Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: "50 Years of Formula 1 On Board"
Safety Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Melvins The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$34.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 9, 2009
Boy could this one have been soooo much better!

Don't be fooled. Very short in-car camera shots. The footage of Nurburgring is amazing, but so little of it. Why not give us the whole lap instead of small clips faded in and out? F1 is sitting on so much more they could have provided for this DVD and didn't. The Long Beach footage is spectacular, as is the Haikkonen pass of Schumacher at Belgium '00, but it's too little for the price they ask.

As far as the length, 40 min of in-car, then a long, boring extended sequence of F1 champions.

For the price, go somewhere else.
66 comments|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2008
I highly recommend this video, great on-board footage that spans from Fangio to Schumacher. This is far superior to Murray Walker's "Lap of the God's", because they keep the commentary to a minimum which lets you turn the volume up nice and loud! Even my friends that aren't into racing are blown away by this incredible footage, I can't tell you how many times I've watched it.
11 comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2008
This video is really something special if you are a Formula 1 fan. It is not so much a documentary but really it's about how the formula has evolved. The video won't explain much of the changes, rather, you are just on board the formula of different drivers at different moments in time as they go around various of the world renown formula 1 tracks.

This video really puts you in the drivers seat and you can see the technological advancements through time.
It has a neat segment at the end where it will show you the F1 champions.

If you like speed and you like knowing what being on board a formula 1 looks like, then I recommend this video.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2009
This DVD is a great on board footage of Formula 1. Its very clear and you can turn the commentary off if you just want to hear the glorious sound of Grand Prix racing. Highly Recommended for anyone in to Formula 1.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2009
Vintage video footage - even on the 1950s cars is amazing. No the video quality isn't great from 40 years ago; nor is the audio. Even digital remastering of that type of footage can probably only be taken so far. But amazing to watch the views from the "dashboard" cameras. Overall car "sound" is great and hypnotic - the giftee only complained of no "smell" for the race fuel!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2011
I grew up watching Formula 1 with my dad - he's a fanatic about it. This is the perfect gift for someone who wakes up at 4am to watch a race on Sunday morning or will stay up all night to make sure they don't miss the qualifiers.

He watches it over and over, so I think it was money well worth spending.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2015
Wow. You don't even have to be a big fan of Formula 1 racing to enjoy the in-car footage. The old footage is fantastic, and one sees the ever increasing speeds that become mind-blowingly fast. The Long Beach footage is exceptional in that one can better relate to the speed because of the large buildings in the distance are passed so quickly. Conspicuous by its absence is the in-car footage of Ayrton Senna driving Monaco where he won so many times. There is a tribute video available on Amazon that is all about him, and it contains a single lap of Monaco that is simply unbelievable. I found the 2nd have of this movie a bit of a let down as it consists of interviews of and about the drivers themselves. I guess one has to be a bigger fan than I to appreciate that section.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2007
I personally recommend this DVD to those formula 1 fans who likes to look back and see how technology and atmosphere of formula 1 has evolved. i love formula 1 to the heart and seeing the onboard views on this DVD really took me back to another time of grand prix racing. from the time of the great juan manuel fangio, to the ultra fast qualifying laps of ayrton senna to the masterful laps of michael schumacher this video will capture and enlighten viewers on how formula 1 cars differ from one era to another. this video is a must have for all formula 1 fans who loves the sport from the start.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2009
This is the kind of dvd you want to look at from time to time. The commentaries are very good, movie quality is excellent. I couldn't imagine they would be able to make you live so close to what happened in the old days.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2013
This is not a documentary or a comprehensive history of 50 years of F1. What it is, is an exciting time spent sitting very close to your tv, pretending to be an F1 driver as you watch how radically the technology has changed throughout the years.
Bought this copy as a gift for an avid F1 fan.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$9.89
$22.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.