Facility Spring Cleaning Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Blue October Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Made in Italy Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 9, 2012
I admit it. 50 Shades of Grey, er, inspired me to learn more about the world of BDSM, but I didn't know where to start. Everything else I found seemed either wayy too hardcore or not hardcore enough. 50 Ways to Play is the perfect book for beginners who really want to explore their wild sides- it's very thorough but it's not at all intimidating. I can't wait to try out what I've learned!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2012
This book begins with the husband-and-wife team writing: "Sex is suposed to pack a punch. It's suposed to take you off guard, make you hold your breath for what might come next, gasp with discovery, quicken your pulse and consume you, mind, body and soul." This slim volume certainly packs a punch.

Like a lot of people, I enjoyed FIFTY SHADES OF GREY (and before that series, Anne Rice's SLEEPING BEAUTY trilogy) and it certainly piqued my interest in BDSM. But, frankly, my imagination needed a jump-start when it came to translating fictional erotica into actual bedroom play.

The Macleods cover a wide variety of scenerios from glass toys, nipple clamps, electrostimulation, blindfolds and sensory deprivation, restraints, bondage positions and temperature play to the softer, soapier side of BDSM including lubricants (one kind heats up and another cools down).

I certainly got my moneys worth out of this gem and the 50 chapters got my blood pumping and adrenaline flowing.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2012
I was offered the chance to review a book called 50 Ways to Play: BDSM for Nice People. I thought it might be interesting since my husband and I have played around with BDSM a little bit but never delved very deeply into it. I decided I had better run it by my husband first though, just in case he didn't share my interest in exploring. His response was a very enthusiastic, "Hell Yeah!" so I agreed to do the review.

We received the book and I wasn't expecting much. It's a rather small book, just a bit larger than a regular paperback, and it's right around 100 pages long. How much detail could they really go into in such a small book? My husband and I had a plan going into the review. We would both read it, discuss our thoughts on the book as a whole, discuss the ideas presented in the book, decide if we wanted to try any of those ideas, and then we would get to the fun part of trying those ideas.

I read the book first and then gave it to my husband. It's a quick read and we were each able to finish it in a couple of hours. We both thought it was a very user friendly book and appreciated the small bits of humor that were thrown in. It starts out with the basics and gives easy to understand descriptions of the methods and tools used in BDSM. I liked that everything was presented and it was up to us to pick and choose which things were appealing to us. My husband was happy to see that the authors covered such a wide range of topics. They went from extremely basic concepts all the way through more advanced practices. We agreed that this book would be good for people just discovering BDSM or with only a little bit of experience. We fall into the slightly experienced category so it was great for us.

When we finally had some uninterrupted, child-free time, we sat down and discussed all 50 ideas in depth. My husband and I regularly talk about fantasies and turn-ons, so I was surprised at how many topics the book brought up that we had never discussed before. There were things we both dismissed immediately, some things only one of us found arousing, things we had been doing previously, and then the new things we both found appealing and wanted to try. We each learned some new things about our partner that day. We ended up talking and shopping for new toys online for a couple of hours. It was fun and a nice bonding experience for us.

There were a few things we weren't impressed with. We both thought that kitchen utensils as sex toys or spanking devices weren't a great idea. My husband thought the detailed thrusting techniques for penetration were common knowledge and most of them should not have been included. I disagreed and told him that if he already knew all of them, he should have been using more of those techniques previously :) I thought the anal play and anal sex sections were lacking in a lot of details. My husband disagreed and said I have an abnormal interest in all things anal and it was more than adequate for normal people :)

In the end, we were already practicing 24 items, we dismissed 19 items due to lack of mutual interest, and that left 7 new things we plan on trying. We have a fairly well stocked toy box but decided to add a few more things to it. My husband has been wanting a special piece of furniture for a while now and finally convinced me that it would be a good idea with the help of this book. The others were variations in practice or behavior we plan on adding. Some of them have already been tried and approved and others are still waiting to be tried. None of them are going to drastically change our sex life, they will simply add a bit more variation in what we've been doing. I think the biggest benefit for us was getting to know each other and our turn-ons a little bit better and we have this book to thank for that.

*This book was reviewed for Seductive Musings blog. A copy of the book was provided to me by either the author or the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2012
On the tail of another "50 Shades" rip off, and haven't we all had enough already? This trite piece attempts to capitalize on the current mania by attempting to instruct newbies in the art of mommy porn play. if any female or male can learn anything new from this work, then they've been hiding in a cave since birth or had their heads in the sand. Such exciting and new things like "temperature play" applying ice to ares of the Body. This is as daring as it gets, and anyone whose read Sidney Shelton, or seen 9 1/2 weeks would be as bored to death, as I was.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2014
Reviewed by Deana
Book provided by NetGalley for review
Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

50 Ways to Play is a great on the surface look at the world of BDSM. For some people this topic is very taboo and for others it is an everyday lifestyle. For people like me who want to know more and are a bit too shy to ask, this book is a great starting point. 50 Ways to Play: BDSM for Nice People is the perfect book to start a new journey which can increase your basic knowledge taking you from reader to partaking.

