Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute little book
This is a cute little book with a lot of blocks in it. Some of them are "repeats" but not really because of stitch variations. It is the perfect size book to take along in your tote bag to reference a pattern if you like to crochet on the go. The book is filled with beautiful and colorful photographs. The only draw back is that some of the blocks (when they...
Published 19 months ago by Happy Girl

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful photos
Loved the photos, though they really could be much bigger as could the book, something publishers and writers forget.. demographic of readers that buy this book, like myself, will need reading glasses to view it.
Published 18 months ago by RaeRae Reviews


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute little book, May 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 500 Crochet Blocks: The Only Compendium of Crochet Blocks You'll Ever Need (Hardcover)
This is a cute little book with a lot of blocks in it. Some of them are "repeats" but not really because of stitch variations. It is the perfect size book to take along in your tote bag to reference a pattern if you like to crochet on the go. The book is filled with beautiful and colorful photographs. The only draw back is that some of the blocks (when they show variations) do challenge your eyesight if you are over 40. The print is extremely small on those. I would guess it to be a 6 point font. It is still readable but for those with poor eyesight be sure to have your reading glasses available. Although, I can understand it being so small if their aim was to keep this book tiny so you can tote it along. I have yet to make anything from this book so I can't comment on accuracy of patterns just yet but from reading through on some of the more simple patterns they look to be well written. All in all a great book for your crochet library. A lot of projects can be made from these blocks and some of them can be extended, for instance things like the ripple stitches you can just keep going and make a full blanket or whatever you want to make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars never get enough, August 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 500 Crochet Blocks: The Only Compendium of Crochet Blocks You'll Ever Need (Hardcover)
I've been a crocheter for a very long time. I have seen various trends come and go but the one technique that seems to remain constant is the desire to crochet small units of fabric to use to assemble a larger piece. If you think of such a blanket as you would a quilt, you can see the endless projects that can be put together. And such blocks are not necessarily for blankets (afghans) - they can be use to make shawls or dresses or anything your little heart desires.
As such, I have collected such books as Granny Squares: 20 Crochet Projects with a Vintage Vibe and The Granny Square Book: Timeless Techniques and Fresh Ideas for Crocheting Square by Square among others. The question becomes "why in the world do I need _another_ book about making squares?"
The answer is simple. Each author brings something different into the mix. It's not just a few different squares, it's technique and suggestions. This book 500 Crochet Blocks has some absolutely stunning designs. The instructions are clear and concise, so a newbie could use this book to increase his/her skill with the hook. Plus the projects are small enough to work up quickly, thus allowing the time pressed a chance to accomplish a small square for experimentation.
I recommend this book highly to newbies as well as experienced crocheters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful photos, May 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 500 Crochet Blocks: The Only Compendium of Crochet Blocks You'll Ever Need (Hardcover)
Loved the photos, though they really could be much bigger as could the book, something publishers and writers forget.. demographic of readers that buy this book, like myself, will need reading glasses to view it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lots of choices, June 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 500 Crochet Blocks: The Only Compendium of Crochet Blocks You'll Ever Need (Hardcover)
This book is filled with so many patterns to choose, you wil find it hard to choose just one. To me this is a great little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 500 Crochet Blocks, October 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 500 Crochet Blocks: The Only Compendium of Crochet Blocks You'll Ever Need (Hardcover)
I have a large collection of "block" books. Although the main block pages are well worth buying the book for, if you are just beginning to love blocks, it is the additional ways to change them into different designs which I love. The pictures clearly show what you can do. Directions for all stiches included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, September 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 500 Crochet Blocks: The Only Compendium of Crochet Blocks You'll Ever Need (Hardcover)
Great little book with lots of ideas and different types of crochet blocks to add to projects or use all alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 500 crochet blocks, March 28, 2014
By 
Laury Burris (LUBEC, MAINE, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 500 Crochet Blocks: The Only Compendium of Crochet Blocks You'll Ever Need (Hardcover)
what a great book....great for beginners and experts alike...would highly recommend this book...already planning a few afghans using the blocks in the book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just What I Needed, October 5, 2013
By 
TheresaD "fast reader" (Missouri United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 500 Crochet Blocks: The Only Compendium of Crochet Blocks You'll Ever Need (Hardcover)
I needed this book to start a epic sized crochet afghan and it fits the bill perfectly!! Gray skies of winter will be filled with my sampler afghan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the only compendium of blocks. Not even close., August 19, 2014
By 
This review is from: 500 Crochet Blocks: The Only Compendium of Crochet Blocks You'll Ever Need (Hardcover)
A nice little reference book, however, there are NOT 500 different patterns in the book. They use different color combinations with the same pattern in their count, so you're only getting MAYBE 200-300 different patterns, if that. I was rather disappointed with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really great companion, from the basic stitches in the front, July 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 500 Crochet Blocks: The Only Compendium of Crochet Blocks You'll Ever Need (Hardcover)
A really great companion, from the basic stitches in the front, through the diagrams, to the index at the back. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

500 Crochet Blocks: The Only Compendium of Crochet Blocks You'll Ever Need
Used & New from: $11.25
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.