaii)"
13. The Flaming Lips - "Do You Realize"
14. Paul McCartney - "Another Day"
15. 311 - "Amber"
16. No Doubt - "Underneath It All"
17. Jason Mraz - "I Melt With You" (Originally recorded by Modern English)
18. The English Beat - "Hands Off She's Mine"
19. Seal (featuring Mikey Dread) - "Lips Like Sugar" (Originally recorded by Echo and the Bunnymen)
20. Dryden Mitchell - "Friday, I'm In Love" (Originally recorded by The Cure)
21. The Beach Boys - "Wouldn't It Be Nice"
22. Adam Sandler and Rob Schneider - "Ula's Luau Song"
23. Wyclef Jean (featuring Eve) - "Your Love (L.O.V.E. Reggae Mix)" (Originally recorded by The Outfield)
24. Wyclef Jean - "Baby"
25. Adam Sandler - "Forgetful Lucy"
26. Ziggy Marley - "Drive" (Originally recorded by The Cars)
27. Israel Kamakawiwo'ole - "Over the Rainbow"
28. UB40 - "Every Breath You Take" (Originally recorded by Sting and The Police)
29. 311 - "Love Song" (Originally recorded by The Cure)
30. Mark McGrath (of Sugar Ray) - "Ghost In You" (Originally recorded by Psychedelic Furs)
31. Bob Marley & The Wailers - "Is This Love"
32. Will.I.Am & Fergie - "True" (Originally recorded by Spandau Ballet)
33. The Makaha Sons Of Ni'Ihau - "Aloha Ka Manini"
34. Snoop Dogg - "From Tha Chuuuch To Da Palace"

Enjoy making your own soundtrack,

(...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


376 of 386 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where's IZ?, March 17, 2004
By 
Janet "arrowsmith10" (New Mexico United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 50 First Dates (Audio CD)
Good songs, the Adam Sandler ditty is cute, but where's IZ? The fabulous version of Over the Rainbow that closed the movie is MISSING! And it isn't revealed until you buy the album. Even then it's only revealed if you were expecting to hear it.
I loved the movie and fully expected the soundtrack to be a complete version of the movie soundtrack. It was a disappointment for that track to be absent. It doesn't kill the CD, but the CD is less than it could have been both as a reflection of the movie and in terms of basic truth in advertising. This is not the complete movie soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 50 First Dates Soundtrack, November 19, 2004
This review is from: 50 First Dates (Audio CD)
Hey, this is one of my favorite CDs but I was upset the 'Somewhere over the rainbow' song was not on it. So I decide to go and find it for everyone like me that likes it. The artist name is Israel Kamakawiwo'ole (IZ) and it is available on his CD "Facing Future or the 'Met Joe Black' soundtrack. Hope this makes it better for the music lovers out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something Missing, March 15, 2004
By 
Bryan Stewart (South Point, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 50 First Dates (Audio CD)
This is a great soundtrack to a great movie. With its Island versions of great songs, this soundtrack is a warm take on some great songs. The one disappointment was Israel "IZ" Kamakawiwo'oles version of "Somewhere over the raindow/What a wonderful world" (which was also used in "Finding Forrester"), If that song was on the soundtrack, i would have given the soundtrack 5 stars. This Album is still a very good listen, Enjoy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Re: Missing Songs that you gotta have!, May 22, 2004
This review is from: 50 First Dates (Audio CD)
I loved the songs from the movie SO much that I purchased the soundtrack...oh dear.
I have looked through all the comments and a big Bravo goes out to Webguddess, April 10 who has provided a list of the missing,very much desired songs.
But she forgot one- No Doubt, Underneath It All. In case you can't find her comment here they are again, apart from that i do like the covered 80's songs on the CD:

1.Wouldn't it be nice by The Beach Boys
2.Another Day by Wings aka Paul McCartney
3.Amber by 311
4.Baby by Wyclef (during makeout in the office)
5.Blinded By The Light by Manfred Mann(first look at Lucy)
6.Do You Realize by Flaming Lips(Lucy's Car accident)
7.Could You Be Loved by Bob Marley
8.Hey Ya by Outkast
9.Somewhere over The Rainbow by IZ (Israel Kamakawiwo'ole)
10.Underneath It All by No Doubt
Happy downloading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere over the rainbow, March 12, 2005
This review is from: 50 First Dates (Audio CD)
I too was dissapointed that the ending song, "Somewhere over the Rainbow was Missing". I took a chance and went to the ITunes Music store and searched on Israel Kamakawiwo'ole and found the song there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been a 2 CD set., June 25, 2004
By 
Z3K3 (Canada Eh.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 50 First Dates (Audio CD)
Missing Songs as follows:
14. "Aloha Ka Manini" - The Makaha Sons Of Ni'Ihau
15. "Could You Be Loved" - Bob Marley & Wailers
16. "Throw Away The Gun" O-Shen
17. "Pressure Drop" - Toots & The Maytals
18. "Is This Love" - Bob Marley & Wailers
20."My Little Grass Shack In Kealakekua Hawaii" - Leon Redbone & Ringo Starr
21."My Sweet Sweet" - The Maile Surenaders
22."Do You Realize!!" - The Flaming Lips
23. "Rub A Dub" - 311
24. "Another Day" - Paul McCartney
25. "Amber" - 311
26. "Underneath It All" - No Doubt
27. "Hands Off She's Mine" - English Beat
28. "Wouldn't it be nice" - Beach Boys
29. "From Tha Chuuuch to da palace" - Snoop Dogg
30. "Baby" Wyclef Jean
31. "Over the Rainbow" - Israel Kamakawiwo'ole
32. "Every Breath You Take" - UB40
33.. "They Call the wind mariah" - Harve Presnell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where are the best songs?, May 17, 2005
By 
Victor Catano (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 50 First Dates (Audio CD)
The soundtrack doesn't include the two best songs in the movie - and the two most relevant to the storyline: "Wouldn't It Be Nice?" by the Beach Boys and "Over the Rainbow" by IZ. These are probably my two favorite recordings of all time, and it made for a great ending to the movie. WHY AREN'T THEY ON THE ALBUM? Yet another reason why file sharing is stomping on the dessicated corpse of the music industry...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere, January 10, 2005
This review is from: 50 First Dates (Audio CD)
The song you're looking for is "somewhere over the rainbow/Wonderful World". it's by Israel "IZ" Kamakawiwo'ole and you can find it on the Facing Future CD.

This is one of my favorite songs and it was also in "Meet Joe Black"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It IS lacking the best song from the movie!, June 21, 2004
By 
This review is from: 50 First Dates (Audio CD)
While the soundtrack is wonderfully refreshing and great to relax to, I have to agree with the rest of the world and say that if "Somewhere over the Rainbow" was included on this CD, it would for sure be 5 star! Love the remixes of all the old classics that I grooved to in high school. (showing my age!) I would still recommend it to anyone who loves a good regaae beat and loved the alternative part of the 80's! Two thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

50 First Dates O.S.T.
50 First Dates O.S.T. by 50 First Dates O.S.T.
Buy MP3 Album$9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.