I thought it was a very user friendly book and enjoyed the small bits of wit and humor that were though out the book. It begins out with the basics and gives easy to understand descriptions of the practices and tools used in BDSM. I liked how everything was presented, allowing the reader to pick and choose which things were appealing without going beyond your own safe area. I was happy to see that the authors covered such a wide range of topics. They went from simple, basic concepts all the way through more advanced practices. I think this book is good for people just discovering BDSM or with only a little bit of experience. Or the people that just want to spice up your love life.

I enjoyed reading this book and learned a few things through reading. You may find it amazing what can be considered a BDSM act!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2012
I admit - I decided downloaded this book because of the title, or subtitle I should say. I consider myself a 'nice person', so this was a fun little introduction to some less nice topics. Yes, it's capitalizing on the success of Fifty Shades of Grey, which I read and liked even though it's not the most well-written of books. But for the price, the book offered some intriguing ideas and was written in a witty, easy style. Definitely a book that I'll be giving as a fun gift to a few brides-to-be in the very near future!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2012
This book is entertaining, educating and eye opening. It is a quick read about a sometimes dark subject, but they keep it light and informative. The information provided allows you to decide if it is something you might want to try and there are some great ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The 411:

While I have still not read 50 Shades I have a ton of friends who have and will love this ease you into it book. Many of my friends who have read 50 Shades have never read erotica in any form and are slowly easing into the idea of sex beyond the married, predictable sex. They want to explore and experience and to 50 Ways to Play: BDSM for Nice People is the perfect non scary, non threatening book to accompany their new journey which will take them from reader to practicing participator before they can scream I am Cumming!

This small book is easily hidden so fear not my friends, no one will ever know you are reading it. It is super tiny, only 102 pages. You can hid it in another book if you need to.

Written without overly graphic terminology you can learn:

How to tie someone up
What each sexual toy is used for and how to use it
How to play with ice
How to spank
Why every bedroom should have an ottoman
New position to try with your partner and the terminology. Do you know what the frog is? You will!
And More!

Pick it up at Amazon and read on your Kindle for only $8.99 shhhh no one needs to know, than rock his or her world with the new tricks you learned.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2012
( I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for an honest review )
Talking dirty, bondage and spanking was about all I know of BDSM and that's through some erotic romances. 50 Ways To Play brings out a whole arsenal of tricks and tips to spice up a bedroom with some good non-sex related advises as well. Like how unsexy a bedroom can be and how to spice it up - though let's be honest I won't be painting my bedroom a bordello red anytime soon, ;)

Sex is supposed to be exciting and adventurous, and the vanilla sex most couples think they should be having can easily be spiced up! One way to do so? Read 50 Ways To Play : BDSM For Nice People! Now one won't necessarily wanna try out all of them, like the whole sadism and masochism side freaks me out, but seriously who doesn't want a little dirty talk and the occasional little smack on the butt for being a bad girl. ;)

Debra and Don Macleod have written a clean tricks and tips book about something quite dirty. Dirty in a good way. 50 Ways To Play : BDSM For Nice People is no nonsense guide book to knowing what BDSM is and how to get started, it's also quite a hot read and you'll definitely wanna show it to your significant other and go, "Wanna try this chapter out?" Also all men should take a look at chapter 36. Sexual Positions & Thrusting Technique. Just saying.

So who is 50 Ways To Play : BDSM For Nice People for - not your average nun I'm sure or your grandmother ( though I won't guarantee that ) but those who are bored with the three mainstream positions of missionary, cowgirl and doggy style will be sure to get something out of this book! If you want your man to talk dirty to you, get a little rough in the bedroom or give you a spanking - but don't know how to go about it then this book is for you.

Can't find any fault in this book, it gives just what it says it will - and does it professionally! Awesome job Macleods!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2012
One of the other reviews mentions electrical stimulation and sensory deprivation, which can go bad really fast if you don't have a clue what you are doing. The Human mind is a very interesting thing. I've seen people really freak out just from being restrained, having panic attacks and such. There's nothing wrong with spicing up your sex life, but in the BDSM world, our key phrase is "safe, sane, and consensual". There's nothing safe or sane about jumping into something with minimal written instruction.
Look people, if you want to learn, go find a pro. If you want to dabble, well, YMMV.
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse