50mm f/1.8 lens vs. 50mm f/1.4 lens I was planning to buy the 50mm f/1.8 lens since it's been recommended and is affordable. Would it be foolish to buy this one now and then buy the 50mm 1.4 later? (I read on another board that one should "go straight to the 1.4 if you can afford it".) I'm very new at this, so I don't know much about the difference between them. If it's silly to own both, maybe I should bite the bullet and just get the 1.4 now? Thoughts?
asked by K. Mann on December 23, 2009
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-10 of 13 answers
A
votes
The image quality of the 50mm f/1.8 is as good as the f/1.4.
What the f/1.8 lacks is build quality and has a 5 blade aperture.
What the f/1.4 lacks is ring type USM focusing.
For a lens that has all of this, look at the Sigma 50mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM Lens
So I'd recommend you get the Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens now, and get the Sigma when you need and can afford a better lens.

http://www.dpreview.com/lensreviews/sigma_50_1p4_c16/
Tom Martin answered on December 23, 2009

A
votes
I own the 1.8, and the ghosting and refractions are absolutely terrible at night. Probably poor lens coatings; which probably is one reason they can sell this for 1/4 the price of a good 50mm! Anyway, for $80 I'm glad I bought it because even if I read this type of review I still would want to try it myself; but I'll be getting the 1.4 as soon as I can. By the way, I compared the 1.8 and 1.4 at the store here.. Don't think that ".4" makes much difference? The f/1.4 aperture has about TWICE the area of the 1.8; it looks like all glass; the 1.4 is just amazing. See my pic.
GearGuy answered on March 16, 2010

A
votes