Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: 500 Tattoo Designs
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 16, 2005
I'm in agreement with the other two reviewers here, but I thought I would elaborate a little more as to why I think "500 Tattoo Designs" isn't very good, rather than just saying it isn't. To begin with, the book is filled with very simple line drawings, some colored, some not, that are so rudimentary they actually remind me of the pictures in a child's coloring book. The desings are divided up along world cultural areas or groups: Japan, Celtic, Native American, and so on, but there is no explanation offered for any of the meanings of the designs and no real cultural context given besides the area or group of origin. Most of the designs *are* appealing, if simple, but if one were about to have a tattoo permanently inked upon one's body, I should think that one would certainly want to know not just the meaning of the chosen design but also a bit more about where it originated and who it was conceived for in the first place. I imagine one would hardly want a fertility symbol or religious tattoo if one had no interest in such things to begin with, hence my complaint of no information about the designs.

I believe this book would be better suited to a graphic artist, or maybe even a DIY-er with an upcoming major stencilling project and no ideas, as I feel that many of these designs would make excellent stencils if they were enlarged.
0Comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2006
Seriously, what is on the cover is no where close to the crap inside. Please save your money. When I read the other reviews I thought, it can't be that bad. Actually, it turned out worse than what was said. Just like everyone says, it definitely looks exactly like a coloring book. You can actually get better ideas from coloring books. There is no creativity in these designs. They are all boring and very basic.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2004
This books looks sleek, if you judge it by its cover, but that is the only "slightly" interesting tattoo in the whole thing. The Book looks like the author simply took Microsoft Word Fonts such as Wingding and others with symbols, and pasted them onto his pages. Its all a load of crap, not worth the paper its printed on. A HUGE disappointment.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2004
I have always had a fascination of tattoo's and have collected many books and magazines about it. But this is by far the worst use of money I have ever done.

The illustrations look like something drawn by somebody in a kindergarden.

This is just plain waste of money
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2005
most people expected to find amazing custom pictures of peoples tattoos in this book.

this is a "tattoo flash art" book, with simple drawings, like the ones you would see pnned up on walls. the black and white pencil drawings are for stencil perposes or customizing colour.

these arnt custom tattoos, theyre just simple drawings for art purposes. works great for airbrushing too, just draw out the stencil, cut it out and paint
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2005
Call me crazy, but I like this book. Yes, the cover is misleading. You won't find any tattoos like that in this book. But I liked a lot of the pictures. If you are looking for a book that you can take a picture out of and have tattooed as it is, with no modification, this is not the book for you. But there are some great pictures, especially in the sections on Borders and Flowers, that would make a great basis for a tattoo. As long as you have a good artist to work with, you can use any of these pictures as a foundation and then work out your own variations and colors. If you want a tattoo that is unique and personal, there are plenty of pictures in here that you can use as a springboard. I agree that the lack of context is annoying since so many pictures in the book are from various cultures. But if you find a design that you like enough to have tattooed on your skin permanently, it's not too hard to do a little research and find out more about what it means. Guys: you probably won't find much in here that appeals to you. Girls: you would probably find something that appeals to you.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2005
The outside cover of the book gives the false indication that the tattoo designs within are similar in visual appearance and style. However, every tattoo design within looks like a child's drawing or the newest release of cartoon characters. Don't waste your time or money on this book as it was a huge disappointment!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2005
This book is a disgrace. If Amazon allowed a rating of zero stars it would be too many for this book of 'tattoos'. The author, and publisher, should be hog-tied and tattooed with the rubbish which passes for designs in these pages.

The cover misleads the buyer into thinking they're getting 500 genuine tattoo designs; they're not. Save your pennies and buy a child's' colouring book. I'm writing a letter of complaint to the publisher.

A truly, truly awful buy!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2010
I was expecting tattoo designs at least on a flash level. The designs in this book are awful. I agree with the others that the designs are cartoony & child-like. If not for the cover, I would have assumed it was a coloring book. I would only recommend this book for children, ages 3-6.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2006
lots of visuals but very cheesy. some good ideas but not for those with an imagination.

take a pass
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse